The Letter is in the Mail

I’m sure of it.

The Couple from Hell came in for dinner last night and requested a booth in my section.  When the hostess told them it was my section the woman said, “That’s okay.  She will give us to a different server.”

So now that they know I refuse to wait on them, they will complain.  That they were the ones who requested to not be in my section will have no mention in their complaint letter.  Assholes.

Furthermore, where do they get off taking one of my tables during dinner.  Their sense of entitlement means I lose money while they take over my table for an hour and a half, during which they share a meal and drink 2 pots of coffee.

Personally, I think they should be forced to wait for a table in their desired server’s section rather than creating havoc with the servers.  They are the ones who decided most of the servers aren’t good enough to wait on them, so they, and not the staff, should be inconvenienced.

When we are balls-to-the-walls busy, no server likes to come out of her section to wait on a table, especially not for the 3 to 5 dollars they usually tip.  This means everyone wastes time arguing about it in the waitstation, the server who has to take them is now overwhelmed with tables, and I am out the five to ten bucks I could have earned on that table.  To add insult to injury, I have to help the overwhelmed server, so I’m not just out a tip, I’m working for free.

The woman I supposedly attacked comes in for dinner about twice a month and she waits for a table out of my section.  If someone that rude and totally lacking in manners can figure it out, one would think The Couple from Hell could figure it out as well.  Oh, wait a minute…I forgot, everything is all about them. 

Assholes.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lady Lemon
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 18:39:34

    Customers don’t own the fucking planet, but they sure act like it huh?

    Assholes.

    I don’t know why people can’t show off their good manners rather than acting as if the world revolves around them.

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

    Reply

  2. Ahmnodt Heare
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 19:05:32

    Couldn’t you just exchange a table with the server who is waiting on your table?

    That would be an easy solution, but it doesn’t work that way. No one wants to wait on these people so it ends up being a fight in the waitstation. I’m out because 1. They don’t want me (or anyone else) to wait on them and 2. I have seniority. The other servers argue about who is closest to that table and who is next in line after me. Then it boils down into a “You owe me” situation and finally servers start paying each other to take the table. It’s an all around pain in the ass.

    Reply

    • Fuck My Table
      Aug 04, 2010 @ 19:39:42

      Not if the other server’s section is already full. If you swap halfway through the Couple From Hell’s meal, then you’re going to have swapped tables for the rest of the night to keep things even between you (unless both happen to get up at the same time) which is a big hassle.

      And it seldom works out where it’s even. The reason they took my booth was because there were no other tables available in the restaurant. They should have been forced to wait for a table in someone else’s section to open up.

      Reply

  3. M.T.
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 19:23:48

    Why do assholes assume that they can pick which table they want to sit at, as well as which server they would like? Isn’t it common knowledge how this works? Doesn’t every single human on earth personally know servers and restaurant people?

    Maybe it’s just me. But I’m pretty sure I understood how shit works before I was ever in the industry.

    Maybe I need to break it down.

    Servers work for money. They get money by waiting on tables. The more tables they have, the more money they make. The fewer tables they have, the less money they make. Servers can boost their income by providing good service. They can also make more money by bitching at the manager to send dead-weight servers home until he relents and cuts waitresses from the floor.

    Restaurants are divided into sections. Each waitress has a section. Since all servers want to make money, customers are seated in sections by rotation. If customers are seated out of rotation, two waitresses go batshit insane. The hostess keeps the restaurant running smoothly or police find her body in the Dumpster behind the restaurant.

    The cooks are oblivious to everything that goes on in the dining room. They cook the damned food and speak only when spoken to.

