I Should Have Died

Before work today I stacked wood on my deck.  It was snowing, but the wind wasn’t blowing so it was perfect weather.  I like stacking wood since it’s a chore I don’t have to concentrate on and my mind can wander.  I kept stacking and stacking and stacking until I couldn’t reach any higher before I called it a day and went inside.

I had a voice mail from my mom saying the road to Cody was terrible and I should leave for work soon so I wouldn’t be rushed.  I quickly showered and left for work.  The road was wet, but hardly anything to worry about…until I got to the bottom of the Meeteetse Rim.

I'm screwed.

 The Meeteetse Rim is where everybody dies.  That stretch of road is icy, steep, and winding.  People overestimate their driving skills and bad things happen.  I HATE that 5 miles and I tend to creep up one side and down the other.

I followed two trucks to the bottom of the Rim, over the hills on the Cody side and around this heart stopping corner at the Halfway Marker when I noticed two trucks and a trailer in the pull off at the marker.  A quick glance told me somebody had been going to fast, lost control and lost their trailer, but they were off the highway in the deep snow and there was nothing I could do to help them.  I caught a glimpse of two trucks coming toward me in the other lane just as I noticed the truck in front of me had stopped on the highway, presumably to offer assistance to the guys off the road.  I applied my brakes and my van turned into a 2,000 pound sled.

Somehow my van pulled to the left into the on-coming lane and I sailed by the stopped truck and between the two oncoming trucks.  I do not know how I didn’t head on at least one truck or rear end the truck in front of me. 

I frequently say that Jesus takes the wheel, but I’m beginning to think I have a guardian angel.  I’ve had so many close encounters on that highway, whether it’s icy conditions or animals or other drivers.  I believe my angel is named Ashton.  She was a young girl, who went to my church and was killed on the Rim on October 11, 2008.  I carry her funeral card in my ticket folder, I talk to her on my trips to work, and I clean her grave on All Soul’s Day.  I swear I hear her whisper in my head when there is danger around a corner.  I hear her scold me for texting and driving.  She tells me to slow down and pay attention when my mind is wandering.

I don’t know if she’s performing miracles, but so far she’s kept me alive to wait tables another day.

xoxoxo

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 01:48:17

    I’m glad you’re safe! Those roads are so dangerous. I don’t know that I could drive them.

    I’m sure driving where you are is worse.

    Reply

  2. Catherine
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 02:08:20

    Long may your guardian angel protect you, pleased you are ok. The roads are treacherous right now and snow seems to turn a lot of drivers into idiots who go too slow, too fast and undertake dangerous maneuvers that they wouldnt do in normal weather.

    It’s like they don’t notice the snow and ice on the road. Yes, the speed limit is 65…FOR DRY CONDITIONS! And who stops in the middle of a highway??

    Reply

  3. wigsf
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 07:19:59

    Maybe you should trade in your car for a tauntaun. I heard those things are great in the snow.

    My van does great in the snow…until someone pulls some idiot maneuver.

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 07:48:48

    WOWZA! You are a lucky lady! Glad you are safe.

    Me too!

    Reply

  5. Sherri
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 08:43:14

    Dang, that’s scary! Mountain roads scare the hell out of me, even when it’s good weather. The roads around here gently curve, and that’s about it. Sometimes I drive into the Ozarks on my way to see family, and I have a white-knuckle grip on the steering wheel until the road smooths out again. Yikes.

    I’m so used to the drive I’m on auto-pilot most days. When the snow starts falling, I’m the white knuckle sort of driver because I never know what other people are going to do.

    Reply

  6. Bunny
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 08:50:10

    Wow..how frightening! So glad you are okay. You definitely have someone watching over you!

    I don’t even dispute I have a guardian angel. I’ve had too many close calls to say it’s luck and I’m not crediting my NASCAR driving skills.

    Reply

  7. Sparty Girl
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 14:18:57

    Oh, man. I’m so glad you’re all right. I hate driving on snow and ice.

    Me too. Usually the road is deserted, but I think everyone in the state was on that road yesterday.

    Reply

  8. Molly Malone
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 17:48:10

    I for one am grateful that you are still among us. Be careful sweetie!!!

    Thank you! I will do my best to keep it between the lines.

    Reply

  9. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 18:19:00

    Wow! Ashton could very well have been with you! Thank God you are OK. I miss snow, but I do not miss driving with the idiots on snow and ice.

    I like it best when I’m the only one for miles.

    Reply

  10. Cindy
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 20:07:16

    I don’t mind winter driving, if only everyone drove like they had something between their ears. You have to constantly watch out for what they are doing.

    People here think that just because they have 4 wheel drive they can do anything. Not everyone has 4 wheel drive and those are the people they are endangering.

    I’m glad your guardian angel was on duty.

    Me too!

    Reply

  11. Onyx
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 07:08:26

    Glad you have someone looking over your shoulder to keep you safe, everyone needs that. Especially when the roads are bad.

    I looked at that girls FB page. Such a beautiful face. It’s sweet you clear her grave, and pay her visits. There are a few plots, I wish I lived close enough to, that I could stop by for a visit.

    She was very sweet and it was a terrible tragedy. I was on the road not 15 minutes ahead of her and my son ended up in the ER with her that night from a football injury. I can’t tell you how hard I prayed that she would live, but God had other plans.

    Happy you’re safe.

    Reply

  12. workingtechmom
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 21:08:25

    I love chores like your wood stacking where you can let the mind wander and then also see the results of your hard work.

    I always plan on stacking a few piles and before I know it I’ve been stacking for an hour. It’s very relaxing if the weather cooperates.

    God bless Ashton. Take care of yourself as I have just spent my first two days driving in snow this year and it is always amazing that more people aren’t crashing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

