The Summer of Sugar

I just finished 7 days in a row at the restaurant and I feel like a one legged man in an ass kicking contest.  We have been abnormally busy and while that’s good for my wallet, it’s really hard on my old body.

The week almost passed without incident.  Almost.  Last night a table of bikers in Amber’s section waved me over and asked if they could have an apron for a practical joke.  I told them they could purchase an apron for around six dollars and one of the guys said, “Just give us yours,” as he reached over and yanked me closer to him so he could untie my apron string.  He got a little indignant when I slapped his hands and said, “YOU CANNOT HAVE MY APRON!!”  Seriously, who does that shit?

Since I discovered how good sugar is in iced tea, I’ve been trying it on other things.  If there’s one thing I can’t get enough of, it’s sugar.  I bought a watermelon and it wasn’t very tasty so I cut it into chunks, sugared it and let it sit overnight in the refrigerator.  It was so good I ate half of it the next day.  Then I bought some peaches.  Same deal.  They taste better, but they aren’t very ripe and are hard as rocks.  I can’t wait to buy more fruit so I can put sugar on it.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heifer
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 18:29:44

    I can’t believe you didn’t slap him in other places.
    You should try powdered sugar on berries…awesome

    Mmmm…powdered sugar…I didn’t even think of that. I can’t believe I’ve never put sugar on fruit until this year.

    Reply

  2. M.T.
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 19:01:50

    Uh oh… You know sugar is bad for you right? Lol. I’m hypoglycemic, and on a few different occaisions, I’ve been known to eat a sugar packet or two…

    NONONONO! Sugar is not bad for me. Sugar is my friend. I can give up all manner of fried foods, fast food, and junk food, but don’t try to part me from my sugar. Things will get ugly.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 20:42:50

    Oh I’ve got one for you! Take fresh strawberries, dip them in sour cream, and then dip them in raw sugar. Mmmmm!

    Uh…that kind of scares me. I’ll give it a try the next time I have all those things. I’ve been eating strawberries (unsweetened), granola and vanilla yogurt like there’s no tomorrow.

    Can’t believe that guy tried to strip you in public like that! Seriously, who does that kind of crap? He didn’t really want an apron for a joke, he just wanted to take yours off you.

    I think he thought I was less than human. Why pay for something when you can just take it from a lesser being.

    Reply

  4. skippymom
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 21:48:20

    I don’t know where you live but your best bet for fruit that is ripe and doesn’t need sugar is your local farmers market – just google your city and farmers market and they will list them all.

    I have supermarket produce because it sucks and does need sugar to make it palpable. We get watermelon, peaches and berries here [strawberries last month] that taste like candy – no joke. The watermelon was so sweet I only had a piece or two at a time. And it is the same price, if not cheaper than the crap they sell in the grocery store.

    I can’t wait for the apples in the fall 🙂

    I seldom buy fruit here because it is so awful. We have a farmer’s market every Thursday and I should give it a try. I never have before because I assumed the produce was just as bad as what was in the store. The peaches I bought were $1.75 a pound and they are really inedible. I would pay more for stuff I could actually eat.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  5. M.T.
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 22:55:12

    Here’s something else you can do with your beloved sugar lol….

    Take a couple ounces of fruit, and smash it up or puree it (peaches, strawberries, blueberries, apples and citrus fruits all work well). Then put it in a pan with a few ounces of water, two tablespoons of sugar, a pich of groung cloves and a pinch of cinnamon. Cook it down until it becomes a semi-thick paste, and then refridgerate it. It’s basically a compote. Then just drizzle it on things and eat them. I use it on ice cream and other less than desirable fruits. Also pound cake. Ah delicious sugar… 🙂

    Mmmm…I’m giving that a try. All fruit here is “less than desirable fruit.” I should have tried it with the peaches.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 01:12:52

    He got indignant? Seriously?! WTF?!

    Fruit is awesome when it’s fresh and ripe and right off the tree or vine. Most people have no idea how sweet a lemon is right off the tree when it’s sun-ripened. I grew up in Northern California near the San Joaquin and Sacramento valleys. I grew up no more than half an hour from orchards where fruit and vegetable farms spread over the river valleys.

