How Hard Is It?

I don’t know what was up with Boy Cook Jarrod tonight, but I was one poorly cooked steak away from punching him in the head.

My first table was a group of 4 who eat at the restaurant frequently.  I know they are poor tippers, but they are friendly and funny, so I did a little groaning in the waitstation before I went out to take their order.  One woman ordered a Top Sirloin, medium well (“no blood on the plate!”) and another woman ordered a New York, medium rare (“I like blood on the plate, but my steak always comes out medium well”). 

BC Jarrod was on the charbroiler and the steaks came out perfect…except they were backwards.  The New York was medium well and the Top Sirloin was medium rare.  I joked with the table about switching the steaks, but that didn’t work so I returned the steaks, explained the problem and went out to take care of another table.  Less than 5 minutes passed before he threw the steaks up in the window and bellowed, “Glory!  Recall!”

Cooks copping attitude when they have clearly cooked a steak wrong pisses me off to no end.  For one thing, my tip just took a hit and for another, I now have to deal with a table who’s not happy.  I DO NOT need attitude from a cook.

This is NOT medium rare.

I returned the steaks to the table and the medium well steak was almost medium and the medium rare steak was flat out raw.  When the woman cut into it and I smelled the raw beef I nearly barfed on the table.  I hate the smell of raw meat more than anything. 

Once again, I plated the steaks and took them back to the kitchen, but I went over BC Jarrod’s head straight to Chetto.  Before Chetto could get out of the kitchen, BC Zach walked by and since he’s the new shift supervisor I dropped the problem in his lap.  I finished the explanation with, “I don’t want any attitude, and I don’t want to bring these steaks back again!”

The third time was perfect.  The two women loved their steaks and everyone was happy.  However, after I dropped their checks I heard one woman ask, “You’re going to tip her after all that?”  The other woman said, “It wasn’t her fault and she was happy to fix it for us, so yeah, I’m going to tip her.”  The first woman said she wasn’t tipping because the meal was ruined. 

Great.  I knew they wouldn’t tip much, but this time of year every little bit helps.

I was a little steamed by the whole deal, but I shook it off.  Everybody has an off night.  Then one guy at my 6 top waved me over and asked if I could take his prime rib back and get it cooked medium, like he asked. 

Three steaks ordered; three steaks cooked wrong.

That’s when Glory got a little hostile.  I don’t remember what I said, but BC Jarrod pitched a fit about getting off the charbroiler and Chetto asked if he was going to cry.  I thought a fight might break out, but really, if it got my steaks cooked correctly I didn’t care.

Later I heard BC Jarrod ask BC Zach, “Why does she have to be that way?”

BC Zach said, “I don’t know.  I guess that’s the way God made her.”

No…cooks who fuck up my food make me that way.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vodka and Ground Beef
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 13:44:02

    “Later I heard BC Jarrod ask BC Zach, “Why does she have to be that way?”

    BC Zach said, “I don’t know. I guess that’s the way God made her.”

    No…cooks who fuck up my food make me that way.”

    This is very deep, very philosophical.

    It’s almost Zen, isn’t it.

    i like that those people still tipped you (even though it sounds like they should have tipped you more) because they were smart enough to know it WASN’T your fault that the steaks were jiggity jacked up all those times. Do customers think you cooked the food or what??

    Yes. Most of the time they think I cook the food even though they can see a bunch of guys in the kitchen. People are dumbasses.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 13:46:16

    Having a steak cooked the way you like it is kind of important to restaurant customers, especially since most can’t get it that way at home.

    What was BCJ’s problem, did he ever say?

    I didn’t care, so I didn’t ask.

    Reply

  3. Cindy
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 15:58:27

    You need to take that very cool quilt back if this is how he’s going to behave. It’s his job to cook the steak right, not yours. Sometimes I think they should send the cooks out front so they can get crap for their shoddy work instead of the servers having to deal with it.

    The quilt has boy cooties now so I don’t want it.

    I think the cooks should always have to go out and answer for any crappy food that is served. I’ll bet they would do a much better job if they were accountable.

    Reply

    • Fuck My Table
      Oct 30, 2010 @ 23:20:54

      If only…

      Because if the cooks want to be lazy, there’s nothing the servers can do about it. For instance, today I hollered a dozen times for queso, calling each cook by name in an attempt to get some movement. Nope. I finally had a manager bitch at them to get it. And my table was mad about waiting for the queso. Judging from my tip, they assumed it was my fault. Never mind the people who actually cook the food; it’s always the server’s fault.

      We used to have two cooks who felt that talking about playing paintball was waaay more important than anything a server asked for. I could not get the side dishes for two combo meals one night so the customer got up and screamed at the cooks through the window. It was hilarious.

      Reply

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 21:08:00

    I gotta start remembering to have a tub of popcorn when I read your posts because they are better than any movie I might watch! 🙂

    Maybe you should bring your tub of popcorn to the restaurant. And remember to bring enough to share.

    Reply

  5. Fuck My Table
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 22:00:26

    I had this problem with 2 rare steaks one night. It came out well done twice and I finally YELLED at the cooks. I never, EVER yell at the cooks. They got it right, finally. I feel your pain. Ugh!

    I can’t yell at the cooks because the food window is right in the middle of the restaurant. They do know that if I go to the back of the kitchen they are all in deep shit.

    Reply

  6. izziedarling
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 13:17:51

    Don’t most people know you aren’t cooking the food? Sheesh – I think I need to come up there and … well, let me think about it. Loved your post about your friend and all the fun you had. 🙂

    Most people think I’m responsible for everything in the restaurant, but yet they pay me like I’m responsible for nothing. “Here’s a dollar for all your hard work. We really appreciated the service.”

    Yeah. Thanks.

    Reply

  7. wigsf
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 13:34:09

    Making a steak is a hard thing to do. That’s why I’m not that picky about how my steak is prepared.

    It isn’t hard. Someone who cooks steaks can tell by the feel of the steak or they can cheat and make a small cut in it. I realize he needs practice, but not on my food.

    Reply

  8. Jamie
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 17:41:56

    ha ha ha oh i already miss you guys!

    Not as much as we miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

