Catching Up

I’ve been working 7 days a week now so I’m a little behind on the blogging.  I have issues to discuss, but I’m afraid they have to be bulleted items and not long winded rants:

  • Hockey parents.  Oh yes, it is that time again.  We had the biggest cluster fuck on Saturday night, which left Amber standing in the waitstation holding a pitcher of water, looking like she was facing an oncoming train.  Here’s the deal assholes, if you want the entire team and all the parents to sit together, you need to COME IN TOGETHER as a group.  Don’t stagger in by twos and threes and keep stacking tables in one server’s section.  That one server can’t handle it, she can’t get organized enough to take your order, you are going to get your food sometime next week and you’re going to leave pissed off.  We do this for a living.  We know what we’re doing.  We don’t come to where you work and fuck up your day, so why do you come to where we work and fuck up ours?  Oh, because we are just food service workers…that’s right.
  • Water refills.  When I ask if you would like more water, that is a clue that I need you to move your damned glass.  Don’t just tell me you do and sit there like a retard.  Put some effort into it!  Unless you want me to crawl across the table, you need to scoot your glass closer to me.  This really is self evident.
  • Dirty plates.  When I ask if I can get your plate out of the way, I’m not really asking.  I’m not even suggesting.  I’m TELLING you that you are finished eating and that nasty plate is annoying the shit out of me.  I don’t care that you have one fry and a scrap of lettuce left.  Stick both in your mouth and give me the damned plate!  It is far easier for me to piss ant plates to the dish pit rather than wait until you’re gone and clean the entire table.  Not only that, but seeing you sitting in your own filth makes my skin crawl. 

That’s all for now, folks!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amber
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 15:46:23

    I hear you on the refill thing. Something about coming in to a restaurant robs people of the use of their hands and arms. It is uncanny.

    It also robs them of their common sense.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 16:46:11

    Some people just don’t think.

    And I doubt I’ll ever be a hockey mom, but if I am, I’ll be sure to organize any party I’m a part of. 🙂

    Hockey moms would eat you alive.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 17:32:59

    Huh. I think most large parties who come in have a tendency to WARN the people working there that a LARGE PARTY is coming. It’s interesting these people don’t let the hostess know “Oh, there’s about thirty more of us coming. We’ll be sitting together.”

    We have football, basketball, volleyball, and swim teams who can figure out this concept. It is only hockey parents who insist on taking over the restaurant and making everyone miserable. Their sense of entitlement is overwhelming.

    Reply

  4. The Restaurant Manager
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 18:15:33

    Hello there!! You just got an award, come check it out at my blog: http://bit.ly/egqTse

    Thank you! I’ll get going on the award tonight!

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 04:57:25

    Hockey parents suck.

    That’s an understatement. My leading search terms are: “dealing with hockey parents” “hockey moms suck” “why are hockey moms such bitches”. Obviously, I’m not the only one who hates hockey parents.

    Reply

  6. Ashley
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 22:22:35

    UGH. I hear you on the water thing, I hate how I have to lay my boobs out across the table to reach a glass at the other end sometimes.

    HAHA! Maybe that’s what they want.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

