Breakin’ the Law, Breakin’ the Law

Two years ago I was arrested at work for not paying a fine.  I got to spend two nights in jail before I could see the judge, and let me tell you, I was more than a little pissed off when I realized there were people who had been on the lam for years before the cops finally arrested them for unpaid fines.  My fine was less than a week overdue, and I learned that being stable was not the best way to live.  People should change jobs and addresses every few months in order to stay ahead of the law.

So last night when I was getting ready to leave work and two cops walked into the waitstation, I nearly shit my pants.  My fight or flight response kicked in and I was ready to run like a running back on an open field when I realized I wasn’t in any trouble.  Turns out they were looking for one of the supervisors who is in Deep Shit, Arkansas.  When we told the cops he wasn’t working, they acted like we were lying and I had a sinking feeling they were going to haul me in for the hell of it.  I didn’t waste any time getting out of there, let me tell you.

One thing’s for sure, food service is never dull.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. izziedarling
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 16:28:17

    If your police force has uniforms like that, it’s a wonder they could catch anyone. It’s hard running after minor criminals in toe shoes. Have a Happy New Year, my friend. iz

    It’s hard to run, but man do they look stylish.

    Happy New Year to you too!

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 22:47:07

    I try to be respectful about the whole “cops are our friends” thing. I was raised that way, just like most of us.

    But I have come to learn that’s not always true.

    We’re already teaching our kids that if the police ever pick them up for ANYthing, there are only 2 phrases they’re allowed to say: “I want my parents,” and “LAWYER!”

    But I do appreciate the work that detectives do, solving cold cases and other crimes.

    I try to be respectful as well, but I’ve learned to keep my mouth shut and not give out more information than they are asking for.

    Reply

  3. noe noe girl
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 06:57:01

    Arrested for not paying a fine?? Really that’s all they have to do?

    Oh hell yes. If they know where to find you they will round you up and throw you in jail. It’s loads of fun.

    Reply

  4. Bunny
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 14:45:36

    I was once married to a man who was always getting arrested (hence our eventual divorce…you can only love someone so much). The whole experience left me very paranoid of cops. Its been years since we were together (10+) and I still get that feeling like I want to run when I see one!

    It doesn’t take long to develop a fear of them, does it?

    Reply

  5. Hira Animfefte
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 14:54:37

    It could be worse…the cops in Russia are in league with the mafia…they get a cut from the pickpocketers and other crime. They don’t fight it, they get their cut.

    People are right to fear the police in other countries. We don’t know how good we have it here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

