Douchebag of the Year

Yesterday, my son and I drove down the hill by the Coe Mansion in time to see a woman plow into a deer that was crossing the street.  The deer did not jump or run out in front of her, nor did she know she hit it until after it went cartwheeling across the street.  This was in a residential area with crosswalks for children and the deer was pretty close to being in the crosswalk when she hit it.  

I passed my turn off for work and drove down to where the deer was to check on it and see if it needed to be put down.  It was bleeding from its nose and eyes so I called the police to alert the Game and Fish Department.  Meanwhile, the woman stopped on the other side of the street, got out of her car, checked for damage, stood around for a few minutes and drove off. 

She couldn’t be bothered to cross the street to see if the deer was hurt.  She couldn’t be bothered to keep an eye on the deer until the police arrived so I could get to work on time.  I was not the one talking/texting on my cell phone or just plain not paying attention in a residential area.  I was not the one speeding in a residential area.  I did not hit the deer, but because I care more about animals than I do people, I made it my responsibility to see that this animal was taken care of.  

So, to the woman in the maroon and tan Subaru Outback who could have easily hit a kid instead of a little deer:  

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 16:27:37

    nice…next time, if you have a camera phone, take a picture of her license plate. People are stupid!

    I was busy talking to the police on my phone. I figured she would at least come over to see if things were under control. She fucked up and took no responsibility for it. Bitch.

    Reply

  2. Nycgirl
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 17:03:59

    Could not agree with you more. How can someone be so uncaring? Thank you for giving a shit about animals when so many assholes don’t….

    There’s a special place in Hell for people who don’t care about animals and who don’t take responsibility for their actions.

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 18:20:40

    Not surprised she left the scene. Too bad you didn’t get the license plate number.

    It never occurred to me that she would just drive off. Who does that?!

    Reply

  4. M.T.
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 19:26:54

    I agree with everything. You can’t trust a person who doesn’t like animals. I’ve always considered people like that to be sociopaths.

    And if one of my animals has an unreasonable hate-on for a person, I trust my animal and get the person out of my life.

    Reply

  5. redriverpak
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 19:29:45

    My God! You DO live in Asshole Central don’t you??? Suppose that same idiot would plow through a box of kittens and then drive off! Some people!

    We have the highest number of drunks and assholes, per capita, of any other place in America. France beats us every year. Look it up.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 21:11:56

    Nothing surprises me anymore. This is not a shock. She probably wouldn’t have stuck around as long had it been a child. No witnesses, and why give you time to get her license plate number? Luckily it was only a deer, but the character is the same.

    I always take cell phone pics at accident scenes. I just … never know.

    Nothing surprises me either, but yet I’m still amazed. 🙂

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 23:10:40

    She probably figured no one would care that a deer was hit and was only checking to see if there was damage to her car. Sometimes, I just really want to give people a taste of their own medicine.

    I hope her front bumper falls off at a very inopportune moment.

    Reply

  8. whatigotsofar
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 03:44:03

    Did you get her license plate number and then forward that information to the authorities?

    No, she left before I could.

    Okay, not that I would ever give these people ammunition for their stupid hippy cause, but maybe send that information over to PETA anonymously. Let PETA harass this douchebag.

    Sometimes I wish we had PETA in this area. We only have the local humane society and they have little to no legal rights.

    Reply

  9. izziedarling
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 05:43:59

    Thank goodness you stopped. She is just a tiny speck of what’s wrong with this world. DarcKnyt is right, she probably would have left a child there as well.

    They recently passed a law here about being on your cell phone while driving. My guess is she was and wanted to flee before she got fined.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

