Four Reasons Why this Weekend Sucked

1.  The heat.  It is unbearable.  It is always 10 to 20 degrees hotter inside the restaurant than outside.  Yes, the air conditioner is working.  Yes, the air conditioner is on.  No, I didn’t need you to tell me to turn it up.  If I could, I would.  I’m not that stupid.

2.  The legal drinking age is today’s date, 1989.  I don’t care what the legal age is in Canada.  You are not IN Canada.  Don’t get all bitchy with me like you’re practicing for your Jerry Springer Show audition.  I WILL take your license and I WILL call the police.  And by the way, nobody wants to see your underage, stretch marked tits.

3.  I do this for a living.  Do NOT tell me how to do my job and then spill your water.  While I’m cleaning up your mess with the bar towel I wear on my apron for just this reason, do NOT help by making more work for me.  This includes scraping the ice and water into the aisle so someone (me) can slip and fall, and scraping the ice and water onto your clean salad bar plate.  Now, instead of just wringing out my bar towel, I have to drag out the mop and wet floor sign and get you another clean plate.  

4.  Six adults and seven kids.  This really requires no explanation, however, the high points are: 

  • Letting your kids destroy the caddies makes me want to scream and punch you in the face.  Instead, I’m going to take the caddies away and you can use one of those kids as a napkin.
  • Taking advantage of every free thing the restaurant offers, such as lemons and sugar to make your own lemonade, straws, and 3 different sized glasses for water is ridiculous.  Asking me to make a separate trip for each freebie is asinine.
  •  Expecting the cooks to prepare the ticket in intervals is absurd.  It slows down the kitchen and actually takes longer to get your food than if you got everything at the same time.
  • 10 percent.  I figured you for 10 percent the second you started your list of freebie demands.  I kick myself knowing you got 20 percent of my attention while my other tables only got 10 percent.     

I thought about just posting dog pictures since this weekend was too horrible to relive, but I couldn’t get it out of my head.  I vented, here’s the dog pictures anyway.

What is he doing to me?

 

Halo loves Quinney

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roadrunner
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 01:58:35

    My wonderful favorite is when I am running my ass off, and most likely sweating, and the guest tells me that “it’s SO COLD in here”. WTF? And I always tell them that I’ll have the a.c. turned down just for them. Yeah right, like that’s ever going to happen!!

    I like it more when I have sweat dripping off my face and someone says, “It’s hot in here!” Really, Captain Obvious, I hadn’t noticed.

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 07:20:27

    Look at that big baby, so cute.

    She is cute. The boy’s not bad either. 🙂

    Hey, in our local paper was a story about some grizzlies killing some people near CODY, WY, and I was all, “I have a t-shirt from there!” Then I worried briefly about you, before I realized you live there so you probably weren’t sleeping in a tent. It seems like the Yellowstone animals are going crazy lately.

    The grizzly killed one guy and mauled a woman and a teenager in 3 different tents. It was bad news, but it appears as if the bear was really pissed at the man and rampaged through the campsite until she found him and killed him. They even used his tent as bait for the bear trap. I’m betting he did something to her or one of her cubs. She’s dead now and the cubs are destined for some sort of zoo. I love humans around the animals.

    Reply

    • Sherri
      Aug 02, 2010 @ 14:00:28

      That’s so sad, having to make that choice to kill the mama. They were on her turf, she was doing her natural thing, and she’s the one who pays the price. I understand, but I don’t like it.

      The paper today said the cubs were horribly malnourished. They weighed 60 pounds instead 100-130 pounds like they should. The cubs are at Zoo Montana and they are doing further tests on the sow to see if she was diseased. It’s a sad deal.

      Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 08:52:53

    After going bra shopping at walmart then reading about underage stretch marked titties, I don’t think I’ll ever have another erection for the rest of my life.

    All I could think about was that post you wrote about the bitchy “look at me” women and I decided if these two were any indication of what you have to choose from, no wonder you’re single. Bitches.

    That dirty method of freebieing lemonade is just so effing dirty. Ask for water with a lemon in it is cool, putting sugar in it is just excessive. Doing it to the point of making your own lemonade is just effing dirty. It’s frugal to the point of rudeness.

    These people were horrible and the mess they left behind made me want to weep.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 11:52:33

    Wow. Just … just wow.

    Sorry about that. The grizzly would’ve made for a better weekend.

    A rampaging grizzly is always welcome in the restaurant.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 14:46:57

    Hey, I’m sorry you had such a terrible weekend. Just remember, soon the tourists will be gone. Wait, then you’ll have to deal with just the locals and the money won’t be as good.

    No matter how bad summer is, I never wish for winter. I have to work twice as hard for half as much. It blows.

    Nice pictures of the nephew and his baby. 🙂

    They are silly.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 15:04:45

    Okay, it says that I’M logged in as ME and not Darc, but I’m still crossing my fingers this time!

    That many adults with that number of kids leaves absolutely NO excuse for that kind of behavior. That’s just BS.

    I firmly believe in birth control.

    The underage stretch mark boobies sounds scary. Where were they that they got so mangled? That was rhetorical, I don’t really want to know.

    She was pretty and all fixed up, but she had a very low cut shirt with a push up bra and her boobs had stretch marks. They were more obvious with her tanning bed skin. Ack!

    Nice pics there mom. 🙂

    Thanks! They make me laugh.

    Reply

  7. nycgirl
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 10:54:07

    Hi Holly! Greetings from NYC! I don’t know what random link I clicked to get to your blog, but I’m totally enthralled and your entries have entertained me on my 90 minute daily train commute. You’re definitely making an impression on my psyche – today, while waiting for the elevator, two men came in separately. Both looked at the call button – WHICH I HAD ALREADY PUSHED – and then pushed it again. I had a total WWHD moment (What Would Holly Do?) and said, “You know, guys, if I’ve already pushed the call button, the elevator doesn’t come any faster.” Both looked at me like, duuhhhhh…..whaaaattt??? Dumbasses. And I thought, I bet I just made Holly proud.

    Can’t wait to keep reading!

    Well thank you for that strong endorsement and for leaving a comment. I look forward to more.

    Reply

  8. Peas
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 01:21:56

    OMG, your boy child is a handsome youngun. It was a bit of a surprise to see Quinn minus the curls. And I wanna smooch Halo smack-dab on the lips. What a sweetheart.

    Glad to see you here!

    Quinn cut his hair in March and then shaved his head in June. I see pictures of him with the hair now and I wish he’d grow it again.

    Halo would smooch you right to your tonsils. She’s a handful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

