Shhh….

Don’t tell the other servers, but since I started being the cashier at the table, my tips have jumped from 12-14% to 17-19%.

It’s hard for customers to give me a shitty tip when I’m standing there staring at them and cashing out at the table gives customers the time to figure out the correct percentage rather than being pressured into doing math at the register.  Also, my money doesn’t get “misplaced”. 

We were so insanely busy tonight I didn’t have time to slap my ass with both hands.  Usually when we’re so busy that I’m basically throwing food at people and not serving them, my tips are around 10-12%.  The only way I make any money is on the quantity of service, not the quality.  I ended up making 17%, which was a huge surprise.

Being the cashier at the table is a serious drain on my time, but very well worth the money.  Don’t let anyone else know or they all will want to do it.  Then the cashiers will whine and I’ll be back to having walk outs left and right.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 04:15:10

    Hey, if you were my waitress, I’d slap you on the ass with at least one hand. Especially if you’re too busy to do it yourself.
    Why thank you. Most people just stack their plates…

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 05:04:07

    if you stand beside my table while I am trying to figure out how much to tip you, your tip will most likely go down. I consider it rude to stand over me and watch me tip you.
    I’m not actually standing over my customers, I do have manners, but they aren’t annonymously tipping the cashier. I’m going to see the tip amount sooner rather than later.

    Reply

  3. Fuck My Table
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 08:11:02

    I agree with Bob. I would tip just at 20% instead of over. 😉

    I don’t care if the server hovers. It’s money she earned and I figure she is busy and needs the credit card slip rather than greedy to see how much I’ve left. It’s always more than expected.

    Reply

  4. Jamie
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 14:59:14

    ba ha ha. now i know and im going to do it to! mu haha ha ha…just kidding, i already \know when you hover over people they leave you a good tip. i’m just surprised you’ve taken this long to figure it out. i always took peoples money until darren said i couldnt because i lost a slip. racheal always complains about taking peoples money and how she feels bad and isnt comfortbale….and well she’s an idiot, its easier for cheap asses to be cheap asses when no one is looking! yay for HOLLY!

    So THAT’S how you make so much money. I thought it was your big boobs. 🙂

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 18:49:48

    I won’t tell a soul, promise. 🙂

    I knew I could trust you.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 00:54:43

    Your secret is safe with me. 😀

    And I’m glad to see it’s ending up sort of being worth your time.

    Me too. I’d be ticked if it caused me to make less.

    Reply

  7. izziedarling
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 15:49:53

    Smart, smart, smart – you are SMART!

    Yesterday one of my coworkers said, “You are so much smarter than I am.” I was going to be modest, but thought ‘Oh well, what the hell.’ She didn’t appreciate it when I agreed with her.

    Reply

  8. Becky
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 16:08:37

    I would totally tip more if the waiter was hovering. I guess it’s guilt? God, I’m a wussy. 😉

    I don’t think waiters hover to get you to tip more. I think they really want the credit card slip or cash before it gets lost. Guilting you into a couple extra dollars is just a bonus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

