When It Rains, It Pours

Men, that is. 

Most days I plod through my life, never taking notice of those around me.  I’m in my mid-40s, I’m not looking for romance and most of the time I just want to go to work and go home where I’m a hermit with my dogs.

But sometimes things change.

Sometimes someone forces me to take notice.  And it seems that once I notice them, I also become aware of others.

Maybe it’s the goofy grin I’ve been wearing lately. 

Maybe it’s the extra 5 minutes I spend on my make up.

Maybe it’s all about the pheromones.

Hell if I know.

One thing is for certain:  the night guy at the convenience store where I get gas gave me his phone number tonight.

WTF?!  I mean, really.

Don’t get me wrong, he’s cute and I’d probably go out on a date with him, but I’m not a multi-tasker. 

I’m a slow thinker when it comes to men.  I like to ride one train to the end of the line, derail it, and beat that dead iron horse for a while.  How else do you build up a good resentment for the opposite sex?

Taking a trip on two trains is tiring, to say the least.  All of that baggage shuffling, repositioning, and dealing with new passengers can be annoying.  I much prefer to stay on the original train.

Until it derails in a flaming cloud of recriminations and animosity.  I hate that shit.

But what if the second train has better seating, costs less, and is smoother to ride?  

What then?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 04:56:04

    I didn’t know you were riding a train.

    Just started about a month ago.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 11:18:16

    Yellowcat, I think it’s time to tell Bob about us.

    hehehe

    If you lived closer, you’d be in my train station.

    hehehe

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 14:37:13

    I’m with Bob. Didn’t know there was a first train. In that case I agree with the pheromone theory.

    I think you met the first train when you were here. He’s from the same state as you.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 17:05:09

    I really have no idea what you’re talking about, but I don’t know why there can’t be two trains. They don’t both go to the same destination, do they? Are we talking about a euphemism for sex?

    Um…yes.

    Maybe I’ll stay quiet and just work on my book. That’s probably best.

    Yes, things might get a little embarrassing.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 20:02:18

    I say go for a spin. You haven’t bought a ticket or anything, right? Live dangerously. 😉 And smile while you’re doing it. It makes people wonder what you’ve been up to.

    No, I haven’t bought a ticket. I feel dishonest if I’m having fun with two different guys. That’s why I suck at dating.

    Reply

  6. Jamie
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 22:00:35

    I say give both a fuc- I mean go. Why the hell not? You can switch back and forth–YOU DESERVE IT 😉 Lover you!

    But…that’s wrong. Isn’t it?

    Reply

  7. whatigotsofar
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 05:42:47

    And by the way, I was thinking about this. the whole train metaphor. Kinda sounds like you’re using heroin.

    No drugs for me. I have enough trouble managing my life, I can’t imagine what I’d be like if I was strung out.

    Reply

  8. izziedarling
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 07:03:06

    Love the train metaphor – couldn’t have said it better myself. I do go ADD re: dating but when I get on the train, only have one other passenger. That’s just me. So happy you are throwing out those pheromones – it only happens when you aren’t aware of it. Have fun, nevermind, think you already are!

    It’s fun until somebody loses an eye.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

