Another Good Day Off

I had such a good day off today, I really don’t want to write about any restaurant happenings.  So I won’t.

I stayed up way too late last night and over-slept church and breakfast.  I had a late breakfast at around 1 pm then a friend and I did some crafty things with wine bottles.  Last year I saw a tutorial on youtube on how to make lighted wine bottles for the holidays.  I’ve wanted to do it for almost a year, so when she suggested it, I went to the hardware store and bought the supplies.  We started by practicing on beer bottles, but after two of them shattered, we decided to try the real deal.  The thicker glass was much easier to cut than the beer bottles, but the pressure needed on the drill made my arms ache.  We only finished one, but we plan to make at least 10 more for gifts.  Now that we know the thicker glass won’t shatter, it won’t take us nearly as much time as the first one.

After pizza from The Outlaw, we went to our friend’s place for games.  We played Dance Dance Revolution for about an hour before she mentioned Guitar Hero.  She had never played so I got her started on that.  Okay, first I had to call my son 3 times to tell us how to get the game started.  This is why our generation actually needs our kids…we are idiots when it comes to video games.  We played Guitar Hero until my eyes started to cross and now she’s addicted.  I probably won’t be able to get her off the couch after this, well, that is if she remembers how to start the game.  If she doesn’t, I’m not giving her my son’s phone number.

Two fun filled Sundays in a row.  Good days off make the daily grind much easier to take.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 23:42:41

    I hope you don’t have to increase your alcohol intake to provide the empty bottles! There used to be someone who lived near me who took the bottoms off wine bottles and grew geraniums out of them, it looked really nice.

    Hahaha! No, I’ve had friends save wine bottles for me for about a year. I’m not much of a wine drinker. I want to do other things with bottles. I researched some really cool ideas tonight. Now it’s just a matter of buying the right tools and staying focused long enough to use them.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 05:05:24

    I want to play some rockband but I need my little brother to help me hook up my x-box…. either that or I need a new x-box.

    Isn’t it terrible when you need a kid to show you how to operate electronic equipment?

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 05:57:46

    I hit my Guitar Hero ceiling, unfortunately. Old Carpal-Tunnel injury in both wrists and an old break get tired quickly. It’s also impossible to make the necessary contortions on the harder songs. I’m pretty sad. 😦

    I was a Guitar Hero queen about 3 years ago, but my coordination maxed out at the Hard level. My son plays at expert without breaking a sweat. My fingers won’t bend the way they need to at that level.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 13:59:46

    I adore Guitar Hero, but there are only a couple of songs I can play at the “hard” level. Partly this is because I use the game for stress relief, and want to play where I’m good at it, rather than racking up even MORE stress trying to knock myself out hitting all the tricky combos.

    I would have never guessed. It is excellent stress relief and I’m beginning to think I need my own xbox. I usually stick with the medium level because there is one combo that my fingers just can’t do and it frustrates me to no end.

    Reply

  5. izziedarling
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 15:05:44

    I wanna play! I wanna play! LOVE the bottle. Sounds like you had quite the weekend. Good!

    The games are great! I think I need to play games more often for the stress relief.

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 15:19:09

    Out of curiosity, do you find yourself more critical or appreciative of waitstaff when you go to a different restaurant?

    I am very kind to the waitstaff at other restaurants. I also tip very well. A server has to be a complete moron before I get critical.

    Reply

  7. morethananelectrician
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 17:08:00

    It is amazing how days away from the grind are important for our survival. I try to tell the construction people that want some of the guys to work seven days a week sometimes that it really isn’t very productive.

    It isn’t productive to work 7 days a week. I’m much less bitchy when I have time off.

    Reply

  8. Fuck My Table
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 23:32:32

    You would hate me; I play GH on expert. I can only complete about half of the songs on expert, though; I can do about 80-90% on hard. Medium’s a breeze.

    I forgive you because you are young. If you could play on expert at my age, I’d hate you.

    My mom still calls me to ask how to work the DVD player or the Wii I bought her for Christmas. *sigh* All she has to do is unplug one cord and insert the other. That is seriously the only thing she needs to do. No controller settings, no specific order of actions…just two cords.
    When she called and said she got an iPhone I groaned because I (correctly) predicted that she’d call me often to figure out how to use it. 🙂

    If I had my own xbox I wouldn’t have to bother my son for instructions. Maybe he’ll get tired of me calling him all the time and buy one for me.

    I’m pretty good at most electronic stuff, but I see a time in my near future where I’m going to need help.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      Sep 21, 2010 @ 13:35:50

      I applaud your ability to play on expert. I am currently better at it than my kids, but they’re not teens yet, and I had 12 years of band experience in school to draw on. They think I’m weird because I tend to laugh hysterically the first couple of times I crash and burn on a song. Then I quit before I can get frustrated. 🙂

      As for my parents, I just refer them to my brother. He’s better at electronic stuff than me, and even when I get good I will continue to play stupid for as long as I can get away with it. 😉

      Reply

  9. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 18:06:07

    Yay for good days off and fun times. 🙂

    Those bottles look cool. I used to have a glass candle holder that I could stick Christmas tree lights in and it was pretty.

    I love playing with glass. I want to do more things, like candle holders, tumblers and vases out of wine bottles. I know enough winos to keep me in stock.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