    Awesome. Everything from cherries to apricots to peaches to plums to artichokes, zucchini, corn … you name it.

    And no sugar required. This is one of the most difficult aspects of being in the Midwest to me … how horrid the produce is and how much that surprises me from “the heartland”.

    I lived in California when I was a kid and we had fruit trees all over our neighbourhood. Produce was excellent. Then we moved back to Wyoming and all produce is either frozen, canned or crap.

    Reply

  7. whatigotsofar
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 03:51:53

    So, you’re not willing to be a biker’s gal. Good to know.

    Not at all. The whole biker lifestyle grosses me out.

    Reply

  8. Ahmnodt Heare
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 06:00:16

    The incident with the biker is a reason why so many people like Steven Slater.

    I looked him up and I would have probably punched that bitch in the face as well as what he did. I get so sick of rude, inconsiderate people.

    I had a similar phase with oregano.

    I’ve had phases with parsley, cinnamon, lemon pepper, and basil. Earlier this summer I was all about enchilada sauce. At least all my addictions are legal.

    Reply

  9. Becky
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 08:42:38

    Stupid bikers. I have a friend driving from Seattle to St. Louis this week and I warned him about Sturgis. He seemed excited. Little does he know….

    Sturgis isn’t a place you want to be unless you embrace that sort of lifestyle.

    Since I’m living on a farm atm, I have to agree with the fresh, organic produce not needing sugar. We eat these Asian pears and Pink Pearl apples that are sweeter than any sugared fruit you could want. Yum! Buy local! (Sorry, I’m a big CSA supporter. ;))

    Today is the farmer’s market and I’m broke until tonight. I helped my son buy a car and I should have bought cherries instead.

    Reply

  10. Fuck My Table
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 08:45:56

    I would have slapped the stupid off his face if he’d grabbed my apron. MINE. DO NOT TOUCH.

    I don’t know where these guys get off. Maybe he thought I’d like it. Guess again. If David Boreanaz grabbed my apron, I’d slap him.

    I love sugar, too. Sugar on strawberries is my favorite. 🙂

    Mmmm…sugar.

    Reply

    • Fuck My Table
      Aug 12, 2010 @ 13:49:12

      That is SO weird you mentioned David Boreanaz…I’m watching Bones right now. He’s a HOTTIE. 🙂

      I started watching Bones last summer, then I found out he was in Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel. After I finished all the seasons of Bones, I started on Buffy. Currently I’m in season 5 of Buffy and season 1 of Angel. Sigh.

      Reply

      • Fuck My Table
        Aug 13, 2010 @ 22:54:19

        I’ve never really had a crush on actors before (Richard Gere is the one exception), but Boreanaz just makes me swoon. I suspect it’s because Booth reminds me so much of my husband, but he’s also devilishly handsome.
        I also like the actor who plays Hodgins from Bones…TJ something…he’s more my type anyway. Verrrrry cute.

        Hodgins looks too much like my son. I like Dr. Sweets.

        I may just have to join you on Angel if Boreanaz is in it. I can’t seem to get enough.

        You have to start with Buffy or you won’t understand Angel. Buffy grows on you.

        Reply

  11. Vodka and Ground Beef
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 12:21:23

    That apron thing is weird. I would have busted out my scary eyes.

    I totally agree with you about sugar on things. I love sugar. Sugar on oranges is divine.

    Oh! I’m going to have to try sugar on oranges. I’m always disappointed with our oranges.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  12. Disgruntled Paramedic
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 23:16:23

    Try this one: take some blueberries and strawberries (or whatever kind of berries you prefer), rinse them off (this also makes them moist so the sugar will stick to them), put them in a Ziploc bag, and pour about 1/2 cup of sugar in with them. Shake them up really good (so they have a good spread of sugar on them) and put the bag in the freezer for an hour or two (just to let them get nice and cold). Absolutely delicious!

    I have a feeling I’m going to be all sugared out soon. There’s always winter when the produce is absolutely disgusting.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

