Christmas Music

I am the first to admit I love Christmas music.  I have a nice collection of tunes I keep on my Walkman and I shuffle them in with my other music so I have Christmas music all year long.  Yes, I listen to ‘Frosty, the Snowman’ by Leon Redbone and Dr. John in July.  Deal with it.

Other people hate, abhor, despise and loathe Christmas music.  The stress of the holiday coupled with incessant cheer is too much to bear for some people.  I think I work with ALL of these people.

We put up the tree and some decorations in the restaurant today.  Then Darren tuned the music to the Sounds of the Season  channel, and you would have thought we were listening to fingernails on chalkboards.  The groaning, moaning and bitching started immediately and lasted all night.  I tried to lighten the mood by singing along with all the songs I knew, but that elicited “shut up,” “put a cork in it,” and “fuck off” from my co-workers.  I even pointed out that for one month we wouldn’t have to listen to Taylor Swift whine, but that brought no joy to the fun stoppers. 

I’ve found Christmas music is a lot like sex:  It’s best when you stop fighting and just lie back and enjoy it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 00:06:13

    We used to have a lot more Christmas CD’s. I love the Harry Connick one. Maybe soon we can start adding to our collection again. It’s pretty meager.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 01:40:08

    I’m with Falcon, I can’t get enough Christmas music at Christmas time. I might even enjoy it year ’round if I gave it a shot, but I’m usually too lazy to work that hard.

    I say rock the holidays with the music meant for it. Why not?

    Reply

  3. wigsf
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 05:10:57

    Christmas music is what I hate most about Christmas. In my own home, I can avoid all Christmas music except for my father’s annual John Lennon Merry Xmas (the war is over) Marathon.
    But when I go shopping, I’m bombarded with the musical sodomy that is Christmas music.

    And the horror that is Paul McCartney’s Wonderful Christmastime is actually enough of a reason to erase from my memory all of the respect he earned by being a Beatle.

    Christmas music is to music what Pat Boone is to music. What more can I say?

    Musical sodomy? HAHAHAHA! Yes, that’s the spirit I’m talking about.

    Reply

  4. Ahmnodt Heare
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 09:35:47

    I like to listen to Christmas music at home a week before Christmas. I don’t like hearing it in November before Thanksgiving.

    For me it’s not the stress as much as having to wait another 25 days before Santa brings me my goodies. (I was a good boy this year.)

    I would like to get through Thanksgiving before retailers start trying to flip me upside down and shake all the money out of my pockets. It would also be nice to wait until December 1st before we get into the Christmas spirit. Maybe you can do something about that when you’re president.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 09:37:04

    I really enjoy good Christmas music. The problems I have with it are 1) if you leave your house in December and go out in public it’s almost impossible to listen to anything else and 2) everybody thinks they can sing Christmas songs. I like Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas”. I get tired of hearing 12 different versions by every singer for the past 50 years. I like the original, instrumental version of “Sleigh Ride” but can’t stand the one with lyrics.

    That is the one thing that gets on my nerves too. I like the songs by specific artists and I’ll bet I heard 8 different versions of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer in 4 hours last night.

    Then again, everybody has their favorites, which is why I reserve the right to flip the channel in the car. There’s a time for everything, and Christmastime is perfect for Christmas music. The season wouldn’t be the same without it.

    I agree!

    Reply

  6. workingtechmom
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 19:33:25

    Love the music, and agree that it’s best if it doesn’t start too early in the year. Hearing a good Christmas song in July might be fun, but hearing 20 of them would send me over the edge.

    I would probably lose my mind if I had to listen to Christmas music in July, but it’s stuff I pick and can listen to when I want, so it’s okay.

    Enjoy and sing out loud!

    I do. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lauren
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 20:14:47

    It’s not the music itself which bothers me at Christmastime. There just aren’t enough different songs to cover an eight hour shift. So, as a result, you are forced to either listen to the same song in five different versions, or you will hear the same version of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer over and over again. I have actually pondered breaking our music system so I don’t have to listen to Christmas music anymore.

    I’m lucky I only work 4 hours so the repetition isn’t too bad. During the summer when I work longer hours I want to break the music system because I can hear the same whiney country song only so many times.

    Reply

  8. Jamie
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 20:31:40

    My coworkers bitch, but they are glad we don’t have to listen to Taylor Swift, as am I! Sometimes when I teeter the radio on the top shelf and the angry pharmacist isn’t there we get to listen to 101.1!!!

    Yay! I get so sick of country music. I would love to have something different for a change as long as it isn’t bluegrass. Ack!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

