One Thing I Find Annoying

Don’t misunderstand me, I don’t find just one thing annoying, nor am I annoyed by just one thing at the moment.  I have a list of annoying things.  It goes on for pages.  However, I am going to write about only one annoying thing.

That thing is co-workers who cause trouble.

We have enough trouble.  We are a bunch of women who have their periods at the same time.  That means we all rage out, then get weepy every month.  Personalities clash, people are on edge, problems follow.  Add in a bunch of asshole customers and it’s a wonder there isn’t frequent police intervention.

So, with all of that, why is there one co-worker who consistently causes trouble?  Someone who blows everything out of proportion, starts rumours, creates resentment, backstabs, and bitches about everything.  I would expect this out of a twenty something year old dimwit, but this co-worker is old enough to be my mother.  She’s Old Enough to Know Better.

The majority of the problems I had with LMKIA were caused by OEtKB.  She stirred the pot of hostility and resentment on a daily basis.  My stress level was insane.  Most days OEtKB met me at the door and started spewing half truths, rumours and outright lies about LMKIA.  For a while I seriously thought I was going to lose my mind.  Then summer came, OEtKB worked days, I worked nights and LMKIA turned into Dani.  Funny thing, with OEtKB out of the picture, Dani and I became friends and now we have good times at work.  We even hang out after work.  Shocking, huh?!

OEtKB makes snide comments about our friendship and today I got hauled into the office because, “Dani and Glory think they are head waitresses the way they boss everyone around.”

Whatever.

I don’t boss people around.  I don’t get paid enough to care what other people are doing.  If someone isn’t doing what they should, I tell Darren and he can take care of it.  He gets paid to tell people what to do.

So I enlightened Darren with all the waitresses he’s slept with, according to OEtKB.  He wasn’t impressed.  

I figure I caught her wrath when Amber and I were talking about men on Saturday night and OEtKB jumped to the conclusion I was talking about Darren.  I wasn’t.

Jealousy and bitterness are not attractive at any age.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatigotsofar
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 06:04:17

    Wait a minute… You’re annoyed by trouble-making co-workers. I never would have thought that about you. I thought you loved each and everyone of your co-workers.

    I like the majority of my coworkers, but there are a few I could do without.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 07:22:30

    I am surprised we have never heard about OEtKB before.

    Eh, I never felt like writing about her until now.

    Reply

  3. Ahmnodt Heare
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 07:41:08

    LMKIA and OEtKB sound like medical conditions that could be relieved by taking some Fukitol.

    I was running low on Fukitol last night. I plan to pick some up soon.

    Reply

  4. izziedarling
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 12:06:03

    Get more than three women in a group and there will be a pot stirrer. I HATE this; the stirrer wants to drag everyone down to her miserable level. And no, jealousy and bitterness are never a good look.

    Most of us get along. We work and play together. We know each other’s secrets and some of us have blackmail pictures. I’m hoping retirement is in OEtKB’s immediate future.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 12:23:26

    I want a job where you work so I can stir the pot. I’m OEtKB too, and TOtGaS (Too Old to Give a … well, you get it), but watching all the others who should be TOtGaS react would be fun.

    There’s never a dull moment, that’s for sure. It’s just sad that the person who needs to grow up is the oldest one of the group.

    Reply

  6. skippymom
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 14:20:08

    It’s high school – just on a older scale. Sorry it is still that way. Would drive me bananas.

    It is high school, but I don’t expect it out of the older women.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 21:47:09

    Awww, the poor thing! She’s just lonely!

    I’m sure she is, but she could get some action if she wanted to.

    Okay, gagging over. I knew a girl like that way back when I was in my teens. They never stop, never grow up, never get over it. And they always have an excuse for why they do what they do. They love dissension and wreaking havoc wherever they go. I’m sorry you have one there. There seems to be much truth in the statement, “There’s one in every crowd.”

    It is so much nicer when everyone gets along. Why can’t it be that way?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

