Just Like That…

It was over.  Summer, that is.  In the last week we’ve gone from running around like a bunch of crazy people to standing in the waitstation looking for something to do.  My sales are still pretty high, but only because we have 2 or three servers at night rather than the usual 5 on the floor.

This means the locals are back and the complaints are rolling in.  Too bad the money isn’t.  Almost all of my tables tonight were local people and I made a whopping 10.5% of my sales.  Cheap bastards.  Wow, this is going to be a long winter.

It has also turned cold and rainy.  Now, instead of people bitching about the heat, they are bitching about the cold.  Every table asked if I could turn the air conditioner off, as if we would have it on when it’s 50 degrees outside.  We haven’t used the coolers in days and the entire back of the house smelled like a fish pond tonight.  It gave me a headache.  It’s too early to drain them because we will still have warm days ahead of us (I hope).

We start closing at 9 next week.  It will be nice to get home before midnight for a change.  My new thing is to go to Walmart with Cora after work and wander around for what turns into an hour.  Tonight I bought enough fabric to make 2 quilts for Christmas gifts, so at least it wasn’t the usual waste of time.

Sigh, I’m not ready for winter.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 06:55:40

    Stupid cheap bastards. At least you probably saved a lot of money, huh?

    Saved money? HAHAHAHAHA!

    I leave sunny, warm California for Seattle tonight. I am with you in not being ready for winter. Cold and rain? I haven’t had to deal with that since April or May. I think Sept may be ok, but once the rain starts, it doesn’t stop for 6 or 7 months. I’m so ready to leave that town…

    Our winters seem to get longer and longer. It’s a real drag.

    Reply

  2. izziedarling
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 13:53:19

    OMG – you and my cousins – they go to Walmart every single night, no matter where they are (city or state). Winter … it’s 79-degrees at 6 am here and you’d think we’d had a blizzard. You and Becky need to come down here; tell those cheap locals to fork over the dough, damn it!

    I can’t stand the heat at all. I’m a cold weather gal. Walmart is the devil. They always find new ways to separate you from your cash. I’ll post pictures of the quilts when I finish them.

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 13:56:42

    Oh, man, winter! I’m not ready for it, either, but I AM ready for it to stop being 90 degrees with 80% humidity all the time. I love fall. I want it to start now.

    I love fall and spring. Winter and summer can kiss my ass.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 17:10:56

    50 degrees already?! DANG! I’m SOOOO jealous! That’s MY kind of weather. That 30-below crap though? You can have ALL that. I get it here too, but I could so live with some chill weather from now ’til, say, next October. 😉

    Hope the winter’s not too hard on you.

    Last winter was horrible. I hope this one is better.

    Reply

  5. redriverpak
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 19:44:02

    If things get real slow, and you find yourself without anything better to do…

    I am still a little confused on the Side Dish policy…

    Can you go over that one more time for me? Thanks! 🙂

    Dogs! Dogs! Bad man! Sic! Sic!

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 21:59:11

    Wow, that was fast! It seems like Summer just started and the out-of-towners started pouring in. Maybe the locals will feel a tad more friendly this Winter. If not, maybe you could feed them to the buffalo. 😉

    No lie, it seems like last week when we started summer. I can’t believe how fast the time went by.

    Garb that fabric while you can. Walmart has been slowly but surely doing away with the Notions depts. 😦

    I know. I haven’t bought fabric at Walmart in more than a year because they had sucky stuff. Suddenly, they have all sorts of cute stuff, but much less of it. Quilt shops around here charge $8-12 a yard for fabric. I can only afford Walmart fabric.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 22:06:15

    AAARRRRGGGGHHHH!!

    Looks like we didn’t get that cookie problem figured out after all. 😡

    I still knew it was you. Darc would never say ‘notions’.

    Reply

  8. whatigotsofar
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 04:13:11

    I’m ready for winter. Friggin’ heat wave in Toronto. Yesterday, record breaking temperatures.

    I’m ready for fall, but I’m afraid we are going to skip it and go straight to winter.

    Reply

  9. breadsticks
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 22:24:07

    I can’t even imagine winter or even fall right now. It’s still the middle of summer here though it should start cooling down to the 80’s at some point soon.

    It poured rain last night and was freezing cold. It was sunny today, but not very warm. I think we can forget Indian Summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

