To the Couple at Table 13

Here’s the deal:  When your kid starts throwing things under the table, STOP giving him stuff!  I know you think he’s old enough to feed himself, but I’m telling you he’s not.  Save the self feeding lessons for home where YOU can clean up the mess. 

In addition to food, I found 2 glasses, 2 spoons, a knife, a fork, 5 crayons, 2 straws, and a shit pile of napkins, which you threw on the floor in a half assed attempt to clean up the glass of milk your kid poured under the table. 

The 16% tip you left was adequate, but it did not make up for all the cleaning I had to do after you left.  Oh, and since you seated yourself, dirtied one table and then decided to seat yourself at a different table, I actually had to clean up two of your messes.  

Did you notice how no one else was sitting around you?  That’s because that section was closed.  The server who left at 5pm cleaned and closed that section so I wouldn’t have to, but you foiled her plan.  Not only did you leave a hell of a mess, but you left it at a table I wouldn’t have had to clean.  This is why we pay a hostess, you know, that woman you elbowed out of the way to seat yourself.

Seriously, you pissed me off.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 23:41:48

    argh!

    You took the word right out of my mouth.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 03:21:20

    You have ’em all. I’m serious. ALL of ’em.

    Aren’t I the lucky one!

    Reply

  3. wigsf
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 05:01:03

    I’m afraid to think how much of a mess is in the home those ‘tards came from.

    Their house is probably clean. They save that sort of behaviour for someone else to clean up.

    Reply

  4. Onyx
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 09:03:23

    That’s ridiculous! Parents are so messed up, drives me batty! I loathe seeing children coming into my store with bags of candy for the arcade, or ice cream from Laura Secords… because *I* have to clean up the mess, and wipe everything down after their grubby little paws have touched EVERYTHING, and when they make messes, the parents are always like “it’s time to go… now”

    I worked in retail for a little while and everytime I saw kids I thought my head would explode. At least in a restaurant, you have the ability to clean up a mess. You don’t always have a wet towel handy in a store.

    And question, I’ve always been curious, when it comes to tips… I know bigger is always going to be better, but percentage wise, what is appropriate, in the least? My fiance and I tip 20-25%… and we don’t believe in not tipping, we think it’s horribly rude (like the coffee scene in Reservoir Dogs). I just always wonder, am I tipping enough? Am I being looked at as being cheap? I just wonder, what does the server think when it comes to “tip percentages”?

    20-25%??!! Come sit in my section! The national standard (or so I’ve heard) is 18%, but around here we are lucky to make 15% off our locals. Then there are the known offenders who tip 10% or less. We flip a coin to see who has to take them.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 15:12:58

    How rude! Good grief, there must be a black hole of jerkiness up there! Or maybe they all really were raised by wolves.

    I think wolves have better manners.

    Sorry you had to deal with all that hon. I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving otherwise. 🙂

    It was nice. I didn’t get to see my kids, but I made a feast and a friend and I ate until we were sick.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

