Restaurant Survivor

Every year at this time, we play Restaurant Survivor.  It goes something like this:  When we start closing at 9pm, we only need 8 servers.  When we start closing at 8pm, we only need 6 servers.  Currently, we have 12 servers.  Guess what happens?

There were so many sad faces today when I mentioned the Restaurant Survivor game.  There were also many sad faces when I told people why they would be voted out of the restaurant:  not pre-busing, leaving early, shirking their closing duties, being lazy, and/or pissing me off.  Hmmm…all the things I’ve been bitching about all summer.

I guess all 12 servers thought they were going to work 40 hours a week and piss me off all winter.  Guess again.

There are 5 servers right now who will stay through the winter.  One server from the summer gets to stay.

Who will it be?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vodka and Ground Beef
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 23:18:15

    This is exciting. I love survivor type games – or really, I just love any type of game that involves voting people off the island. I’ll check back to see what happens, but for now I say you be fair and vote off anyone who might be better looking. Those are the people I always try and get rid of first.

    If there was anyone better looking than me I would certainly get rid of them.

    Reply

  2. Fuck My Table
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 23:21:40

    That’s awesome! Wish we had that — it would mean a lot of servers pitching in for their share of the work consistently, especially if they thought their hours would be cut if they didn’t!

    I should have told them this at the beginning of the summer rather than now. I would have had worker bees.

    My birthday is on the 24th, by the way. Thanks for the compliment of thinking I was older; most people I work with think I’m mid- to late 20s as well. They say I behave more maturely. I bet I know why, too. I pay my own bills, am married, and understand the meaning of responsibility and accountability. Things that every young adult should know about, but don’t.

    My two favourite work people are Jamie (20) and Kayla (20). Both act much older, but they are still silly and funny.

    Reply

    • Fuck My Table
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 23:22:51

      Okay, maybe they don’t need to know about the married part yet, but they should know about serious intimate relationships, especially if they hope to maintain or develop any in the near future.

      My two favourites are both in serious, committed relationships.

      Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 23:55:33

    Ooh, a competitive elimination process! How fun!

    … as long as it’s someone ELSE going through it, that is.

    I love Restaurant Survivor. It keeps me on my toes, too.

    Reply

  4. Zombieman
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 06:02:15

    Ooh the anticipation is killing me! I can’t wait to see how this goes down! LMKIA and NPB (No pre-buser) have to be out for sure, that leaves 4 more to go. Too bad customers can’t get voted off too…but still have to pay before they left, it could be a ‘theme’ restaurant.

    Actually, LMKIA pulled her head out and is no longer on my shit list. We get along and work well together. I don’t think she will be voted out. NPB (or Trauma Queen) is gone for sure.

    What a great idea for a theme restaurant! You could only come back if you tipped well and didn’t annoy the crap out of anyone.

    Reply

  5. whatigotsofar
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 06:24:28

    Don’t get too comfy. Sometimes the wily veteran gets voted the weakest link.

    I’m never too comfortable. Restaurant Survivor applies to me as well. So far I’ve survived 3 cuts, so I think I’ll survive this one too.

    Reply

  6. izziedarling
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 10:17:44

    You can let me go … am impervious (sp) to it now 🙂 Keep me posted on the eliminations

    No way! You could have a job if you came here!

    Reply

  7. redriverpak
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 13:25:04

    Keep the one that cleans the bathrooms for you… 🙂

    Uh…I’m the one who cleans the bathrooms.

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 20:59:08

    One server from the summer gets to stay.

    Who will it be?

    Jamie! 🙂

    You know, I have never seen an episode of Survivor.

    May your favorite teammate win!

    Jamie is going on almost 2 years at the restaurant. She wasn’t a summer hire.

    Summer hires are:

    Raecheal
    Tim
    Amber
    Katrina
    Meghan
    Elizabeth

    I have my top two picked out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

