Shower Time

Everyday at about the same time, I hit the shower, get dressed and go to work.  Usually I lock the dogs in the living room so I don’t have to trip over them while I’m getting dressed, but I forgot today.  I started the water in the shower, brushed my teeth, pulled a towel out of the cabinet and realized Sienna was standing in the bathtub waiting for me to get in.  WTF?!  Why does a 90 pound dog decide to randomly shower with me?

If Sienna could, she would.

I got Sienna when she was four years old and the young woman who gave her to me treated her like a hairy little toddler.  Sienna came with a bucket of clothes.  Hoodies, shirts, skirts, sweatshirts and a friggin’ ballerina outfit.  I can do anything to this dog:  brush her, paint her toenails, and, obviously, shower with her.  When I pull out the dog brush, I hear furniture tipping over as my other 3 dogs run for cover, but Sienna is standing beside me, waiting.  If I get out the nail polish, Sienna puts her big paw on my lap so I can do her claws.  Who does that to a dog? 

The last time Sienna decided to get in the bathtub, Maggie thought it would be fun, too.  For a week I showered with 170 pounds of dogs.  I’m betting Maggie will be in the shower tomorrow.  I’m curious how long it will be before Halo decides she needs to shower.  That will be 220 pounds of dogs fighting for equal attention in the shower.  I don’t have to worry about Otis since he won’t have anything to do with the shower.  If he needs a bath, I have to drag his fat ass to the tub, heave him over the side and force him to stay in.  That’s the way it should be.  Dogs don’t volunteer for a bath.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 05:23:09

    Haha. I LOVE that photo! My two pups want to get in the shower with me every day but they wont paddle in the river and if I leave them outside in the rain for a minute they cry pitifully and huddle on the doorstep. As I open the shower door and reach up for the on switch they are in, checking it out and waiting for the water to come down.

    My dogs all like water, but it’s only once in a while that they hope in the shower with me. I’m thankful for that.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 06:23:24

    Pets are like children, they hate taking a bath.

    That’s the way it should be. Bathing children and animals should be a challenge.

    Reply

  3. beckyb26
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 08:53:33

    That’s funny. I’ve never heard of a dog volunteering to bathe before…

    Me neither. Sienna is a weird dog.

    Reply

  4. Fuck My Table
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 09:37:40

    Our dog doesn’t volunteer, but he takes it like a man…he just stands in the shower, glaring at us, until we’re finished.

    He then proceeds to jump all over the furniture, bed, carpet, and anything else that absorbs water. 😛

    Otis takes it like a pansy. He’s such a baby.

    Reply

  5. Molly Malone
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 10:28:34

    I have the same problem – one of my dogs won’t leave me alone when I’m in the shower – he just head-buts the door until I let him in. I couldn’t get the others in there with my if I were wearing a sausage necklace…

    Sienna likes the attention. She’s very spoiled.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 11:20:15

    My dog hated baths too. But if you REALLY want to have a good time, try giving a bath to a cat. Now THOSE are good times … good times.

    I haven’t had a cat that I couldn’t bathe. Every single cat I’ve ever owned would let me put them in the bathtub, soap them up, rinse them off, and wrap them in a towel. No scratching, no flipping out, no howling. I had one very furry cat who was always a mess, so Saturday night was bath night for him. He did get scarce on Saturday nights so I had to switch it up between Friday and Sunday, but he always took his bath.

    Reply

  7. Nycgirl
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 18:19:00

    My much missed 30 pound behemoth cat, Bowie, used to jump in the shower with me until the day he died. But he thought he was a dog.

    I’ve had cats who would jump in the shower too. Those cats are the best.

    Reply

  8. redriverpak
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 18:59:39

    That’s funny! And here I thought my cat standing outside the shower door meowing at me as I showered was weird… 🙂

    If I don’t lock them in the living room, I have 3 dogs opening the shower curtain and staring at me for the duration of my shower. Otis waits until I’m out of the shower before he starts staring.

    Reply

  9. M.T.
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 21:12:45

    Based on one of your above responses, I’d like you to come bathe my cat. I will gladly pay for your airfare, cook you dinner, and provide you with a night at the Hilton, on me. I’ve tried to bathe it on a few different occaisions, and barely escaped with my life, while I didn’t even manage to get the damn beast remotely into the tub or sink.

    I need a vacation!

    Reply

    • M.T.
      Sep 03, 2010 @ 02:48:40

      Well don’t come to St. Louis! Lol. Take a vacation somewhere nicer, I’ll still buy you one night in a Hilton, and I’ll mail the cat to you. Her name is “Squiggy”. Yeah, it’s an old “Laverne and Shirley” reference….

      When she’s clean, just let her loose. She’ll find her way home. And I promise to mail your earlobe back to you when she gets here 🙂

      The trick to bathing a cat is to have the water ready and get in the bathtub with them. You get a better grip and they don’t feel like you are persecuting them. For a treat, try it naked. 😉

      Reply

  10. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 22:54:09

    Oh my gosh, that picture cracks me up! LOLOL But the smell of wet dog, ugh!

    So, why did the lady get rid of a dog she’d treated like a baby for 4 years?

    She had a real baby.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

