Defending My Honour

Yesterday Boy Cook Zach, who is also Supervisor Zach, asked me to deck scrub a section of the dining room.  I filled the mop bucket with water, got out the dry detergent and the deck scrub brush and pushed them out into the dining room.  The Mexicans were sitting at the employee table and Pablo asked me to sit on his lap.  I refused.

Right after that Zach called me for a food order, so when I went to the window to pick it up, I asked in my best whiney voice, “Pablo just asked me to sit on his lap.  Do you think he will deck scrub for me if I do?”

Zach was rather offended and stomped out of the kitchen and to the employee table just in time to see Pablo pat his lap and ask me to sit down again.  The fight was on.  Zach told the Mexicans to either get to work or go home.  They went home. 

It really screwed us to be short 2 dishwashers, but on the other hand, the sexual harassment was getting pretty old.  Apparently, they quit because they didn’t show up again tonight.  Oh well, their season was over in a few days anyway.

I thought it was sweet for Zach to defend my honour like that.  Little does he know, it’s been gone a long time.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 04:36:29

    How did you thank Zach?

    I teased him for being protective.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 05:04:38

    Wow they just went home and never came back?

    Yep. They have worked at the restaurant every summer for 4 years. I didn’t expect it of them.

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 05:34:22

    Sexual harassment must have been very, very important to the Mexicans.

    I guess so. I would think a job would be more important especially since the sexual harassment never paid off.

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 06:58:25

    My cooks used to grab my ass in front of my boss who one day reemed them and they would hug walls any time they walked by me after that…why it’s okay in restaurants is beyond me!

    I’ve worked in places where walking into the kitchen meant running the gauntlet of handsey cooks, and servers were lucky to get out of the kitchen with their clothes on. This isn’t that type of place. Some of us are very huggy since we’ve been together for so long and we hang out together after work. It’s more of a friendship thing.

    Reply

  5. Vodka and Ground Beef
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 08:36:09

    I enjoy some innocent sexual harassment every now and then, like the time the librarian told me my breasts were perky.

    The difference between sexual harassment and flirting is whether you like it or not.

    Love this last line:
    “I thought it was sweet for Zach to defend my honour like that. Little does he know, it’s been gone a long time.”

    Boy Cook Zach is sweet.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 11:04:41

    Oh, I can TOTALLY see how I’d quit if not allowed to continue sexually harassing someone. *eyeroll* Good riddance to bad rubbish anyway, I say.

    They got worse every summer and I’m glad Zach put a stop to it. I’m just surprised they would quit. Money’s better than ass you’re not getting any day.

    That last line? Copy and paste it into a document you keep for great lines to put in your novel. That’s a keeper.

    Thank you.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 21:44:32

    They just up and quit? Wow! That’s pretty intense! I mean really, what’s worth that? Crazy.

    Especially since the sexual harassment was NEVER going to pay off.

    When I was working at my very 1st job, there was a restaurant down the block from us. They cooks and bus boys got off at the same time I did, and would follow me home at 11 at night, making really perverted cracks and gestures. I tell you, it made walking around at night when you’re 16 kinda scary!

    What a bunch of assholes. Our employees, except the Mexicans, are respectful of women.

    Reply

  8. Ahmnodt Heare
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 09:10:18

    The culture in Mexico is different. For example: The deal the U.S. media made over what Ines Sains wore trying to get an interview with Mark Sanchez of the New York Jets is something that wouldn’t be an issue in Mexico. Women who host children’s shows often wear similar attire in Mexico.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

