I Didn’t Deserve That

Last night I had a young couple who I could NOT get my shit together on.  We weren’t that busy, but they were a little ways away from my other tables and I kept forgetting them.  It took forever for me to greet them.  I got their drinks, called in their appetizer and forgot to get their order until the appy was up.  Twice I forgot to refill their water.  They asked for boxes and I promptly started filling the caddies on my other tables.  I don’t know what was wrong with my brain.  When I finally took them the boxes and their check, I walked away thinking if I was them, I wouldn’t tip me.

After they left I went out to clean their table and sure enough, there was no tip.  I was relieved because I certainly didn’t provide the service they deserved.  Then I picked up a bowl and found a ten dollar bill under it.  Ten dollars on a twenty five dollar ticket.  I felt like shit.  I didn’t deserve a dollar let alone ten.  I suppose it makes up for all the other assholes who run my ass off and leave me 5%, but it really made me feel guilty.

In my last post I said, “I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!”  Well, a former roll-in-the-hay applied for a job.  We are on good terms and I have no interest in him, but if he is hired, holy shit.  Talk about shaking things up.  He stands a good chance of being hired since he has the experience and we need some help right now.  Oh geez.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Onyx
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 17:14:37

    Perhaps they saw that you weren’t having a great night. Your service couldn’t have been bad then.

    We went to our favourite place the other night, it was dead, and the usual girls weren’t working. It was a girl we hadn’t seen before. She was sweet, but something seemed off. After she left, we debated what could have been off about her. We heard her tending to the other tables, and it just didnt sound like she was having a great night. When our orders arrived, mine was wrong, a minor thing, but not how I’d ordered it. We had to flag her down, took awhile, but whatever. I felt bad and guilty sending my food back (I get very upset at the thought of food being wasted in restaurants, or anywhere for that matter), and she brought it back, and apologized, profusely. We told her it wasn’t the end of the world, and not to worry. She then proceeded to tell us it was her first week. I felt a million times worse for sending my food back, but it was too late.

    Her service was fine though, shakey, but fine, and she was sweet. We tipped her 20%, regardless of my order being wrong, because the food was still amazing, the service was nothing to complain about, and frankly, she wasn’t rude or anything. She didn’t check in us as often as the other girls do, but that’s fine. We’re all human.

    She wasn’t having a great night, and we could see that, a low tip isn’t going to make it any better. You can get more bees with honey. I hope no one stiffed that girl for a shakey night.

    The first job I ever had serving people that wasn’t retail… It was hell. I have so much respect for servers, you put up with a lot of bullshit, and not for great money, and tips are debatable depending on the day. The first time I had to work solo, I was ready to crash and burn. I was making mistakes, couldn’t get orders right, going too slow, I couldn’t figure out what the best order to do everything was… I was ready to cry, I felt it was going so badly, and then one man stopped me and told me I was doing fine. To breathe, and it would be okay. He tipped me well on top of it. I was so thankful for that man showing up.

    I think sometimes, it’s good to remember everyone is human. And sometimes, we’re not always on the ball, no matter what our job entails.

    Usually when I’m having a really off night I joke that it’s my first night or first week. I hope you weren’t “had”. I always feel bad for the new servers who really don’t know what’s going on and get a 10% night. It isn’t their fault for not knowing the service you are accustomed to.

    Reply

  2. zmanowner
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 18:18:53

    Cat

    Its Karma….good things happen when you dont think they are giong to ..or is that serendippity…well either way…they prolly saw that you had your hustle on all over the place…a former roll in they hay huh…YEAH…looking forward to read the next chapter….zman sends

    Or they were used to getting crappy service all over town and didn’t realize how good our service usually is. o_O Hehe…yeah, the former roll in the hay will make the Boy Cook shit or get off the pot. It will be interesting…

    Reply

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:33:08

    Maybe your service was not as bad in their eyes as what you think you provided. Apparently, you were much better than what you thought. Hang in there 🙂

    I am always amazed at the shitty service I get around town. I still tip well because that’s just who I am, but DAMN. I leave other restaurants thinking if I did the same thing I’d be reprimanded.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:53:12

    Oh, that’s going to get interesting. Gosh, and I thought it was a soap opera BEFORE. Tick, tock, tick, tock… 😉

    Tick, tock indeed. I like my life to be ordinary and boring, but shit gets thrown in my path that I can only laugh about.

    Reply

  5. The Restaurant Manager
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 23:08:27

    The Restaurant god’s were looking down upon you very favorably that night!! Good for you!

    I need a Patron Saint for servers!

    Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment!

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 23:28:30

    Goodness, life sure never gets boring for you! LOL

    I KNOW! I try to plod through life and shit just keeps happening.

    You got a good tip so that was nice.

    The former RitH, well now, as long as you’re on good terms, you’ll probably just remain friends at work. Remember, you’re the cat who ate the canary, just smile and it’ll be fine! 🙂

    Oh, I have no problems with the former RitH. He’s smart, funny & sarcastic. He gives the best hugs and kisses, but I’m not interested. He will make the Boy Cook shit his pants, though. That little shit needs to own up to his feelings or get off me! Hell…TMI.

    Reply

  7. PurpleGirl
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 02:38:30

    Aww, how cool of them!

    I was embarrassed by their generosity. 😦

    Reply

  8. skippymom
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 04:57:04

    I bet they are either servers or have been servers in their time.

    Sounds like the kind of tip we leave. 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear whether or not he is hired. giggle.

    Darren is pretty certain he’s going to offer him a job and FRitH says he wants to work there, so…

    Reply

  9. Fuck My Table
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 07:35:57

    That sounds like something I have done. I usually try to give someone the benefit of the doubt since I know shit happens, everyone has off days, and sometimes you just don’t perform at your best for whatever reason. Sounds like that couple understands.

    I’ve had this happen to me before too and I feel awful. If I’ve screwed up big time I don’t expect a tip and am happy for whatever (usually tiny) tip they do leave. When they leave me much more than I deserved…man, it kills me.

    It makes me want to chase them down in the parking lot and give them change.

    Reply

  10. Sherri
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 07:47:09

    I’ve done that, too. When I see the waitress running her ass off I figure they’re short-handed, and she’s definitely working for her money, even if she’s spread a little thin.

    I can’t WAIT to hear more about this new guy.

    HAHAHA! Oh, you will…

    Reply

  11. Sparty Girl
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 14:36:32

    Heck, following your adventures gives me something to look forward to. Bring on the former RITH. hee hee

    Yeah, I don’t serve as an example, but rather a warning…

    Reply

  12. Hira Animfefte
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 19:04:39

    I can’t wait to hear what new adventures hiring the former RiTH will bring…it sounds juicy. Heh heh.

    With me, it’s always something.

    Reply

  13. workingtechmom
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 21:16:04

    Hey, maybe the table just wanted some down time, weren’t in a hurry, and enjoyed the slow pace of enjoying dinner. They obviously wanted to tip you for their reason, and isn’t that what it’s all about?

    That was probably their deal. I like it best when the server brings me what I want and leaves me alone.

    Hope the soap opera drama all works out the right way for you.

    It is a soap opera, isn’t it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

