An Example of Why I Hate our Locals

It is unusual to see local people in the restaurant during the summer.  They have to wait in line for a table and that just pisses them off so we usually only see the nice local people; the people who actually want to be there. 

All winter long we fight with the locals.  They complain about the food, the service, the servers, the music, it’s too hot, it’s too cold, and on and on and on.  They lie.  They steal.  They never miss an opportunity to tell us that THEY keep us going in the winter.  Sorry, but what I make in the summer keeps me going in the winter.

So tonight when I saw a woman and an elderly man in my section wearing local business shirts, I groaned.  Oh well, what the hell.  I put on my best Happy Camper face and went out to greet them.  It didn’t last long.

The old guy immediately told me he was looking for something to complain about.  Well, I’m just the waitress to give you that.

Then they ordered the Atkins Special (meat and one trip to the salad bar).  The old guy asked how much it was and I told him it was $8.50.  All hell broke loose.

He said, “She told me it was $6.50.  You raised your prices to gouge the tourists.”

I said, “No, we haven’t raised our prices in more than a year.”

She said, “I eat here all the time for lunch.  The Atkins Special is only $6.50.”

I said, “I’m sorry, it’s not.  It’s been $8.50 for more than a year.”

He said, “When you gouge the tourists, you gouge the locals.  We are what keeps you going in the winter.”

I said, “Fuck you.”  Okay, I didn’t, but I thought it.

I did say, “Do you still want to order it or do you want something else?”

They said, “We still want it, but you should think about lowering your prices.”

Yeah, cuz I’m the one who determines that. 

Assholes.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roadrunner
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 01:37:33

    Jeezus, what in the hell is wrong with people?

    Living in Cody year round gives them a sense of entitlement. I’d like to give them a swift kick in the ass.

    Reply

  2. Catherine
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 01:50:08

    Hmmm… seeing the natural beauty of Yellowstone NP versus having to communicate with the locals… I might have to postpone my visit. 😉

    I’ll tell you what, Cody has some of the most unfriendly, obnoxious people around. When I moved to Laramie, I was shocked to see people smiling at me when we passed on the street. When someone said, “Hi, how are you?” I suspiciously responded, “Why?” It took me about 6 months to realize people in other places are actually friendly and nice.

    Reply

  3. Marianna
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 04:01:07

    People get ideas stuck in their head sometimes and just won’t give up! Goofballs! The place where I work has been open since the 1940’s…people still ask for sandwiches that were on the menu back then!

    Arg! They probably want them at the same price too.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 04:51:02

    Who is this “she” he’s referring to, the other patron? If she gets the price wrong, that’s too bad. What the heck does this guy expect.
    “Uh yeah, some person who is not affiliated with your business said your product/service was this price so I want it that price.”

    “She” was his dining partner and could not be mistaken. I mean, I only do this shit for a living why would I know anything about it.

    Reply

  5. morethananelectrician
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 05:43:32

    You are allowed to hate both locals and tourists.

    I hate 1 out of 10 tourists. I hate 7 out of 10 locals. Okay, scratch that. I hate everybody.

    Reply

  6. blogmella
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 08:56:06

    That’s about five quid. He would be VERY pleased to pay that in the UK!

    No, he’d bitch that it was supposed to be three quid.

    Reply

  7. DarcKnyt
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 12:42:14

    Wow, he announced he’s looking for something to complain about? Are you allowed to answer “Good, ’cause I’m lookin’ for someone’s ass to kick and spill hot coffee into SOME sh!thead’s lap. Let’s see who gets what they want first.”

    Yeah, first words out of his mouth. I wanted to put my foot right up his ass.

    I think the line “No, we’re sustained through the winter on the surplus we stockpile during the summer” should be okay. Like it’s any of their business.

    That’s perfect. Since it has 2 “big” words, the locals will give me the blank, open-mouthed stare. I love that look!

    Reply

  8. Still Waiting
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 17:20:36

    He TOLD you he was looking for stuff to complain about??

    I would have told him that I’m looking for a peaceful night and good luck getting someone to wait on him.

    What is WRONG with people??

    That’s what I deal with all.winter.long. No wonder I’m half suicidal by April.

    Reply

  9. trailerparkbarbie
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 19:54:17

    You should have gave the customer what he wanted. You should have really said, “Asshole!” He wanted something to complain about. You would have obliged by giving him something to gripe about.

    Typically, me just showing up at a local’s table is cause enough for them to bitch.

    Reply

  10. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 20:54:06

    I have come to the determination that all the locals there were formerly locals in Chicagoland. They just love to spread the joy wherever they go.

    Or many of our locals have moved to Chicagoland. Our population never seems to grow…

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 21:04:39

    Ha! Another story from my hotel – we actually had a woman who told us she was looking for things to complain about also! She complained and complained, told one of the front deskers she was looking for things to complain about so she’d get comped…then she got one of her two nights comped and complained some more. I have to put up the full story on my blog before I forget it. Though she was pretty unforgettable…

    My daughter and her roommate work front desk at two different hotel. Oh, the stories they tell…

    Reply

  12. izziedarling
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 06:02:03

    When you go to a restaurant, you look at the menu. If you can’t afford it, you leave. SOME PEOPLE ARE SO STUPID.

    Nah, the local people bicker and complain until they get something free.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

