Watch Your Step!

Back when they built the restaurant, the front door opened directly into the lobby where the cashier would freeze to death in the winter.  After a few years, they added a small entry way with another set of double doors to keep the chill out.  The threshold on the original set of doors gives us much entertainment.

For some reason, people can pick up their feet and make it over the first threshold, but they drag their feet and stumble on the second threshold.  We all giggle a little as people come tripping into the restaurant, but the guy on Saturday night had us all bent over laughing ourselves silly.

First, a young girl came in right behind a guy picking up a to go order.  We thought she was with him, but then an older boy came in, then a woman.  Cora and I stood by the food window waiting to see how many more people were staggering in when…

THUNK!

The guy didn’t pick up his feet and he kicked the threshold and lost his balance.

THUNK!

We need this sign, but where's the fun in that.

He hit the threshold with his other foot and I thought he was going down.  It would have been an amazing face plant, too.  His knees buckled and his face was zooming towards the floor as he frantically flailed his arms.  Luckily, one of his arms snagged his sturdy little daughter and before he could drag her to the ground, she managed to right herself and him.

Cora and I turned and hightailed it into the waitstation where we bent over and silently laughed our asses off.  Poor Steph was stuck waiting on the guy with the to go order and couldn’t get away.  The best she could do was not make eye contact.  Cora got herself under control and went out to seat them while I stood in the waitstation and giggled until my sides ached.  When Anna came into the waitstation, I told her the story and she laughed until tears ran down her face.

Of course, Cora put the family in my section.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 17:38:32

    …and when you asked if they wanted a drink they stared blankly at you until you walked away…? lol.

    Pretty much. I know my face was contorted into a grimace to keep from laughing.

    Reply

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 19:51:12

    You’re a strong woman. I would have busted out laughing…loudly! 🙂

    It killed me not to. I might have separated a rib.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 22:05:28

    I’m glad you weren’t here when I slipped and fell on my knee! I’m sure I flailed like a madwoman too, LOL. 🙂

    I would never laugh at you. 😦

    Hope the guy was okay and glad you had some laughs at work. 🙂

    The only thing hurt was his pride. The only person who routinely falls down in the restaurant is me.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 23:16:59

    Nice to have the occasional laugh when no one gets hurt. Mostly it’s still funny but people don’t scowl at you as much and recognize your heartlessness. Like I care.

    I get pretty upset if someone gets hurt…usually because I have to clean up the blood and debris from the medics. Luckily, that hasn’t happened in a long time.

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 05:32:56

    Nobody watches where they go anymore these days, do they?

    I’m not better though.

    I’ll bet he picks up his feet the next time he comes in.

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 13:33:00

    Wigsf is correct. People don’t watch where they are going. People will ignore the sign while tweeting they are at the restaurant.

    You need a better sign than that anyway. That sign looks like there is a small piece of turd on the floor.

    It kind of does, doesn’t it. I like the signs against diving into the shallow end of the pool. They show a guy head first in the pool with blood coming out his head. I get the giggles every time I see one. Maybe we could have a sign with someone face down on the floor, ass in the air with blood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

