Welcome to Junior High

As I mentioned before, the restaurant has been d.e.a.d.  To fill the time, some of us do puzzles.  Others stir shit.  With a great big spoon.

Friendships have dissolved.  Alliances have formed.  Nefarious schemes are afoot.  Just as one spat is over, another one begins.  All of the drama can be traced to two “women” who are emotional pre-adolescents and they are dragging everyone down to their level.  Yeah, sometimes even me.  I feel like I’m 14 years old all over again with all the emotional hostage taking going on.  I didn’t like it then, but now I’m pretty amused by it.  I shake my head and wonder what’s going to happen next even when it’s biting me in the ass.

In years past it was just the front of the house that played the middle school games, but this year as an added bonus, the back of the house is involved too.  Everybody needs to take a handful of Xanax and mellow the fuck out.  It’s like working with a bunch of bipolar special needs children, except special needs children are smarter. 

“I heard you and Dani were plotting to have me quit, so I’m not talking to you.”  Finally!  Some peace & quiet.

“I’m going to sleep with my ex-girlfriend.”  Get tested.

“I’m going to sleep with your boyfriend.”  Use a condom.

“She’s telling everyone not to be my friend.”  Meh, they didn’t like you much anyway.

They’re judging me.”  Nobody cares enough to judge.

“She’s going to sleep with you to piss off another server.”  Take it any way you can get it.

“Don’t talk to me.”  Wasn’t planning on it.

I'ma fuck you up.

There are tears in the restroom, tears outside at the picnic table, and tears in the waitstation.  Someone who is skipping around during the dinner rush will be throwing dishes before the clean up begins.  Seriously, more people need to do puzzles or we need to set up a cage out back and have some bare knuckle boxing matches.     

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 23:58:14

    Do the boxing, charge for tickets. It’ll help with the lack of tips.

    Oooh! Great idea since we could all use some extra money.

    We used to play cards during our down time at the truck stop. If the roads were bad, you could go hours without seeing someone.

    I would like to play cards, but we’re really not supposed to do the puzzles. If you have time to lean, you have time to clean. Bullshit.

    Reply

    • Cindy
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 19:40:05

      You actually can run out of things to clean, lucky for us, our boss understood that. We even did all the annual time consuming cleaning that you don’t have time to do in the summer, during the winter and still had a ton of time to play cards. lol

      I can see the hourly wage people being forced to work, but when I’m paying to stand around in the waitstation, I’m not busting my ass to clean.

      Also lucky for us we were paid an hourly wage and didn’t have to depend on tips.

      Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 23:59:08

    Oooh, I vote for the cage match! Will it be mud wrestling along with that too? Or, I know, loser has to clean and mop the bathroom and the bathroom walls!

    No mud now since it will freeze. By spring, we’ll be too busy to fight. I think the loser should have to shut up for one week and clean the bathroom walls.

    I came to the conclusion long ago that sometimes (okay, lots of times, I was trying to be nice 😉 ) “grown-ups” are really just children in older bodies. Maturity never affected the brain.

    Some of the youngest people at the restaurant are the most responsible and emotionally mature. Then there’s all the rest. Ugh.

    Reply

  3. Catherine
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 00:13:29

    I’m always impressed by the images you find to illstrate your text but today’s are especially good.

    Thank you.

    I work with senior citizens and I have come to the same conclusion as you, however old you get, if you have always been a gossip and played out your emotional dramas in public you wont stop just because of the number of candles on your birthday cake.

    That’s sad to hear. I assumed at some point everyone got tired of the games and quit playing them.

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 05:24:10

    The restaurant needs a Nintendo Wii. A match in Wii Sports Boxing will let all the frustration out.

    Not as much as real boxing will.

    Reply

  5. workingtechmom
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 07:13:50

    oh, i like the boxing…while the Wii idea is good, real boxing could lead to injury and then maybe less servers and more tips for the remaining ones?

    That’s sorta what I was thinking. 😉

    we all succumb sometimes to the junior high behaviour…i have a trusted co-worker, sometimes we say “ok, I’m in high school right now” and then we get the comment out, but then pull back out of it quickly!

    We all need to be childish and catty once in a while, but when it’s a couple of people doing it constantly, it gets a little old.

    Good luck. We are pulling for you to be the one who observes and blogs about it and doesn’t have to engage!

    Right now I’m observing and trying my best to act my age.

    Reply

  6. Bunny
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 07:43:43

    I can see ways/times when this could be both amusing and infuriating. Some people need to find something better to do clearly!

    I find it amusing when I’m not involved. When I don’t find it amusing, neither does anyone else really. All these 20 year olds think they are hot shit, but they forget I’ve had 20 more years to perfect my bitch act.

    Reply

    • Bunny
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 16:45:02

      Exactly…unfortunately there are women (and men) our age that still act like this.

      Reply

    • Jamie
      Dec 12, 2010 @ 11:22:11

      hell ya go Holly! I’m gonna have to come in this week and visit! Shoot me a text when your working or not, so I know when to come in! Love ya darling!

      Love you too! I’m working every night except Thursday at 4. I might be working Thursday as well…

      Reply

  7. Mom
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 12:56:51

    When you get old you will just be the the one that watches and enjoys…I’m just here to be entertained. I like to even throw a little fuel to the flame. People are all wonderful…to play with I [mean]

    I AM old. I admit I throw gas on the fire now and then. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Brea
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:09:16

    I work in an office full of women. No men. There are days, when I think I work in an office full of feral cats.

    Feral cats is about right. I would go insane if I worked with all women. Men balance things out and bring some logic and reason to a ridiculous situation

    I’ve been reading for a while now, and I have to say, I enjoy your honest take on this underappreciated job. People forget, this is real Customer Service. And you should treat your servers with respect. After all, you’re going to eat the food they bring, right?

    That last statement is soooo true, but not many people remember it.

    Thanks for taking the time to comment! I started reading your blog today since you’re part of the Harem. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Anton
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:22:38

    Days like that made me thankful I left my office job and can work from home. Sure, I make less money. But no more crazy, catty, cruel office games. I worked at a government job that was impossible to get fired from for a few years and I thought there wasn’t any way it could be more nuts than life at dot-com startups. Oh how wrong I was.

    I hate office jobs. The back stabbing and politics all behind a veil of civility. At least in food service no one expects us to be professional and we can call one another out on the shit.

    Reply

  10. DarcKnyt
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 20:22:46

    I find this depressing. 😦 I really just want people to grow up and STFU. Y’know? How hard is it?

    I do too, but when 95% of the crew is under 25, I guess they are acting their age. Drama is what they are good at and all I can strive for is to act my age (most of the time).

    I vote for the cage matches too. AWESOME YouTube hits.

    I think the cage matches win on all levels.

    Reply

  11. Ahmnodt Heare
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 20:43:38

    One of the biggest misconceptions of being self-employed is being exempt from office politics. A couple of my clients like to try to get me involved with their shenanigans. The things I put up with for some business 😦

    At least in a restaurant, if you don’t like someone or you aren’t getting along, you can stay away from each other. Fighting in an office makes me suicidal. Okay…working in an office where I have to listen to other people breathe makes me suicidal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

