Here’s Hoping

Tonight was a good night.  A few more nights like tonight and I might be able to move out of my van down by the river and back into my house.  November nearly bankrupted me.

My last table was a group of 5 men who all wanted separate tickets and they all tipped more than 20%.  One guy left me 8 dollars on a 30 dollar ticket.  If I had known they were going to tip so well, I would have showed them my boobs.  Hell, I’m to the point of showing anyone my boobs if they’ll leave me 5 bucks.  There was a time I would have never considered doing something like that, but desperate times call for desperate measures. 

So here’s hoping that the customers keep coming in and they continue being generous or I’ll have to resort to ringing my own bell outside Walmart.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 00:11:49

    $10 for boobs – $5 each you know! 😉

    That’s what I would have charged in my 20s & 30s. They are deeply discounted now.

    I hope things improve for you hon. I’ll be keeping you in my prayers.

    Thanks!

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 05:20:58

    Had you shown them your boobs on their way out, they’d definitely come back.

    It’s more likely they would have ran in terror.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 08:41:49

    Boob-showing for tips is a long-standing and proud tradition among servers. I’m sure it will boost tips.

    Only if the younger servers do it.

    Hope the winter is better to you than before.

    Me too!

    Reply

  4. Onyx
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 09:20:08

    Glad you had such a good night for tips! I hope this pattern keeps up for you.

    November was bad for everyone. We all need a couple weeks of good tips to catch up.

    Reply

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 10:11:37

    Glad you had a good night. Hope you get many more…..we don’t want you livin….in a van….down by the river!…… 🙂

    Living in the van with 4 dogs sucks.

    Reply

  6. Sparty Girl
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 15:50:36

    Yay for a good night of tips! Here’s hoping it’s the start of a trend!

    Unfortunately, tonight was slow and my first table stiffed me. Looks like I’ll be living in the van for a few more days.

    Reply

  7. workingtechmom
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 20:09:20

    It’s a trend…say it many times…it’s a trend..first night of your new trend. Many good tips coming your way.

    (from a former waitress so this carries some weight!)

    December is usually a pretty good month. People are out shopping so they decide to eat too. The festive decorations help them remember to be generous this time of year.

    Reply

  8. izziedarling
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 04:38:07

    You should get 20% tips all the time – what’s wrong with people? Yikes. Was APPALLED last night when I went to dinner with 5 women and the bill came. One woman actually asked the waiter to give us individual bills and he did so with a smile. Good grief! That hasn’t happened to me since high school and it was so stupid but … I gave him a tip that covered the entire table as I have no idea what the others were doing. Now I need to move into your van down by the river. Can I bring my dog? x iz

    When groups of people come in I always ask if they want separate tickets. It’s much easier than doing it later. Some restaurants refuse to do separate tickets.

    You can certainly move into my van with your dog. The more the merrier!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

