My Newest Pet Peeve

I’ve noticed something in the last couple of weeks that’s really annoying me.  Here’s the scenario:

I have two people at a table.  When I serve the first person, the man (it’s ALWAYS the man) indicates where I should serve the other food. 

Am I retarded?

Two people, two plates.  I think I can figure it out.

And it’s not merely a casual gesture towards the other person or the man himself.  It involves the man frantically patting the table in front of him, like a child, or jabbing a finger at the other person, like he’s directing traffic.

What’s worse is when the couple orders two different things and the man starts patting and jabbing the wrong food to the wrong person, and will even start arguing with me about who gets what while the food is still hovering over the table. 

Listen, fucker.  I do this for a living.  I don’t need your help.  If you think you can do my job, why don’t you don an apron and give it a go?  Maybe then you’ll figure out what an annoying douchbag you are.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Molly Malone
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 15:45:26

    Hahahahaa! I remember that… idiots…

    Fuckers.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 15:46:39

    The “frantically” part is killing me! LOLOL Do they think they’re going to miss a meal if you accidentally put the plate down in front of the wrong person or something?

    I think they think I’m too stupid to figure out where the food goes.

    I used to get the same thing when I was a teen. A mom would come in with 4 or 5 kids, and they’d all want a different flavor. So mom would start with kid A and what he wanted, and kid D would start freaking out, “NOOOO! That’s not what I want!” like the mom was messing up his order or something, when she just hadn’t gotten that far down on her list yet. Of course, these were kids under 6ish and not grown men. 😀

    Kids are one thing, grown men are another. Assholes.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 04:51:26

    I just prefer to say “Get that hippy salad away from me” should the server accidently swing it anywhere near me.

    Salad is for pussies.

    Reply

  4. M.T.
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 21:30:43

    Assholes tend to think that people doing customer service work are slow and need help. That’s all I can figure. And who cares anyway? I’ve had servers sit the wrong plates down in front of me before. I just trade it for the plate that’s mine once the server leaves. Not a big deal.

    Yeah. As long as the food is on the table, I’m happy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

