Leah’s Long Walk

Last night I was in the section that is known as “The Hole”.  It is a section of four 2-top tables and two picnic tables and it can either be a very profitable section or not.

This guy ended up in my section.  Instead of walking around America, he should go into entertaining.  He is a large person, both in size and in personality.  He greeted everyone in my section, including me, with a loud booming voice and a gigantic smile.  The people in my section asked him hundreds of questions about his walk and he was basically a dinner show for about an hour.  He certainly has a way with people and he made my job easier during the time he was there.

My people were very pleased with their dining experience and it was a very profitable night for me.  I checked his website for a donation spot so I could return the favour, but I didn’t see one.   

I wish him safe travels on his journey, but maybe he should apply for a job with us.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 13:59:07

    How cool! I read the front page of his website, and he sounds like a dedicated father. He’s been through a lot. Neat that you got to meet him.

    I see so many douchebags I thought it would be nice to feature someone who isn’t one.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 14:32:47

    Sounds like a really interesting guy.

    He obviously has more ambition than I do. I’m not keen on walking anywhere.

    Reply

  3. M.T.
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 20:19:43

    I wish I met some interesting character… I just meet dolts. I guess it’s a sign that I need a new job, new town, new everything…

    It’s obvious I don’t meet many people I don’t want to punch in the face. It’s nice to encounter someone who made me smile.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 00:28:58

    What a cool story, and how nice for you that he made “the hole” such a fun place that night. 🙂

    The Hole can either be a great time or can completely suck balls. Most nights, customers in The Hole talk to one another, compare vacations, offer advice, and just have a good time. Other nights it’s full of people who are pissed off that they have to sit at a table rather than a booth, and they make the experience miserable for everyone. I like it best when the hostess fills The Hole with couples or large parties. I hate it when it’s full of families.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 11:13:16

    What a fun experience! It was nice to read something nice about someone on your blog. 😉

    It was nice to encounter someone nice.

    Hope he’s successful in whatever he does.

    Me too.

    Reply

  6. Sparty Girl
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 13:24:03

    Oh, that’s so cool. He sounds like a neat guy. Sounds like he might have a future in stand-up comedy.

    At the very least, he’d be a great host.

    Reply

  7. Nycgirl
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 15:10:28

    What a great guy. My mom has MS – any support is always so admirable. I wish he had a donate button!!

    Sorry about your mom. I wonder how the walk thing works.

    Reply

  8. Jamie
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 18:15:44

    I always miss the good shit

    Well, maybe if you didn’t work 3 days a week…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

