Catching Up

Wow!  It has been a crazy few days.

Labor Day in Meeteetse is a three day party.  There’s a horseshoe contest, games for the kids, dessert happy hour at the Meeteetse Chocolatier, a parade, a rodeo and lots of drinking.  Okay maybe lots of drinking is an understatement.  Somebody always does something memorable over the weekend which fuels the gossip until the next year.  I’m happy to say, so far I’m not that interesting.

One of my favourite Labor Day stories came from when my mom and dad owned one of the bars.  This man came in, pissed off and looking for his wife.  Everybody played dumb and denied knowing where she was at.  Finally, a woman seated at the bar spoke up.  “Your wife is out back screwing Don in his car.”

“Shut up, you whore.  Nobody asked you,” the husband said.

“No, I’m a prostitute.  I get paid for my services.  Your wife is a whore.  She gives it away.”

Ouch!

No singing or dancing.

Tonight was the start of our winter dinner specials and our fall hours.  It was pretty much a clusterfuck.  The people kept flooding in, Jamie was on the verge of tears every time I looked at her, and once again I asked myself why I bother being nice to people.  Things were going fine until I went in the salad bar room to get a tossed salad.  I opened the lid on salad container to find the bowl completely empty.  Not even a scrap of lettuce.  Who does that shit?!  I flipped out and started yelling and for some reason all the Mexicans decided I needed a hug/patted on the back/monkey humped.  No.  What I needed was some fucking lettuce.  So I started flailing around like King Louie, without all the singing and dancing, until somebody got me a tossed salad.

The best observation of the night came from Boy Cook Jarrod forty five minutes before we closed:  “So, I guess the special tonight is chicken.”

Even WIGSF knows what the Tuesday night dinner special is in the winter.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 01:21:21

    Prime Rib on Fridays, right? I am so there!

    Yes! I can’t believe how many people were asking for prime rib tonight and how many idiot coworkers had to go ask the cooks if we had prime rib left. I’m surprised someone didn’t get stabbed.

    At least things will slow down some, and some of the less, uh, popular servers will be gone, right? Did your favorites win?

    I need to do an update on the Restaurant Survivor game.

    Reply

  2. izziedarling
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 10:23:45

    Yeah, who was voted off the island? Threw you a pass on my blog – see Who?Me?

    Thanks! I’ll take a look.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:27:45

    DAMN RIGHT TUESDAY IS CHICKEN NIGHT!

    HAHAHAHA!

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:09:44

    Haahaha! WIGSF did know! SWEET!

    Wait – what sides do I get with this again? And what’s the fourth one?

    Somebody’s going to get hurt.

    Can’t wait for the Survivor update. Gotta be almost over now if not completely over, right?

    Ugh. It hasn’t even started.

    Reply

  5. morethananelectrician
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 18:21:24

    Don’t frown on the therapeutic value of being “monkey humped” in the middle of a crisis. It can be a tension reliever.

    But only if it’s the right monkeys.

    Reply

  6. M.T.
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 21:15:11

    If those cooks are anything like the ones that I’ve worked with, they were just trying to be nice. Or as nice as deranged kitchen people can be. I once worked at a place where when a cook would lose his shit, the others would throw burned garlic toast or olives at his face…

    HAHAHAHA! The Mexicans at our restaurant are dishwashers. I have no idea why they were all in the salad bar room at that moment.

    That’s the kind of thing that passes for “affectionate” in the back of the house…

    That’s what passes for affection in the entire restaurant. We are all a bunch of assholes, especially to each other.

    Reply

  7. redriverpak
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 08:08:35

    Thanks! I got a new way to greet people thanks to you kind lady! I shall call it the “hug/patted on the back/monkey humped” !!! 🙂

    Expect to get hurt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

