What I Did on My Time Off

My friend Michele, from The Bronx, got here in September and we had more fun than should be allowed.

We spent a day in Yellowstone Park.  Even though I live a stone’s throw from the Park, it had been years since I visited.  The two highlights of our trip were seeing a grizzly bear in a meadow, and a buffalo in a standoff with a tiny sports car.

Norris Geyser Basin

The Last Soldiers

Mammoth Hot Springs is happy to see me!

Mammoth Hot Springs

I have a billion pictures of Mammoth Hot Springs because Michele wanted to walk to the top.  I had to keep stopping in order to keep my lungs in my chest so I used the photo op excuse.  Imagine my surprise when we got to the top and found a freaking parking lot full of cars.  Obviously, we missed the turn off for the Scenic Area.  Doh!

Every morning started with food at Michele’s house.  She made swiss mushroom Quiche, breakfast burritos, strawberry pancakes, apple pancakes, sweet potato pancakes, and plain old eggs and pepper bacon.  I would show up with one eye open and there would be good coffee and food in front of me.  Talk about being spoiled.

Dinners were just as good:  pork fajitas, Mexican meatloaf, angel hair pasta with fresh made pesto, fried green tomatoes, homemade salsa, and chicken burritos.  All that great food should have made me fatter, but I actually lost weight.  Maybe because Michele is something of a slave driver…

My yard was a disaster.  I had a huge trash pile in my yard in addition to mountains of dog crap and clutter.  It took three days, but we cleaned all of it up and hauled it away to the Dumpster.  I’m basically lazy and Michele lit a fire under me.  My yard looks so nice now.

She was also with me during the Great Washing Machine Breakdown.  My washer started making a funny noise one night, then it stopped working all together.  I thought I could fix it, but I couldn’t.  I was one second away from having a complete mental breakdown and setting my house on fire.  I bought a refurbished washer and Michele helped me move the old one out and put the new one in before I jumped off the bridge.  

On my nights off, we went to our friend Lee’s place and played Dance, Dance Revolution, pool, pinball and Guitar Hero.  We spent a few days at the lake playing with the dogs and picking up driftwood for the fire pit.  Some days we sat in the lawn chairs at her house and watched the planes fly by.  Those were the relaxing days when the stress melted away.  

Michele also helped me put together the quilt I made for Boy Cook Jarrod.  The quilt top is easy, putting it together with the batting and the backing is a bitch.  We used Lee’s pool table to lay it out and pin it and really, every quilter should have a pool table.  The quilt started out as a joke.  I had lots of Halloween fabric and I went with a basic pattern I could complete quickly.  The end result was fabulous and I really hated to give it away.

Boy Cook Jarrod's Happy Halloween

I also finished Buffy, the Vampire Slayer and I have to say, I was very impressed with the series.  It has to be one of the best things I’ve watched on TV.

Michele left for home on Tuesday and I’ve been very sad since.  The people I work with were tired of hearing how much fun we had and what good food I ate, and now they are tired of me whining about her leaving.  She won’t be back for 10 months, so they better get used to the complaining.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 10:48:58

    I’m so glad you had fun. So she spends a few months in WY and then goes back to NYC? Is that what’s going on? You mentioned her house before Yellowstone is what prompts the question.

    Yes, she lives in NYC and owns a house in Meeteetse. She comes out here every year for 2 months.

    Well, I’m sorry your bud is gone, but just think of all the fun things you can plan for the next time she comes. 🙂

    A friend and I are hoping to visit her in March. I’ve never been to NYC so that will be fun.

    Reply

  2. Anton
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 12:02:17

    That quilt looks really cool!

    I was so pleased with how it turned out. It was really hard to give it away.

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 15:48:44

    I’m glad you had a good time. It sounds like an absolute blast. I just have to know one thing: what does “watch the planes go over” really mean? After all, you’re a long way from even the regional airport, which doesn’t exactly do landoffice business…

    We must be on some flight path because there are quite a few jets that fly over. Maybe they are going to Salt Lake City. I don’t know where they are going, but it’s fun to watch them.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 15:49:34

    That quilt is just fabulous!!!!!!!!!!

    Isn’t it fun??! It fits a queen size bed.

    Reply

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 16:52:41

    So glad you had a great time! Sounds like a great friend!

    We had a mutual friend who wouldn’t let us be friends. After kicking the mutual friend to the curb, this was the first year we really hung out and we had a ton of fun. Way more than I ever had with the mutual friend.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 22:37:30

    Now that’s what I’m talking about! Everyone should have a friend like that!

    Sounds like a total blast. 🙂 Does Michele need friends in Chicago? 😉

    NO! You can’t have her!

    Glad you had fun, hon. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

