Cheers to a Great Night

Last night was one of the best nights I’ve had in probably a year.  The people were all polite, the kitchen was efficient, and the tips were excellent.  The stars aligned and for once I have nothing to complain about and I don’t feel like stabbing someone with a fork.  Weird, right?!

One of my first tables was a guy in a wheelchair and his nurse.  He didn’t have legs and I didn’t realize until I served his food that he was blind.  That puts things in  perspective in a hurry.  There are others who have far more to complain about than I do.  He asked if we were still busy at breakfast and I told him we stopped serving breakfast about two and a half years ago.  He said, “Back when I had legs and eyes I used to come in for breakfast all the time.  I miss that.”  It made me want to cry because I’m sure he wasn’t talking about the breakfast.

Then a big group of people I recognized came in and I was disappointed that I wasn’t going to wait on them since it was Amber’s turn.  She told me I could have them and I was delighted.  It was The Retards.  Yep, I said it.  I love The Retards because I fit right in with them.  There’s usually about 8 developmentally disabled people and 2 handlers in the group and they are all full of “Please” and “Thank you”.  They are happy as hell, they don’t make a mess, they don’t complain, and they tip well.  Some of them have anxiety issues and don’t like certain things on their plates.  Others have patience issues and need to order and be served first.  I cater to all their needs because I understand them.  I have issues as well and I’m probably only a few IQ points away from being part of the group.  They tipped 22% of their ticket.

Then came a group of 11 people and I knew I’d have something to complain about with them.  I was already writing the post in my head, but I was wrong.  They were extremely nice and there wasn’t one bitchy person in the group.  Usually there is at least one in a big group of people.  They had a good time and enjoyed their dinner like it was a family dinner at home.  They didn’t make a huge mess, not even in the restrooms, and they tipped 25% of their ticket.  

I was overjoyed when it was time to do my paperwork and I realized how much money I made with so little effort.  Usually I have to put up with a lot of shit to make that much in that short amount of time.  In the winter I have to run my ass off and have at least one panic attack/total meltdown for half that much.  Waiting tables is such a gamble and one never knows how the night is going to end.  Maybe that’s what I like about it.

********************

My son is home and he hogs the computer.  I am way behind on reading everyone’s blogs, but I’m trying to catch up.  I know some of you are having bad times, so please know you are in my thoughts and prayers even if I haven’t left a comment.  Others are doing well and should have felt that mental pat on the back I gave.  Someday soon I’ll hog tie that kid and get some computer time. 

Until then:  Cheers & peace be with you.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fuck My Table
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 17:15:17

    Congrats on the awesome night! I, too, have been busy and am playing catch-up on reading others’ blogs…but not because anyone’s hogging the computer. Tell that kid to come spend some time with you! 😉

    He is spending time with me, which is why he’s hogging the computer. If he was somewhere else, I would have access to the computer, but he guards it like a dog with a bone. Really though, I can’t complain since I love having my boy around.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 21:30:39

    Yay for having a great night! Here’s to many more of the same. 😀

    Yeah, kick that kid’s butt! He’s supposed to be hanging out with you, waiting on you, doing things with you, not spending his mom time on the computer! Want me to smack him? ;

    Enjoy your family time, and have a great New Year. 🙂

    I am enjoying it even if I don’t get to play with my cyber-family.

    Reply

  3. noe noe girl
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 07:04:11

    I always love a good night!
    Happy New Year Chicklet!

    Reply

  4. workingtechmom
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 17:55:20

    So good to read about the night you had and ow you brought those people to life for us.

    Tell that kid to read some of your blog friend posts to you. Time together, he’s getting the computer, and doing something for you at the same time. 🙂

    Reply

  5. An Educated Server
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 02:42:50

    Congratulations on your great night! I love it when things like that happen, especially after a not-so-good (I think I want to quit) day.

    Happy New Year!

    Happy New Year! to you too.

    Reply

Leave a comment