One Question

WHAT IS WITH ALL THE $2 TIPS? 

A $2 tip on a $30 ticket is not cool. 

A $2 tip on a $40 ticket is horseshit.

I don’t want your verbal tips:  “Everything was excellent.”  “Our whole dining experience was great.”  “You were a lovely server.”

Put your money where your mouth is and tip for the excellence, greatness and loveliness.  Verbal tips don’t pay the bills, nor do they build my self esteem.  When the first of the month comes around and I can’t pay my bills, my self esteem takes a hit that no verbal tip can salvage.

Do you think I can tell the electric company their service was lovely and pay 10% of my bill?  No, I cannot.

If you can’t afford to tip, you can’t afford to eat out.  If you can’t figure the tip, invest in a calculator or use the one on your damned cell phone.

Bastards.

Click here for an eye opening post on the working conditions of a server.  As I say, don’t judge me until you’ve walked a mile in my Crocs.

/rant

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 00:35:07

    Many of those examples are also part of the contract worker’s life. Now that I think about it, contract employees really are like the servers of the corporate environment in a lot of ways.

    I know nothing about contract employees, but if a corporation can use workers without paying benefits, they will.

    I’m sorry you got stiffed on tips. People won’t give up dining out, or cutting back on how much they order, but they will stiff the server, because they’re thoughtless like that. If they don’t watch it, gratuities will be automatically added to all tickets and customers won’t be happy about that at all.

    I wish we had added gratuity. People who are going to tip more will and those who were going to tip less won’t be able to. I think we are the only restaurant in Cody that doesn’t have an added gratuity.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 04:38:02

    If I am in a restaurant that adds the gratuity automatically to a table with 4 or less people than I never tip more. I feel it is insulting to me that you feel you need to charge me for the tip. It also allows the server to do a shit job.

    Added gratuity is usually on parties of 6 or more because they are lots of work and are typically cheap bastards. Some waitresses might take advantage of the auto-grat, but if I’m guaranteed a decent tip, I’m going to give great service. I find it depressing when I bust my ass for a large party only to get 5-10%.

    Reply

    • Fuck My Table
      Oct 06, 2010 @ 08:29:13

      If you got bad service you can always take it up with a manager. If we get a bad tip, we can’t do a thing about it even if we gave good service. I’d rather add gratuity to every ticket and never get “extra” than risk getting stiffed on those same tickets.

      Ditto.

      Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 10:36:59

    I will judge you without walking a mile in your crocs because you wear crocs and I hate crocs. I hate them with all the passion of hatred I can muster.
    Other than that, you’re cool. I just really hate crocs.

    But they are so comfortable. They are ugly as sin, but my back and feet don’t hurt after being on them for hours.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 12:56:40

    This is a tough one for me. As a customer, it’s not MY fault the restaurant puts you between me and the person responsible for the bad experience (if that’s not you), either. The only way I have to express my displeasure is to pay the amount of my bill and manipulate the tip.

    Some say I can go to the manager, and I’ve seen times when the manager gave me thoughtful nods, a concerned face, and said he’d take care of it. The next time I go back the server I complained about is still doing the same things I complained about and I never received compensation of any kind. Like a customer service call center where the “supervisor” is the person working in the next cube, nothing is done and I may as well have complained to the wall. No, servers aren’t fired because one customer is unhappy, but here I am with NO recourse at all.

    If you are complaining about the server, then steps should be taken. If you are complaining, it’s likely others are too. However, I’m talking about things out of my control–the quality of the food, how fast the food is prepared, a full bar versus beer and wine only, Pepsi not Coke, sharing the salad bar–that people punish me for. It’s not right that I make less based on the kitchen or what my employer stocks or will allow people to do.

    That’s not fair either. I didn’t set up the game anymore than anyone else did. Why do I have to capitulate to the demands and expectations of the server? I’m the client, which represents profit, the server is the overhead, and I should have SOME way of evening things up.

    On the other hand from all that, I’ve BEEN the abused, unappreciated one who was kicked unceremoniously to the curb at the first opportunity. I’m the first one ushered out the door when the job’s finished; no one seems to notice what I do or care that if the regular employees get a wild hair about something I can be victimized without consequence, explanation or chance at defense. Even if some joke show is made of offering me a chance to explain things from my perspective (which the server will NEVER get with their clients), it’s just that: A show. Nothing ever comes of it.

    The customer is always right. The overhead is wrong. I was recently hauled into the office because ‘our blonde, curly haired waitress was rude so we left’. I haven’t had a table walk out in years and I’m not the only ‘blonde, curly haired waitress’ at the restaurant. Turns out it was Trauma Queen’s table, yet I got yelled at and she didn’t.

    And so, I can appreciate the plight of the hapless server with no benefits, health insurance, or even guaranteed wages. I can, and I see how wrong it is to avoid tipping or seek reasons to do so.

    When the food is bad, that’s not the server’s fault, and I won’t punish them for that. The only thing they are directly responsible for is their treatment of ME, and unless they’re rude, I tend to offer 20% of the tab (plus change to round up to the nearest dollar). That’s me.

    Hm. I think I drifted off topic. Sorry!

    And I’m really sorry you had a bad run of tips. That sucks.

    I don’t know if Tuesday is Tip $2 Day or what, but that’s what happens every week.

    Reply

  5. izziedarling
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 13:00:10

    You know,Yellowcat, I figure if I am being served, a decent (20% tip)is just a given. I agree, don’t go out if you can’t afford it. And even if you do and can’t afford it (me) you’d best be prepared to leave a nice tip (unforeseen circumstances excluded).

    When the kids were little and we wanted to go out, the tip was figured in to the cost of the meal. If I couldn’t afford the extra for the tip, we went somewhere that a tip wasn’t expected–fast food.

    Reply

  6. Molly Malone
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 13:15:46

    Amen sister. I always leave at least 20%. To get 15% from me you would have had to be a moron. I don’t get people sometimes…

    I always over tip. I’ve never had a rude waitress, but then I don’t act like a jackass when I walk in.

    Reply

  7. Hira Animfefte
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 19:21:22

    Repeat after me, everyone: expected tip is 20%. If you cannot tip 20%, do not go out to eat at a restaurant where you have to tip. Go to your local fast food joint instead. Or go to the grocery store and buy a frozen pizza. It’s really not hard, universe.

    Honestly, people!

    I feel your pain, yellowcat. I have worked retail. I may yet work retail again. The drill is the same. Bow and scrape, customer is always right, while being pissed off at customer’s rudeness. I like how you deal with the rude ones, though. You have mad skillz. 🙂 I want to learn how you do it!

    I don’t know if I deal with it that well. Once every 3 months or so I get called on the carpet for being rude to someone. The funny thing is, it’s usually someone I wasn’t rude to. Go figure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

