In My Free Time

When I’m off work, it’s not all keening and rocking in the corner or punching holes in walls.  I do have hobbies.

9 Patch

This was my first full sized quilt.  It’s not perfect, but it’s seen lots of use.

I used high loft batting (wrong) and very inexpensive fabric for this, but it’s held up well.

Rail Fence

This is the exact opposite of the 9 Patch.  I have more than $200 in fabric in this quilt.  It was a gift from me to me, since I rarely treat myself to luxuries.

I used the felt type of batting for this and it’s super warm without being heavy. 

The Gay Pride

I raised my children to be politically correct.  Fat lot of good it did me.

One night my daughter called me and asked what I was doing.  I said I was working on a quilt. 

She said, “You’re gay.  You should be out with your friends.”

I said, “But it’s a really cool quilt.  I designed it myself.  It’s a rainbow.”

She said, “Queers like rainbows.”

Again, very inexpensive fabric, but lots of fun.

Pixi’s Unfinished Chenille

I started this quilt before my friend’s daughter Pixi was born.  She’s nearly 3 years old now.  Wow.

The chenille is created by stacking several layers of flannel fabric, sewing diagonally, then cutting between the stitches.  Sounds easy?  It’s a pain in the ass.  I’ve made 3 of these for babies.

Chloe’s Fairies

This is for Pixi’s older sister, Chloe.  I can’t give Chloe something without gifting Pixi so this sits in my daughter’s abandoned room waiting for an owner.

Zach’s Gigantic Scarf

I knitted a baby blanket for one of my coworkers and Boy Cook Zach begged me to make one for him.  I don’t know what I did (counted for myself, I guess), but the “blanket” is more like a scarf for a fat person.  Hope he likes keeping half of his body warm.

Cody’s Baby Blanket

I knitted this for Eye Candy Cody’s baby girl, but he quit before I finished it.  I’ve dragged it to work with me for weeks, and I’ve just about given up on him stopping in to pick it up.  The next baby girl born has a present waiting for her.

Boy Cook Jarrod’s Happy Halloween

This kind of started as a joke and a way to use up my supply of Halloween fabric.  The finished quilt was unbelievably awesome.

I’ve made many other quilts and afghans for friends and family as gifts.  It keeps me occupied, mentally healthy and it makes me happy knowing my people are warm.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bluntdelivery
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 18:28:30

    oh wow! you = talented young lady!

    i can’t even sew a button.

    i really want a refund on that home ec class.

    Home ec class sucked. I wanted to be in wood shop with the boys.

    Reply

  2. Heif
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 18:40:15

    I luv, luv, luv my Heifer quilt.

    I’m glad you’re still using it. Some people put away the stuff I’ve made because they are afraid of wearing it out. I say it was made to be used.

    And I use my cowboy potholders almost daily

    I forgot about the potholders! I might have to make more of those.

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 19:10:21

    I like Chloe’s Fairies the most. It is great for a child.

    It would be even better if the child got to use it.

    Reply

  4. redriverpak
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 19:12:31

    Maybe we have the same daughter…. I wear a purple polo…”Dad…purple is so gay!”. I wear a yellow polo…”Dad…yellow is so Gay!”. I wear a T-Shirt emblazoned with a huge picture of George Michael during his WHAM days….”Dad…that shirt is so cool!” 🙂

    My daughter recently discovered how cool Jim Morrison was. Whatever kid. Don’t call me gay. I’ve been cooler much longer than you.

    Reply

  5. Jamie
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 22:02:05

    I love the scarf you made for me last christmas! I can’t wait until I can use it again! 🙂

    You didn’t use it last year because you were afraid you might ruin it. I don’t imagine this year will be any different.

    Reply

    • Jamie
      Sep 18, 2010 @ 17:39:01

      I didn’t say I wore it frequently. Sheesh. I still like it, and your an ass. 🙂

      Well, we all know that.

      Reply

  6. Catherine
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:15:38

    The quilts are gorgeous. I used to do patchwork myself but it was all hotchpot stuff, thrown together without any pattern. As for your daughter’s gay comment, it seems like gay is the descriptive word of choice at the moment. My brother when on a rare night out last week and his daughter asked him if he had been doing ‘gay dad dancing’…

    Gay is the insult of choice with today’s youth. She did tell me I can’t use any of those words on facebook since she has gay friends. At least she’s politically incorrect rather than intolerant.

    Reply

  7. DarcKnyt
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:58:16

    Those are excellent and professional looking. Very bright and colorful, as suits you. 🙂

    Thank you. I like bright colours. 🙂

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 01:27:15

    Your stuff is lovely. 🙂

    I have a friend who quilts too. She was always trying to get me to get into it. I don’t have the patience. She tells me I would love it because it’s all about organization and I’m into that.

    I love that felt batting. I like to make baby blankets and use that because it’s so lightweight and warm. 🙂

    Thank you! Quilting is more fun that sewing because it’s just straight line sewing. It’s hard to make a crooked quilt, as opposed to shirts with one arm longer than the other.

