Fire!

All yesterday afternoon I complained to the dogs about a burning smell.  They didn’t care because, at the time, I was chasing them around with my new Shop Vac and they had other things to worry about.  I figured someone was burning trash and I was annoyed because the smell persisted on into the night.

Finally at 2 a.m. two fire trucks went racing up the road to my neighbour’s house on the hill.  Because I’m not right, (and neither is he) I started imagining all sorts of things:  he set his house on fire and committed suicide, he dropped dead while making Ramen noodles and the house caught fire, he was cooking another body and an arm fell out, igniting the curtains, which started a blaze.  I could have driven to the post office at 2 in the morning and someone would have been there with the scoop, but I didn’t feel like putting on pants.

The fire trucks left after an hour, but I couldn’t see if his house was still standing.  The ambulance wasn’t involved so I figured my neighbour was okay, but I watched for the coroner’s wagon to show up just to be sure.  I gave up at around 4 a.m. and went to bed.     

When I woke up this afternoon and was sitting all bleary eyed at the computer, I heard sirens.  There are now 5 fire trucks on the hill, apparently trying to put out a grass fire.  Fire + water = dead fire. 

I have to leave for work soon and I don’t feel comfortable leaving my house in the hands of the Meeteetse Volunteer Fire Department.  Many of these fools sat in church with the fugitive and didn’t recognize him.  Some of them drank at the bar with him and made jokes when his mug shot appeared on the TV.  Har-de-har-har.  I will allow that it was dark last night and it’s hard to see glowing embers, but it’s daylight now and if y’all can’t find the fire I don’t want to leave only to return to an area that resembles General Sherman’s March Through the South.

Get it right!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 14:16:27

    I would be pretty nervous too, leaving my home alone like that! Fire is such a scary thing. I’ll be praying yours stays safe.

    All was well when I got home. We’ll see if they show up again in the middle of the night.

    Reply

  2. redriverpak
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 15:47:02

    Cooking “Another body”? My God woman! You need to get a new career AND new neighbors! 🙂

    When I met my neighbour he was driving a white, windowless panel van and he introduced himself, “Hi! My name is Cliff. I don’t like people.” I was waiting for him to ask what size clothes I wear and to hand me a bottle of lotion. So yeah, cooking a body isn’t out of the question.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 16:43:42

    eep

    My thoughts exactly.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 17:15:51

    Yikes! A Simpsons-worth volunteer fire department.

    I think that’s giving them way too much credit.

    Reply

  5. zman
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 17:23:01

    So what you are saying is you and your neighbor are now closer because of this experience.

    He doesn’t like people and neither do I. He has 2 pit bulls and I have 4 mixed breed dogs to keep the visitors to a minimum.

    I have often wondered how often are our local firemen bombed when they go racing down the street…my neighbor is a volunteer he is always gassed…..

    Oh hell yeah. I think their insurance got really strict about drunken firemen because if some of them are in the bar, they stay in the bar. There was a time I was surprised any of them could stand up at the scene.

    good its just a brush fire..unless of course it california wher fire seems to burn for months on end….fireman gassed their as well….and whats wrong with no pants at the post office and 2 in the morning…as long as you have the proper postage….zman laughs and sends

    No pants is probably an improvement over what I do wear to the post office.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

