Eat Pray Love

I went to see the new movie today with Jamie and Sunni.  (Sunni used to work at the restaurant.) 

It wasn’t a bad movie, but it wasn’t a life changing, self affirming, awe inspiring event as all the hype suggests.  One woman found herself by going to Rome, India and Bali.  Great.  Not all newly divorced women have the financial wherewithal to hop a plane to “find” themselves.  Most newly divorced women “find” themselves deep in debt with a few kids to support and have little time to learn that “God is within us, as us.”  I mean, it’s wonderful that the author turned her life around by learning Italian and eating pasta, but in order for a story to be uplifting to newly divorced, lost women, it should be something nearly everyone can achieve. 

I will say the cinematography was beautiful.  The colours, buildings and landscapes were worth the ticket price alone.  Julia Roberts is one of my favourite actresses and she played the part well without being whiney and annoying.  Javier Bardem was, well, worth the ticket price.

I was surprised at how many men were at the theatre, especially when The Expendables was playing next door.  I wonder how many men were wishing they were in Bali instead of at a chick flick their wife dragged them to.

After the movie we went to Adriano’s for dinner.  I had stuffed mushrooms.  And homemade garlic bread.  And salad.  And shrimp scampi.  And chocolate peanut butter ice cream pie.  And a glass of chardonnay.  Wow.  I can’t believe I ate the whole thing.

Then we wandered downtown to an overpriced store that had ginormous handbags and sparkley stuff.  I like sparkley stuff.  I bought a pair of earrings, but I saw a jillion other things I wanted…that I could get on ebay for a fraction of the cost.

It was nice to get out and do something fun.  I don’t think I’ve had one bit of fun this entire summer.  It’s been all work and no play for me and I think I’m close to losing my mind.  I have four days off soon and I’m going to Laramie for some rest and relaxation.  Maybe I’ll “find” myself.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M.T.
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 00:13:14

    Glad you had a nice evening Yellowcat.

    My girlfriend loved that book, and there is definitely a trip to the theatre in my near future. I tried to read it, I’ll read about anything, but it irritated me from the start. For the exact reasons you mentioned in your post.

    I’m a divorcee myself. I went on a journey of discovery also. But my journey was through factories, holding cells, and a kitchen gig where I had three days to “aprenda a hablar espanol”, lol….

    Then I saw Julia Roberts on Oprah (again because of the girlfriend) and heard Oprah say…. “You know why I love you Julia? Because you’re just like ONE OF US.”

    One of us? Multi-millionaires who have no clue how the average person has to live? These people have nanny’s to raise their children. I dare Oprah or Julia to be a single parent, working full-time while trying to scratch out a degree or some shit. Phony assholes….

    Sorry. I’ll stop ranting in your comment section.

    No, rant on! “One of us”? When you live in a 1976 mobile home and drive a 3rd hand van, then you can say you’re “one of us.”

    Reply

    • M.T.
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 00:18:02

      What I meant to say was….

      Funny and entertaining post. Well written, I appreciate that. By the way, what were the aforementioned mushrooms stuffed with? 🙂

      They were stuffed with crab and herbs and covered with cheese and garlic butter. Mmmm…I’m making myself hungry.

      Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 01:39:02

    Who the freak can afford to go to Bali when the lawyer costs a few hundred an hour? The lawyer’s going to Bali, that’s what, and the newly divorced is going to bust their butt off for not much money.

    I’m with MT on the “one of us” stupid crack. What morons. I’m NOTHING like them! Idiots! I read – a few years ago – that Oprah paid over $2500 for a set of sheets. Yeah. One of us. Right.

    I’m glad you had a nice time, and here’s to lots more of that coming up on your days off. Time off, woo!!!

    I’m so excited to go to Laramie. I’ve been working my fingers to the bone since Monday so I’ll have vacation money.

    Reply

  3. Heifer
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 06:23:40

    Most of my newly divorced girlfriends “found” themselves with a cheap bottle of vodka and a battery operated boyfriend.

    No shit.

    Reply

  4. Serenity
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 09:34:38

    yeah, Julia Roberts, “one of us”? not likely….I had the misfortune of encountering her at a spa I used to work at. She is one of those famous people that considers herself above all of us “little people”. You are not allowed to call her by her real name, and she has her paid friend do all the talking for her…as in, she will stand right in front of you, whisper what she wants in her hired friend’s ear, who then repeats it aloud for you. I tried answering her directly, bc it seemed so silly to me, and she gave me a dirty look. Also, Miss Not So Classy tried to hand her USED tissue to my boss to throw away, even tho the trash was right in front of her…and hello, famous boogers are still gross.

    Really?! I always pictured her as one of the nicer celebrities.

    Reply

    • Serenity
      Aug 17, 2010 @ 11:44:15

      yeah, so did I until that little experience :/

      Maybe she was just too embarrassed to ask for a Brazilian wax and a high colonic. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 14:55:34

    I haven’t seen the movie, but I did read the book. If I remember right, the author pitched the idea to her editor and received an advance on the book she was going to write after these travels. She then traveled on the advance. (that’s a lot trickier to write than it is to think!)

    I wish someone would give me a fat advance to travel half of the world. I could write a great story on someone else’s dime.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 15:17:33

    Um … no comment. I didn’t pay for my divorce and my ex-wife and I stayed amiable. She did the finding herself on her mother’s time and nickel. *Shrug*

    Glad you go to have fun though. Nice to hear that.

    Reply

  7. izziedarling
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 16:25:36

    Sooo glad you had a good time – we all need those more than we get them.

    The last time I had fun was when my sister was here for the 4th of July. I really need to get out more than once a month.

    Reply

  8. redriverpak
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 17:46:10

    Enjoy those well earned days off! Just don’t do anything to get arrested! 🙂

    Nah…I’ll be with my kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

