Best of Times, Worst of Times

My day off was spectacular.  Saturday night I bought a full rack of spare ribs, potato salad & cole slaw from the restaurant and on Sunday some friends and I had an indoor picnic.  Then we went for a short hike outside of Meeteetse.  Still full of energy, we did a little off-roading so we could get some good pictures of the sunset from the hills above town.  Back in town, we moved some around some lawn furniture and took more pictures.  The whole time we laughed until our ribs ached.  I haven’t laughed that hard in a very long time and I went home with a silly grin I couldn’t wipe off my face.

When I got home my dogs decided to fight over food and tore the hell out of each other.  For the life of me, I do not understand why they fight over food.  There’s always plenty of it and none of them are starving.  It took me two hours to clean up the blood, dirt, and slobber and un-traumatize them.  This was the worst fight they’ve ever had and it traumatized me as well.  I seriously considered finding new homes for two of the dogs last night.  That wiped the silly grin off my face.

Today I went to work with a heavy heart because I had to get pretty physical with Sienna in order to get her to stop killing Maggie.  I don’t like to beat my dogs any more than I liked to spank my kids, but sometimes it has to be done.  As soon as I got to work, Dani told me Boy Cook Jarrod wrecked his bike and was in the hospital.  A few minutes later he walked in the restaurant looking all glassy eyed and wobbly. 

Silly Boy, making my heart stop like that.

Thankfully, he was wearing his helmet.  He has a concussion, bruised ribs and he’s missing skin, but he will live.  The last time I was at his house, he had nothing other than beer in his refrigerator, so after work I bought him some groceries, fixed him something to eat and sat with him for a while so he didn’t fall asleep.  I don’t think he realizes the level of headache he’s going to have tomorrow.  Poor Boy Cook. 

The dogs are still subdued tonight.  Well, all except for Halo, the one who started the whole fiasco.  Stupid dog.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M.T.
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 02:49:45

    Three things here…

    1) The boy cook sounds like a real kitchen guy! Lol… I’ve known many of his type. Hell, I’m of that type.

    He’s wild and a hundred miles an hour all the time…skateboarding, biking, hiking, snowboarding…and he’s not happy unless there’s a threat of danger. He makes me laugh.

    2) You really are nice for helping him out like that. I’ve always known you were a good woman. It’s nice to see humanity from my fellow industry members. People like you are the salt of the Earth.

    I couldn’t let my Cupcake starve.

    3) I’m so sorry about your dogs. I’ve been there. I hate to discipline them too. It hurts me.

    It doesn’t mean their bad. They’re just animals. Humans fight over shit that is in plentiful supply also. We can be incredibly cruel and violent. We’re just animals too I guess. Hang in there, and be a good “mom” to them…

    Sometimes love just ain’t enough…sometimes you have to crack the whip.

    Good entries Yellowcat. Keep it up. I’ve turned a couple of the servers at my work onto your blog lately, and they love it, universaly. You’re providing a valuable source of entertainment….

    Well thank you. I’m nothing if not entertaining. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 04:46:54

    sucks about the dogs and the boy cook. Hopefully more “best times” are in your future.

    Yeah, I can’t take very many worst times.

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 05:07:41

    Poor dogs, poor boy cook, poor you. 😦 Glad you had a good day off, though! Hope everything is better today.

    The dogs are better today, I’ll check on Jarrod before work. Head injuries are worrisome.

    Reply

  4. Catherine
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 05:12:20

    Hmmm…. seems like you misnamed Halo, the little devil!

    I have thought of that. She’s a bad dog.

    Reply

  5. redriverpak
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 07:10:04

    Sounds like Boy Cook is lucky to have a great friend like you!

    I’m lucky he’s nice enough to make me care.

    Reply

  6. trailerparkbarbie
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 08:32:25

    I grew up poor but with lots of dogs. Looking back, I’m still not sure what my Mother fed those dogs since there were rarely ever any table leftovers and we couldn’t afford store bought dog food. I loved the dogs. Loved dogs my whole life until Trailerpark Midge was attacked by a neighbor’s Rotweiller. I know..I know…Rottie owners will say that’s it’s not the breed and you can believe that if you want to…but the very next year, she was attacked by a neighbor’s Rottie that had been around her since it was a pup.

