Cleaning Schedule

We have a weekly cleaning schedule hanging in the waitstation.  It has chores which we have to do every week along with chores we should do if we’re not busy…the ‘if you have time to lean, you have time to clean’ variety of chores.  The things we have to do each week are all about keeping the restaurant clean for guests:  clean out the caddies, switch out the salt & pepper shakers, dust, deck scrub, wash windows.  Not a big deal since we can do these things as a team effort and talk while we’re doing it.

Last night I happened to look at the cleaning schedule for Wednesday.  I don’t know how I’ve never noticed this item and I wonder if Pill Poppin’ Supervisor decided to write a new list.  Pill Poppin’ Supervisor is very concerned that everyone works every second they are on the clock while he takes 20 to 30 minutes breaks 3 to 4 times a shift.  He wonders why no one respects him.

Do I look like a fucking maid?

Anyway, the item that caught my eye was:  Scrub the tile in the restrooms down to the floor.

All I can ask of the person who came up with that gem is, are you fucking high?  Seriously.  I want to know because I want whatever you’re on.

The tile in the restrooms is four feet high and all the way around the walls.  It would take all freaking day to accomplish that task.  For two dollars and fifty cents an hour no less.  Talk about slave labour.  I wouldn’t do that shit at my own house for $2.50 an hour.  If I wanted to be a cleaning lady I could start my own business and scrub bathroom tile for a whole lot more than $2.50 an hour. 

Then when a table comes in, they get a server who has been cleaning the restroom walls down to the floor.  A server who is sweaty, germ ridden, filthy, and smelly handles their food.  Sounds appetizing, doesn’t it.  Y’all come back now, ya hear.

I work for a fucking brain trust.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 16:22:50

    Yuck. If it were me, I’d just spritz it with cleaner, let it drip to the floor, then mop. I wouldn’t wipe the walls. Heck, I still have to clean the walls in my own bathroom from when we smoked!

    Hahaha! Perfect idea!

    Reply

  2. Ahmnodt Heare
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 17:36:25

    $2.50/hour… Something has to be done about that, especially during times you’re working doing stuff beside waiting on tables. I would ask for a tip from your boss.

    I agree. It’s bad enough servers make a fraction of minimum wage during slow times, but to then expect them to do menial labour is ridiculous. If I was being paid what everyone else in the restaurant is, I wouldn’t have a problem scrubbing walls.

    Reply

  3. workingtechmom
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 19:34:47

    Crazy people. That’s all I can think of.

    Crazy people shouldn’t be in charge.

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 19:50:26

    I don’t like to scrub tile either, but maybe that’s why I have mushrooms growing in my shower! In CA waitresses make minimum wage + tips…you should consider a change! 🙂

    I’m a horrible housekeeper so I shudder to think what would be growing in my shower if I moved to CA. I can get away with my slovenly ways here since we don’t have bugs or humidity.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 20:09:22

    I don’t understand — and never have — why servers don’t fight for their human rights and get minimum wage. If a few restaurants go under because they have to pay, well, they shouldn’t have been cutting it so close to begin with.

    In all honesty, I never make minimum wage and we are expected to clean only when we aren’t busy. However, when we aren’t busy, I’m making $2.50 an hour and if I’m scrubbing crap off walls I’m basically working for free. Never mind that as soon as we get busy, I’m making more than anyone in the restaurant, it’s that hour of menial labour for next to nothing that irks me. Yeah, it all averages out in the end, but not when you’re the one doing the scrubbing.

    And you’re preaching to the choir on bathroom stuff. When I worked for Burger King back when I was in high school, they used to ask us to clean out the clogged toilets for minimum wage. And it was only about a buck more than you’re making, WITHOUT tips. You know what plumbers make? It ain’t $3.50/hour, I can tell you that.

    Other people’s dookie. Yum.

    I make the managers plunge the toilets or they can get a plumber to come in and do it. I am not having crap splash all over me and then go serve someone their food. Also, the next time someone craps in a booth or on the floor, Pill Poppin’ Supervisor is cleaning it up. He wants to ride my ass on meaningless issues, he can take over the nasty chores I routinely do.

    Reply

  6. Fuck My Table
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 20:56:27

    I don’t mind doing simple things like cleaning up the passout, sweeping floors, cleaning sugar caddies and the shakers during slow spells…but scrubbing the bathroom tiles? You’ve got to be kidding. If they want to clock me in as a busboy and tip me out, too…well, then I might be willing to do it. I’m not scrubbing shit down for $2.13 an hour.

    Me neither. They can either pay me what they pay the back of the house or they can kiss my happy white ass.

    Reply

  7. Vodka and Ground Beef
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 23:11:07

    “Scrub the tile in the restrooms down to the floor.”

    Wow. And your last paragraph made me laugh and feel sick.

    Yeah, the brain trust just doesn’t get it.

    Reply

  8. wigsf
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 05:53:05

    They’re tiles. Mop ’em.

    HAHAHAHA! I’d probably use the filthy kitchen mop just for spite.

    Reply

  9. leaner
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 01:03:27

    Spray some cleaner on the walls then dump the rest of it in the toilet. Janitors and professional cleaning people get paid good money–you shouldn’t do their job for free. So by dumping all the cleaner, you’ll be costing them.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

    I would have to do something with the cleaner, huh? I didn’t really think of that. This is why I value my readers…I think I’m devious, but someone always has a better plan.

    Reply

  10. Jamie
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 23:49:48

    wtf is his problem!?!

    Too many pills and a power trip.

    And who authorized this new list?!

    Maybe it isn’t a new list, but I’ve never noticed that item before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

