“On a Hot Summer Night…

would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?”

If it would get all these people out of my section, I’d let a pack of wolves rip me apart in the middle of the dining room.

What kind of wolves did you think I meant?

Yeah, that sums up my night.  Three servers, two cooks and a waiting list.  I don’t know where everyone came from, but it was worse than a night in July.

Since we were short a cook, the ticket times were horrible.  I think people could have driven to a farm, slaughtered the animal of their choice, butchered it, cooked it over a campfire and got their food faster.  My people were pretty patient, but the hoard of hockey players and their parents in Amber and Anna’s sections weren’t. 

I was pretty happy that I didn’t get any of the players or parents, but the joke was on me when I went to clean the men’s room:  Potato chips, water from the overflowing toilet and puke everywhere.  I wanted to sit down and cry, but there wasn’t a dry spot.  That’s what happens when you let your kid drink four 22 ounce sodas and bounce around the damned restaurant.  It would be nicer if kids would slip into a sugar coma and barf in the car on the ride home.

The money is nice and we all need the money right now, but how about some manners?  Is that too much to ask?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ahmnodt Heare
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 06:28:31

    Sometimes you can’t win. If you don’t get a PIA table, you get the aftermath. Or you get the dumb co-worker of the idiot cook or the clueless boss.

    I’ve learned to never get too smug at work or the joke will be on me.

    Reply

  2. Fuck My Table
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 07:48:55

    It’s always too much to ask. There is little decency left out there. That’s why I try to make up for the assholes by being extra nice and understanding whenever possible, even when I would be justified in being upset.

    Unless I’m bitching about my customers, in which case they do not get the benefit of the doubt. Fuck them.

    I try to be gracious and kind to maybe lead by example, but wow, just wow. People never cease to amaze me.

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 12:02:27

    I agree with FMT… it is too much to ask. Sorry to break it to you.

    Memories of my days waiting tables and working in retail make me one of the nicest customers on the planet. It takes a lot of poor customer service before I’ll raise a stink in a restaurant or a store.

    I know: when every child turns 16 he or she has to work for one summer in a restaurant and one Christmas season in a retail establishment. It’ll be a graduation requirement. Soon the world will be full of people with much better manners in public.

    I think everyone should have to do food service and retail and certainly before they can have children they must do both. I worked at Kmart one year, including the Christmas & after Christmas returns, and I nearly went insane over the screaming kids, the liars, shoplifters, and slobby assed people. Sometimes I think the people who work at Walmart must be saints.

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 14:24:41

    I bet you say that to all the boys.

    HAHAHAHA! I knew you’d get the reference.

    Reply

  5. PurpleGirl
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 14:56:04

    Oh jesus. I wouldn’t have cleaned it. That’s what the managers are for!

    I made the manager unclog the toilet, but then I was left with the mess. Whenever someone complains about me not doing something I ask when was the last time they cleaned puke/shit/snot/blood off the restroom toilets/floors/walls/sinks. I get away with a lot just for cleaning the restrooms.

    Reply

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 15:36:48

    I think manners and decency are long a thing of the past.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: On a hot summer night, would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses? | Really Make Money Online

Leave a Reply