    Reply

    • M.T.
      Aug 04, 2010 @ 22:02:17

      I hope you haven’t misunderstood me and are pissed off…

      For me, as a cook, I’m often very aware of what is occuring in the dining room. I worked at a restaurant were I often worked the window in the front of the kitchen and communicated directly with the servers, and then communicated the orders to the kitchen staff. The window in this restaurant was the most crucial position. It was a food and information bottleneck. Plus, playing the intermediary between a pissed off waitress and a hungover sautee cook on a Saturday night can be quite stressful lol… But this is where I really learned about servers. Which customers were picky, what table order they would like food to be supplied for, little shit like that. It helped me too, because the last thing I want when we’re 15 tickets deep is getting a re-fire from some prissy bitch at table 7.

      When I first became a kitchen worker, I disliked the servers. But after my experiences at that window, and having some drinks with those ladies at the end of the night, I came to realize that their job was actually more irritating than mine. And for the rest of my stay there, the kitchen and FOH worked in beautiful harmony.
      You haven’t pissed me off at all. I was thinking of a future blog post where I break down how restaurants work so all ignorant people could grasp the concept.

      If you’ve been reading my blog you should know that if you piss me off, I’ll tell you. I won’t rely on sarcasm to get the job done.

      Cheers!

      Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 19:37:49

    Oh My Gosh!!! People are assholes! When I was waitressing, there was a guy that none of us would wait on (we called him the perv) and we would gladly give up our table to get rid of him! He asked out every girl in the place and thought that he was special to get a carafe of iced tea- we just didn’t want to go back a zillion times for refills in fear of a proposal! Props to you lady!

    We have one of those guys, too. Actually, we have about 5 of those guys. Ack.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 23:16:51

    So much BS could be avoided if people were just half-way decent to one another. There is no good reason on God’s green earth for these people to treat servers the way they do. If they were nice, they could sit anywhere and would never have to wait for a table, and would have servers who were happy to see them. You get what you give. Sometimes, not all the time, but you know what I mean. 🙂

    They aren’t nice. I would hate to go into a restaurant knowing the entire staff hated me.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 07:54:30

    You know, I’ve been to restaurants where I had a favorite server, or kind of got to know one by frequenting the restaurant. I’d tip her a little heavier, and she’d chit-chat between table services with us, tell us how school/home/life was going, whatever. We asked to be seated in her section when we went there, and we waited a reasonable amount of time for a table in her section (we avoid restaurants at high-traffic times and rushes).

    I have customers like this and so do the other servers. They will ask for one of us and if we aren’t available they will either wait or sit somewhere else.

    I’ve never sat in someone else’s section and asked for a different server.

    Neither does anyone else.

    I’ve never gone back to a restaurant where I thought I got crappy service and had fights with a server. I don’t tip when I get bad service or am poorly treated, and I complain to the manager only when I feel there isn’t any other course of action. Under no circumstances do I go back to that restaurant if the server in question is still there. That tells me the manager doesn’t feel my business is important enough to dislodge a problem staff member, and that’s fine. I don’t spend enough at a restaurant, no matter how often I go there, to make it worth their while to accommodate my desires. (One waiter at a place got canned because of what he did with me and my date, but I think he had a history and the restaurant was looking to can him anyway.)

    Why people do the kind of crap you describe is way, way beyond my comprehension. Not enough restaurants to go somewhere else? Fine. Wait for a table in another section. And the restaurant should be willing to enforce this knowing how their staff makes their living.

    I think they get a kick out of bullying us. For a few weeks Raechael was the greatest server in the world and she loved waiting on them. Then one night she served them warm coffee on accident and they treated her like shit. She came out of her section and was overwhelmed with tables just to please them, and they started yelling at her because their coffee wasn’t boiling hot. Now she refuses to wait on them and they request not to have her as a server. They are assholes. Plain and simple.

    Reply

    • Fuck My Table
      Aug 05, 2010 @ 08:34:42

      You know, managers can’t just fire their staff over one complaint. If you have a problem with a staff member just don’t sit in their section. Request someone else. Obviously if a lot of complaints about that “bad” server are made, he/she WILL be fired, but not for your sake. No one wants to employ a lazy or bad employee and he will be fired for being a shitty server, not because you didn’t like him.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