    Reply

  9. M.T.
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 02:21:48

    Wow… I don’t want to make you sound old. By now you should understand that I consider us to be peers… But I’ve also told you about how you remind me of my mother. This really solidifies that feeling. When my mother wasn’t behaving like you and saying phrases like you do, she was busy making rainbow colored afgans. To this day, I still use one of her blankets when I nap on the couch after my day shifts. It’s two baby-blankets sewed together long-ways. All soft, and comfy, and three decades old. I can’t wash it very often, being as it’s fairly deteriorated due to age (so it stinks a bit), but I’ll nap with it until it becomes dust.

    HAHAHA! I take it as a compliment that I remind you of your mom.

    I’m a grown-ass-man who still finds comfort in a blanket my Momma made for me. My girlfriend says it’s time to let go, and put it up in a closet as a keepsake. But I think I should use it until it is totally worn out. Is that sad or pathetic?

    Your girlfriend should deal with your blankie. Don’t come between a man and the blanket his momma made for him.

    Reply

    • Audrey
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 11:01:58

      Sounds like the blanket will still be with you when your girlfriend is down the road. My son, in the Army 20+ years, gets tucked into bed when he is here with his mommy, its for me not him and the girlfriend should be there for you and your blanket. I’m Holly’s mom and she forgot to mention she made me a beautiful wildlife blanket and it keeps me warm at night. I pet it every day and I can just feel her there with every stitch. It takes lot of time to do this hard work. Love mine

      Awww. That’s so sweet. I didn’t have a picture to post so I couldn’t talk about it.

      Reply

  10. whatigotsofar
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 03:53:37

    Yes. Gay.

    You’re just jealous.

    Reply

  11. izziedarling
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 09:48:42

    Busy, busy! Your quilts are beautiful. Can knit and needleppont but sewing is beyond me. Jealous!

    Thank you. I can’t sew anything other than a straight line.

    Reply

  12. Molly Malone
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 10:56:10

    Those are beautiful! I want one!

    Well…if I ever start getting home before midnight, I’ll start making some for friends.

    Reply

  13. redriverpak
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 12:05:20

    Take it easy Server Lady! Don’t snap and kill a customer until I get back! I wanna read all about it! 🙂

    I won’t and you be careful on your trip!!

    Reply

  14. Sparty Girl
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 15:32:28

    Your stuff is always so wonderful! I wish I had half the patience. The most I can manage is the occasional Christmas tree ornament in cross-stitch.

    Thank you. It isn’t patience, it’s laziness and lack of motivation.

    Reply

  15. skippymom
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 03:44:48

    Very beautiful. I know how you feel about quilts, making them and using them. Some of my favorites [and earliest attempts] are falling apart but I still use them. [and stitch them up from time to time. :D]

    Those are the best quilts.

    My prize tho’ is the last quilt my grandmother ever made. It is called the “sick quilt” and the family is only allowed to use it when they are sick – it has “magical” powers – you feel better faster. It is coveted during cold and flu season.

    I love how quilts get a reputation. All we have is the puke bucket.

    Wonderful pics. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanks for the positive feedback.

    Reply

  16. Nycgirl
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 12:09:14

    LOL. As an actual gay, I have to say that while I completely admire your quilting – that rainbow quilt is pretty gay.

    That rainbow quilt kicks ass! I don’t know why everyone has to be such haters on rainbows. 🙂

    I can tell you didn’t take offense on the “gay” adjective and please don’t. We might be politically incorrect, but we aren’t intolerant.

    Reply

    • Nycgirl
      Sep 18, 2010 @ 13:33:45

      No offense taken at all – it’s all context and while my fellow homos don’t always agree on using “gay” that way, I say we’ve reclaimed it!!!

      Reply

  17. beckyb26
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 21:46:03

    You’re so talented. I wish I had a cool talent like that, but I’m just too lazy, uncreative and impatient. 🙂

    Thank you! I’m lazy too, which is where the “talent” comes from.

    Reply

  18. Hira Animfefte
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 20:19:36

    I love all your awesome crafting! I haven’t learned to quilt (yet!) but I’ve recently taken up knitting. OK, I learned how the year before I started dating Nelson, and while we were dating I was too busy with dating and graduate school…but now I’ve returned to it. It’s the most relaxing thing ever.

    I’m making my 6-year-old nephew a scarf. Light red and dark red (maroon) acrylic yarn (machine washable and dryable!). I did not promise by this Christmas. It will definitely be ready by Christmas 2011. I am the slowest knitter ever…even though both the yarns are really bulky….which increases my speed.

    Quilting is really easy. Find a beginner’s book, a rotary cutter, a cutting mat, and a small sewing machine. I have a Brother that I paid $80 for about 4 years ago and it works wonderfully. Most of the patterns in quilts are created by using strips…you cut your fabric, sew the strips together, cut the strips and sew the squares into a pattern. It takes far less time than you would think.

    Knitting is a great relaxer. I call it active meditation. If you make a mistake, you can pull it out and try again whereas with quilting, you have to go buy new fabric and start over. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

