I’ve Got a New Attitude

Today I went to work tired and crabby.  It seems most days lately I’ve been tired and crabby at work.  I mope around tripping over my own feet because I don’t have the energy to keep my damned Crocs on.  I can’t sleep because someone is taking up space in my mind.  I’m not going to say this person isn’t worth it, but the mental self mutilation I’ve been going through certainly isn’t.  The first thing I saw when I got to work was one of the servers sitting on the floor behind the cash register crying because of her on/off boyfriend and I came to a realization.

Waiting tables is a thankless job for (sometimes) little pay.  I have no control over how many customers we have, how much they feel like tipping or what their attitude is.  My financial well being is based on the generosity (or tight fistedness) of strangers.  People can take their bad day out on me or they can bring a little joy to my night.  There is so much I can’t control, but the one thing I can control is MY attitude.

Tonight I got a new attitude.  I stopped caring and I felt good from my head to my shoes.  The person taking up space in my head can be my friend.  Or not.  He can sulk at the back of the kitchen.  Or not.  He can be pissed at me.  Or not.  I don’t care anymore.  I like my job and most of co-workers too much to worry about how one person feels or if I’m doing the wrong thing at the wrong time.  Fuck that shit.  I’ve been so down for the last month plus that I haven’t felt like going to work or writing about work.  What’s the point in living if I can’t make fun of the assholes I encounter every day?  I am NOT going to be that server sitting on the floor crying over someone who can’t decide.  (And any of you co-workers who read this and want to run and tattle:  Be part of the solution, not part of the problem.)

I had an absolute blast tonight.  I flirted with my tables, danced to the music, and harassed my co-workers.  I laughed right out loud.  I enjoyed my job for the first time in a really long time.  I slapped Amber on the underside of her forearm and she slapped the back of my arm sofa king hard that I screamed and went to my knees in the waitstation.  Poor little Mrs. Rockefeller saw it all from the register and thought I was hurt, but my insane laughter kept her from coming to my aid.  Later, Amber walked by as I was taking an order and ding-donged my braid so hard I thought my head was going to snap off.  My table thought it was hilarious and Amber and I laughed til our sides ached.  Eventually the kitchen caught on to our fun and before long everyone was laughing, slapping and punching each other. 

A good time was had by all and that’s just the way it should be.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 01:00:09

    Never underestimate the importance of having fun on the job. A good portion of the day is spent at work and having fun at work can carry over.

    Work should be fun…if not, it’s time for a new job.

    Reply

  2. skippymom
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 01:20:32

    Sounds like a blast and just what you needed. Bravo!

    It was much needed and I plan to continue.

    Reply

  3. Catherine
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 01:22:34

    Life is so much better when we live it in the moment and live it with total honesty. Conditioning from the past and worries about the future and how people perceive us and what they are feeling can really drag you down. If they dont like you so what? And if they do like you, wow… what good taste they’ve got!

    So very true!

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 01:34:47

    Keep smiling, and laughing! It makes people wonder what you’ve been up to! Plus, there’s no revenge like living well. Good for you!

    *pokepoke*

    My thoughts exactly.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 09:17:35

    I’m sorry to hear things have been tough for you. I’m glad a simple mental shift for you can do so much to improve the situation around you and infect so many others. I didn’t ever guess the words “li’l ray of sunshine” would apply to you but … hey, live ‘n’ learn, right? 🙂

    Oh yeah, I’m just a freaking ray of sunshine. Truthfully, I am a pretty happy person and I make people laugh. I didn’t realize how much I could bring others down as well.

    Reply

  6. Sherri
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 09:30:33

    I like this post. 😀

    Thank you. Me too!

    Reply

  7. Sparty Girl
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 11:20:40

    Yay for you! You’re right: you’re the only one you can control, and agonizing over what other people do is only going to make you miserable. Keep havin’ fun!

    I’m going to!

    Reply

  8. Anton
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 14:28:39

    I am now imagining everyone as a bunch of giant kittens racing around the restaurant. Hysterical. 😀

    That would be fun even if it was unsanitary.

    Reply

  9. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 15:10:42

    Good for you! That is so cool that your attitude rubbed off on everyone else 🙂

    I sometimes forget what an alpha I am and how my mood determines how other people feel. It was nice to be reminded of that and to keep it up beat from now on.

    Reply

  10. An Educated Server
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 20:42:52

    This post definitely came at a timely manner. I often try to go into work with a positive attitude because I know that a lot of people feed off of my attitude. It’s like you said in your response above, you’re an alpha and your mood affects others in the restaurant. I feel that way a lot. I had a rough few days during this week, and I almost let an argument with a “manager” steal my joy. Going to work last night was rough, because I knew that I would see this guy again, and I didn’t want the negativity to spill into more days of my work week. It took about 10 minutes of me being in the restaurant last night (5 of which were spent fixing a floor plan mistake that HE made on purpose) to realize that he’s not important – making my money is. I turned my frown upside down and had an amazing Saturday night.

    I’m glad that things worked out for you and I wish you better days!

    Thank you! I am going to MAKE better days for myself from now on.

    Reply

  11. Chunk Mama (Katie)
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 01:28:25

    Yay! I am so happy to read that you had a good night and felt more like yourself. 🙂

    Also the sad kitty is ridiculously sad/cute!

    Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

  12. wigsf
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 05:35:48

    Try taking some omega 3 pills. I’ve found that my attitude has been more chipper since I’ve started taking those.

    I’m on anti-depressants and I have to watch what I take or I will freak the fuck out.

    Reply

  13. beckyb26
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 08:29:06

    I noticed, also, that being happy and having fun is a choice. So why not choose to be happy and have fun? It makes for a much more relaxing day…:)

    It is a choice. I refuse to give in to the joy-stealers and fun-stoppers.

    Reply

  14. Bunny
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 08:50:32

    So glad you came to this realization…it’s a lesson I sure needed right now.

    It is hard to be happy in the winter when everyone is broke and the wolves are howling at the door. I need to set the example of happiness in the face of adversity.

    Reply

  15. Onyx
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 12:04:56

    I’m happy you’re happy. Being honest with yourself is wonderful medicine.

    To thine own self be true.

    Reply

  16. ZMAN
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 17:07:40

    Yeah i am with the rest…sorry to hear about the woes of the previous month..but now you found your smile and thats what matters….so you know what….FUCK’em they cant take a joke…you go on with your bad shelf..be happy and laugh let everyone figure it out on their own…zman sends

    Oh yeah! My happy attitude has lasted several days and my customers and friends love it. Everyone else can go fuck themselves.

    Reply

  17. izziedarling
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 17:08:29

    Hey Pal … you have got it so right. I love your new attitude and would like a serving or 7; will tip 100-percent. Fuck that shit is one of my favorite terms. Keep laughing *iz

    Your saying of ‘Oh well, what the hell!” is what got me in this hot mess, so I’m glad you like my saying. HAHAHAHAHA!

    Reply

  18. Hira Animfefte
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 19:08:19

    Yay you! 🙂 Rock on with your bad self! 🙂

    I’m trying!

    Reply

  19. workingtechmom
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 21:13:02

    Good for you. Sounds like a lot of fun..except the hair pulling. 🙂

    Everybody needs a good hair pulling now and then. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

