As If I Don’t Have Enough to Do

I had yet ANOTHER table leave without paying tonight. I had one on Tuesday night.  I think this makes 5 hog & jogs in about a month.  This is bullshit.

In the 3 years I’ve worked at the restaurant I’ve had 2 or 3 stiffers.  To have twice as many in a fraction of the time boggles my mind.  At first I thought it was the economy.  Now I don’t know what is going on because it isn’t happening to any other servers.

I wondered if a cashier was putting the money in the register without clearing the ticket.  The paperwork is off most nights so it is a possibility, but it doesn’t happen with any one cashier, or to any other servers.  Also, the hard ticket is missing.  If the cashier didn’t clear the ticket, the hard ticket would end up with the other tickets.   

If a ticket disappears and isn’t paid, the logical conclusion is that the customer took it to avoid immediate detection.  Again, why is this only happening to me?  I asked the other servers what they said when they dropped their tickets and they say pretty much the same thing I do, so I’m stumped.

The people who skipped tonight were a couple with a teenaged son; the couple who skipped on Tuesday were part of a 5 couple group.  Neither party seemed the type to leave without paying, yet apparently they did.

This means I am now the cashier at the table.  This is a complete pain in my ass because we are not set up to take money at the table.  I have enough to do serving my tables without doing someone else’s job as well.  The owner pays a cashier to be responsible for the money, but if people keep skipping out it will start looking as if I’m pocketing the money.  Before long I’ll end up paying for the tickets.

I’ll be damned if I’m going to wait on someone for free AND pay for their dinner.  Oh yeah, when people skip on the ticket, they don’t tip either.  I’m taking a proactive approach, but let me tell you, this chaps my ass all the way around.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. redriverpak
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 08:00:37

    I guess ya’ll don’t have a security camera set up near the register or in the restaurant? If that was happening to me, and not the other servers, I would be real interested to see what happens with the person on the register. Just the law of averages says that the other servers should, for the most part, be suffering the same number of “hog and jogs” (great term by the way!!) as you….. Down here, places where you pay at a register are few and very far between these days.

    We do have a security camera and I sent Darren a text at 4:30 this morning asking him to watch the tape. Early morning texts on his day off are one of the many reasons he loves me.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 09:15:38

    Fucking dirty mother fuckers!

    That’s what I said.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 09:43:04

    This is mind-boggling. ONLY to you and so MANY? It almost sounds like sabotage. Are you maybe being punk’d by someone who doesn’t like you? in or outside the restaurant?

    Can’t wait to see what the security cameras turn up if anything.

    If someone inside the restaurant is doing it, they will be fired for stealing. I doubt it’s someone outside since it’s always different people.

    Reply

  4. noe noe girl
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 09:56:33

    Ass wipes!
    <

    And butt holes!

    Reply

  5. Molly Malone
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 11:50:34

    That is outrageous! I don’t think I could ever bring myself to do something like that… what the hell is wrong with these people!?

    People used to fill up with gas and drive off, but so many places have security cameras that now I guess they do it in restaurants. The liklihood of catching these people is slim to none.

    Thanks for stopping by. I’ll give your blog a read.

    Reply

  6. Fuck My Table
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 14:32:37

    I would wonder what foul play is about…statistically speaking, the odds are astronomical for this to happen to you so many times but not to your coworkers. Something’s up.

    If it was happening to everyone, I’d write it off as tough financial times, which is still no excuse.

    Reply

    • Fuck My Table
      Aug 06, 2010 @ 21:30:37

      MY GOD. I had a table walk their check tonight; it was the first time in maybe a year and a half!

      It’s contagious. Reading your blog must have been bad luck.

      I guess I’ll just have to chance it, though, because I can’t stop reading. 🙂

      That is insane. I hope you don’t get a rash of skippers now, but you know bad behaviour is contagious.

      Thanks for the compliment. Your blog is pretty entertaining too. 🙂

      Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 07, 2010 @ 00:18:30

    It just makes no sense that it only happens to you and none of the other servers. I’m half tempted to wonder if it’s not the suggestion of maybe the couple from hell getting their friends to do it to you. Weird. And maddening beyond belief. We’re almost going to have to go to something like leaving your license with the hostess before being seated, so as to prevent crap like this from happening. I’m sorry this is happening to you.

    If a person is caught skipping on a ticket they face a felony on their record, jail time and a fine. It seems like a big risk to take just to get me in trouble, but stranger things have happened.

    Reply

  8. M.T.
    Aug 07, 2010 @ 00:56:43

    I’m going to have to stop reading these server blogs. It’s making me hate customers too much lol. I already approach them with suspicion and contempt, these stories are doubling the contempt.

    I swear to God I’ll never let this type of shit happen in my business. I’ll defend a good server till the end. Good servers, real human servers, are the salt of the Earth.

    This has been a long, hard summer. I’m not going to lie. I’m so tired of people I could scream.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

