Major Suckage

Winter in Wyoming

It is eight degrees below zero right now (For those of you on the metric system, that means it’s freaking cold) and we have 6 inches of fresh snow.  I’ve been home for about 2 hours and the wood stove is finally overtaking the chill enough that my teeth have stopped chattering.  I hate winter.

Cold weather means fewer people are willing to eat out.  This sucks because not only is the restaurant making very little money, but all the locals who think a $2 tip on a $40 ticket is cause for celebration are driving me into the poorhouse.  If it wasn’t so cold out I’d chase them down in the parking lot and tell them what cheap fucks they are.  For the last week, I’ve made enough each night to put gas in my van so I can get back to work.  I have GOT to find a second job.

Freezing temperatures means I can’t leave my house to visit my kids in Laramie for Thanksgiving.  That’s right, I’m stuck here alone and broke for the holiday.  It’s swell to be me.  I’m sure I’ll end up hanging out with some coworkers on Turkey Day, so it won’t be as bad as it seems right now, but I feel like wallowing in self pity for some sympathy.

One nice thing, a friend spent the night last night and it was fun having someone to hang out with.  I made turkey pesto pasta and we watched movies until the sun came up.  I never have company and it upset Maggie so much that she crapped on the floor and puked all over the kitchen.  She puked on my bed again today just to show me how unhappy she was with the whole deal.  Stupid dog, you make me look bad.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 00:44:48

    Wow. That’s … that’s cold. I’m sorry you won’t get to be with your children, Holls. That’s no fun at all.

    I guess this means they are all grown up now. 😦

    You can keep your dog crap and puke though. All yours, baby.

    Gee, thanks. I was hoping to give it to you. 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving anyway, sweetie.

    Thank you and Happy Thanksgiving to you, Falcon & the kids.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 01:41:26

    Aw man, I’m sorry you won’t get to be with your kids! That’s a big owie. *hugs*

    I hope you get to hang out with friends for the holiday so you’re not alone. At least you won’t have to cook, right?

    Praying for a warm-up for you and some comfort, and comfort food.

    Reply

  3. thelifeofjamie
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 07:40:38

    Put a snow plow on your car and go visit those kids! (I realize that probably isn’t realistic). I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving and are able to be with people you love (or just kind of like)

    The big problem about leaving in the winter is I have wood heat. If I’m not home to shove wood in the stove, my house freezes. Last year it was in the 40s over Thanksgiving so I could leave. This cold snap ruined my plans.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 09:32:25

    I’m sorry, sweetie. By contrast, we’re hosting the big day here for my brother-in-law and his fiancee plus my parents and their three teenage foster kids. I’m not sure if my house is quite big enough. Since it will be a balmy almost-40 degrees here, my husband will be cooking the bird on the grill. I’ll let you know if I think it outranks a movie marathon in peace and quiet. 🙂

    I would much rather be home alone. Ugh.

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 10:57:52

    Great thing about winter is you can always stay warm by use of fire. Burn something. Got wood?

    Yes I do. I had a new load delivered last Thursday before noon, so I got morning wood.

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 13:46:51

    “Cold weather means fewer people are willing to eat out. ” I would have thought the opposite because I want a hot meal when it’s cold, but not when it’s hot. But when it’s 100 degrees out, everybody heads to the restaurant with a nice air-conditioned dinina area, but no A/C in the kitchen.

    People cave up during November. They are over it by December and since they have to be out for Christmas shopping, they are more willing to stop and eat.

    Reply

  7. workingtechmom
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 17:43:39

    Whoa – that is cold for this time of year. Sorry to hear about the cold and the stupid dog throwing up. Did you get to enjoy some nice food for Thanksgiving, or were you too busy cleaning up after the dog and dining on popcorn?

    I made a small Thanksgiving dinner for a friend and I, but it wasn’t as much fun as time spent with my kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

