Attention Fatties

Don’t sneer at our menu.  When you have to shoehorn yourself into a booth, I know there isn’t much you won’t eat.  Don’t try to act as if you can’t find anything you like because from the looks of you, you would eat shoe leather or a belt.  When I bring the food, don’t adopt an air of disgust.  I know you will eat everything including the plate if I don’t get it off the table fast enough.

You aren’t fooling anyone.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 01:05:04

    Ouch! As a fat person, this stings a lot, especially since a lot of it’s not true. Being fat doesn’t mean I eat anything; I still have taste. On the other hand, I didn’t get fat by starving and missing a lot of meals. Heh.

    I see the same fat people over and over, always acting as if they are too good for our food and I get a little tired of it. They aren’t fooling me.

    I am not a thin person, but I acknowledge my love of food and don’t act like I got fat by fasting.

    In all honesty, if a restaurant didn’t have anything which sounded appealing I’d leave without ordering. So… wth?

    Me too. Many of these people come in week after week. They know our menu and one could argue that I am misreading their fake disgust for boredom…until they order half the menu and shovel it in.

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 05:13:19

    Maybe Fatty is upset because there isn’t enough uses of the term “All you can eat” on the menu.

    Reply

  3. thelifeofjamie
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 08:38:42

    hahahahahahahahaha!

    Reply

  4. skippymom
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 09:49:47

    As someone who is at the opposite end of the scale due to dietary restrictions [I can’t have a lot of sodium, CHF SUCKS] I usually research a menu [online] beforehand to figure out what I can have. If it is a new [to me] restaurant I work the menu – but don’t make the server wait on me. I know a closed menu indicates we are ready to order and act accordingly. [Meaning I will ask for a few minutes and then wait patiently until we are noticed with closed menus. Sometimes it takes time.]

    All that said – I feel a little bad now – because I hope I am not putting off the vibe that the food where we go isn’t good enough for me or I am too snooty to eat. Or even that they think I have some sort of eating disorder – because I don’t. But when you cut salt out of your diet it is not only hard to eat out but it is almost impossible to gain weight.

    Great – now I have another worry. Sh*t.

    REALLY?! I gain weight even if I don’t eat. We don’t add salt to anything except the sauces so you could eat to your heart’s content.

    Reply

    • Bunny
      Jan 17, 2011 @ 08:55:06

      I do the same thing….I had gastric bypass surgery a few years ago. I didnt get skinny but I went from a very sick and miserable 28 to a very happy healthy 14-ish. I still love to eat but I am restricted so I usually will look at a menu online so I know what I want to order when I come in. But if thats not available, I know my own dietary needs/restrictions well enough that I am find something I can eat on any menu and I dont make the restaurant or server suffer for it.

      Reply

  5. Katie
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 14:45:50

    The photo is disturbing. Poor fat cat.

    When I googled “fat cat” it was more than a little disturbing to see so many pictures of so many overweight cats.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 22:19:44

    What’s up with the disgust when you bring the food? Really, if it’s that bad I’m sure there are other places to eat. Who eats food that disgusts them? Crazy people.

    Maybe they think ‘beef brisket’ is code for ‘fillet mignon’. I don’t know. You ordered it, you eat it.

    Reply

  7. leaner
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 15:19:26

    When I was working in the bar of a busy, touristy rib joint in Az, one night I had a super fat lady haughtily ask for a fork with her onion strings. She had a look of disdain on her face when she said it–like we were all a bunch of heathens for not serving onion strings with a full set of utensils. When I nicely reassured her, “most people just eat the onion strings with their fingers–they are considered finger food around here” she just harrumphed loudly and snottily asked “puleease” for a fork while rolling her eyes in their pudgy bloated sockets. Well, so it took me a few minutes cause we didn’t usually keep a lot of silverware in the bar cause all we served in there was FINGER FOOD and I had to travel all the way back to the dishwash area to get clean silver. So meanwhile the fat cow told my manager that I was being rude by not bringing her a fork fast enough.
    I almost got in trouble but I’m pretty sure my manager saw through her fat ass act. Right lady, so you’ll have us to believe you somehow ballooned up to 300lbs by NEVER eating anything with your fingers? I’m sure that cow ate lasagna with her fingers! ha!

    HAHAHAHAHA! “Pudgy bloated sockets” You get exactly what I’m saying. I don’t have a problem with overweight people, I have a problem with gigantic fat assed people trying to convince me they aren’t.

    Reply

  8. Armond
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 07:55:13

    *DIES LAUGHING* “When you have to shoehorn yourself into a booth”
    omg brb I just peed

    Well, it’s true & you know what I’m talking about.

    I went out for Chinese today and there was a woman taking up the entire side of a booth with parts bulging out over the top and bottom of the table. She was having the buffet. I did not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