    It IS the breed. I have a heeler/collie and he is one biting little bastard because that is what both breeds are bred to do. I’ve never taught him to heel or to herd, but he does it anyway. Rotties, Pit Bulls, Boxers, German Shepherds, Dobermans, and Chihuahuas are all bred to do something and they do it.

    Both attacks were unprovoked. This scared me away from all dogs for a long time (as well as TPM). I didn’t want her growing up afraid of dogs for the rest of her life so one Mother’s Day, I bought “myself” a little Laso Apso. Needless to say, we all fell in love with the little guy. When TPM moved out, I let him take him with her. He is her BABY. Don’t really know what this has to do with your dogs fighting….probably nothing. It’s just what came to mind when I read about your dogs. Sorry, got off subject and rambled…but dammit, I can’t help it!

    I love off subject ramblings.

    Reply

  7. Molly Malone
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 08:50:48

    I know exactly how you feel – when my dogs get into it, it feels as though there is nothing I can do to stop them – my heart doesn’t beat until I’ve managed to separate them. *Hugs*

    When the bitches start fighting (Otis doesn’t fight) I have 210 pounds of combined dog weight to separate. The only way to do this is by choking, punching, kicking and dragging. I always feel like an asshole. It was so much easier with cats, but dogs don’t piss on everything.

    Maybe this will make you feel better – I linked to you on my post today 🙂

    Thanks so much! 🙂

    Reply

  8. DarcKnyt
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 10:29:02

    Wow, something changing with the dogs in their dynamic? That’s pretty weird. I’m glad Jarrod’s okay.

    When my son was here, he babied Halo. She decided she was his favourite and that he was alpha so she was too. WRONG. I’m alpha. Sienna is second in command. That’s the way things are going to be.

    Reply

  9. zman
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 11:44:50

    Cat

    Hope boy cook is okay…on to more important things your dogs……had dogs like that…i really believe its just moodiness….but its always funny the dog that starts it…never has a scratch and always gets the prize…be it food or whatever else……cheers..zman sends

    It’s sort of like when I was a kid. My girl cousin would start a fight, my boy cousin and I would fight, we would get spanked and she would get a popsicle. Bitch. Except I know who started the dog fight and she got an ass kicking from me as well. She is far less injured than the other dogs, though.

    Reply

  10. izziedarling
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 13:16:58

    I’m so sorry about your dogs. Sometimes there’s no explaining their behavior. You are one good person for taking care of boy cook. But we knew that already.

    I understand cats. I think dogs are too much like men.

    There isn’t much I won’t do for my Boy Cooks. I pretty much adore all of them.

    Reply

  11. Sparty Girl
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 13:53:14

    Oh, geez. I hope Boy Cook recovers ok. Sorry about the dogs… it doesn’t feel good to have to be tough to separate them, but it would be less good to have them fight until somebody is seriously injured or dead.

    I checked on him tonight and he’s doing much better. The dogs…I don’t know if Maggie will ever forgive Sienna and Halo.

    I’m glad you had a little fun before all the bad stuff started.

    I like having fun.

    I always wondered why you didn’t have much use for your girl cousin.

    She was a pain in my ass.

    Reply

  12. frolicking lady
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 16:13:06

    Damn! That was a good day and a bad day! Maybe tomorrow will be…..boring?

    No such luck.

    Reply

  13. Becky
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 19:24:18

    Sorry about the dogs, hope things improve.

    And that was super nice of you to take care of boy cook. Hope he’s recovering ok.

    He’s still alive so that’s good.

    Reply

  14. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 20:33:59

    Bad dogs, banged up boy – goodness, I’m glad you had some fun at the beginning! That put some happy in your account so you could deal with the other.

    I would have really cracked up without the happy first.

    Sorry about the dogs, and sorrier about boy cook. He’s going to hurt something fierce.

    I checked on him tonight and he’s in good spirits. If I remember right, I didn’t get the insane headache after my concussion until about the 3rd day. That was the day I wished someone would just kill me.

    Reply

  15. Vodka and Ground Beef
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 23:36:03

    Very apt title for this post. I’m sorry about your dogs. But that was nice of you to help your friend like that. I coach soccer, and when one of my players gets a concussion, usually I just shine a mag light in her face and call her all sorts of derogatory names. But I like your approach. It’s softer.

    HAHAHA! I really needed a laugh after the night I just had.

    The mag light and derogatory names will come later for Boy Cook Jarrod. I just hope he doesn’t learn positive reinforcement from this…wreck on the bike, get free food and my sympathy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

