Friendship

The as yet unnamed coworker who is driving me batshit is friends with Darren.  I must have a really screwed up idea of what friendship means.

I, too, consider Darren my friend.  There isn’t much I wouldn’t do for him and I think very highly of him.  I always do things to help and support Darren, not give him more to worry about, more work to do, or more problems to solve.  That’s what being a friend means, in my opinion.  Friends take care of one another.

For the younger generation, though, friendship means taking advantage and being taken advantage of.  More than once I’ve heard this chick say, “I can do whatever I want.  Darren won’t fire me because he’s my friend.”  Tonight Darren said, “I don’t want to fire her because she’s my friend, but…”

Twice in the last week this chick has missed her scheduled shift.  On Wednesday she didn’t know she was supposed to work and didn’t have a way to get to work, so Chetto told her to stay home.  Schedules are posted 2 weeks in advance and stay pretty much the same week to week.  Saying she didn’t know she was supposed to work was a lie.

On Sunday she called in still drunk and hung over sick.  The majority of the crew was at a party on Saturday night and everyone scheduled for Sunday managed to make it to work except for her.  Darren told her she needed to find someone to cover her shift and she said, “No one will work for me, they all hate me.”  Who’s fault is that?  Darren had to call someone and test the limits of his friendship with her to cover the little twit’s shift because, really, no one would cover for this chick.

I have to work with her again tomorrow night.  I am not looking forward to it.  Two of the last three nights we worked together have ended in a screaming match.  If I wanted to fight with someone, I’d still be married.  I like peace and harmony, but I’m not rolling over and letting this dumbass have her way.  I’d really like to horsewhip her for taking advantage of Darren, but he allows it.  I guess a few more nights of screaming at each other and she’ll either quit or I’ll be fired and life will be good.  Things always work out.

******************************

Best quote of the night:

Boy Cook Zach:  “THAT WAS THE WORST MASSAGE PARLOUR I’VE EVER BEEN TO.”

I didn’t even ask.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 05:03:34

    I wish you luck in getting this girl fired.

    She’s the type who will screw herself.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 08:07:35

    My father did not know what the term “happy ending” meant. A few years ago, when my family was meeting my brother’s then soon-to-be in-laws, my father met his soon-to-be daughter-in-law’s sister-in-law, a professional masseuse. The following is a conversation my dad had with this masseuse in a room full of people.

    Dad: So, you a masseuse? I just started going to get massages. Do you give happy endings?
    SIL: [standing there dumbfounded]
    Me: [head in hand] What the…
    Dad: So, you give happy endings or what?
    Me: Dad, shut up.

    Oh hell.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:21:29

    Wow, this one’s gotta be a strong contender for the restaurant survivor finalist, right? I mean, if missing TWO shifts doesn’t mean termination (and it does at almost any food service place I ever worked, but that was 25 years ago), nothing will unless she’s caught stealing from the register.

    Is that next? embezzlement?

    What a soap opera.

    In years past missing one shift at this time of the year meant hasta la vista, baby. The Hypocrite put in her 2 weeks notice, largely in part (I believe) because I called her out on the arm cutting. I encouraged her to get help and she freaked because she realized everyone knew what the cuts were about. She needs to stay with people who know what she’s doing, and who want to help her. I talked to her about staying and I hope she does because she’s is a reliable, hard worker unlike the stupid chick.

    Reply

  4. morethananelectrician
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 16:34:21

    “If I wanted to fight with someone, I’d still be married.”

    I think I take offense to that remark.

    My marriage was a 9 year long fight.

    Thinking about it, I have never missed a day of work. A part of that is generally having decent health, eating decently, some normal exercise…and NOT getting plastered. Responsibility sucks sometimes.

    I don’t drink if I have to work. Responsibility does suck, but some people lay the responsibility on others.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 19:38:16

    Does Darren ever ask himself what he needs a friend like that for? She’s unreliable, she lies, and she takes advantage of him.

    I hope she quits too.

    Since I’ve known Darren, he’s let women take advantage of him. It’s worse now that he’s in a position of power. Bitches.

    Reply

  6. izziedarling
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 07:11:37

    The marriage line is the best! Sounds like – as if we didn’t already know – you are working with a bunch of messed up people. The cutter – wow, she needs some help pronto. The other, the bad witch, she’ll self-destruct momentarily.

    She called in again yesterday. Seems she’s called in on every shift we work together. So sad.

    Reply

  7. Armond
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 10:04:34

    I’m reading your posts from newest to oldest like a dumb ass… what happend to this chick?

    Unfortunately, she is still employed, still a pain in the ass and now has added stirring the drama pot to her list of undesirable traits. I really wish she would go away.

    Reply

  8. Katy
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 22:01:10

    You know what? I’ve worked at restaurants for over 13 years, and one day I was the opening manager, and I was hungover, like always. Well somehow I mentioned it to the owner and he was really super nice and empathetic about it. I was like, seriously dude? I am hungover almost EVERY MORNING I WORK. Not so much these days, but in my early twenties, man…
    I was always on time, I always showered and I always had a smile on my face. I have absolutely no sympathy for people who call in “sick” on weekend mornings. No way dude.

    If you can’t run with the big dogs, you should stay on the porch is my feeling.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

