A Couple of Things

My least favourite thing happened tonight.  I went into the restroom and one of my customers followed me in.  That ooogs me out because I can barely go pee if I think my tables might know.  If I’m in the section by the restrooms, I won’t pee all night since I don’t want them looking at me when I come out.  This woman followed me in, took the other stall and decided to have a conversation with me, because, you know, we’re best friends.  She even called me by name as I was peeing!  Holy crap, lady!  Back off and go find someone else to play with!  I’m your server, not your restroom buddy.  It’s called privacy, boundaries, and decency…get some.

************

On Wednesday night, Amber had a guy in her section she thought was a hottie.  She made me do a fly-by as soon as I walked in, and when I got back to the waitstation I told her I didn’t see the attraction.  He looked like a street person, all scruffy and unkempt.  She insisted he was hot.  Different tastes, I guess.

When he went to the register to pay, she said, rather loudly, “I’m gonna have dirty dreams about him tonight.”

I said, “I don’t think he’s that good looking,” as I leaned out of the waitstation.  The guy was standing rightthere and looking at us.  I’m certain he heard every word.  We roared with embarrassed laughter.  We really need to learn that just because customers can’t see us, it doesn’t mean they can’t hear us.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 03:41:16

    I SO get the customer following you into the bathroom. Eek.

    And I am giggling over embarrassing yourselves.

    Been there. Bought the t-shirt. 😀

    We embarrass ourselves frequently. Someday we’ll learn…

    Reply

  2. Armond
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 05:59:59

    Oh lawd. Our whole fucking restaurant is made of TILE Even the WALLS upfront so EVERYONE can hear us… one day as I was rolling silver wear i could hear a comvo that two servers where having.. and I ways all the way in the back. from then on I only wispier that kinda shit lol

    Every once in a while, we’ll be talking about a cook who is nowhere around and suddenly we hear him yell, “I CAN HEAR YOU!” At least the customers don’t yell that.

    Reply

  3. Bunny
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 08:57:37

    OMG I would die if someone followed me to the rest room like that. But funny about the guy. Wonder if he’ll be back?

    I didn’t know what to do. I tried to back out, but I’d had about 4 cups of coffee and I was going to pee my pants. It was bad enough peeing in front of a customer, but a conversation?! Oy!

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 10:29:52

    I have a hard time with public restrooms. I think the words “public” and “restroom” don’t belong in the same idea, never mind the same TERM.

    I wish we had an employee restroom in the back, but then I’d have to clean that too. 😦

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 11:10:29

    I’ve heard some women have what’s called hobo fever where they are attracted to the scruffiest dirtiest person they can find. It’s a weird fetish, but who am I to complain. Homeless people need their lovin’ too.

    This guy had a girlfriend so it must be true. I don’t want to have to worry about giving a man a bath before I can take his clothes off.

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 14:20:09

    When somebody tries to strike up a conversation with me in the bathroom, I make a point of the lack of lounge chairs and that public bathrooms basically only have one purpose.

    I shudder when I go into a public restroom and DO see lounge chairs. WTF?!

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 20:30:48

    Hahahahaha! Maybe he thought you were talking about someone else. 🙂

    Oh, I’m pretty sure he knew we were talking about him.

    Reply

  8. Fuck My Table
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 23:22:18

    God, I hate having to pee at work but I work at least one double a week so it’s kind of inevitable. I, too, hate seeing a person from one of my tables in the bathroom. It’s awkward.

    It’s bad enough that a customer sees me in the restroom, but I want to faint when it’s MY customer in there.

    There was a table of three guys – two very homely-looking and one that was cute…but only by comparison! I commented to a coworker (on the other end of the restaurant) that he must hang around with those guys to make himself look better…and then realized he had just come out of the bathroom and walked by as I said that. I don’t know if he realized I was talking about him, but they only left me 5% on a $40 tab so fuck ’em either way.

    HAHAHAHA! Yeah, fuck ’em.

    Reply

  9. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 19:29:11

    Your customers just freak me out! I would never think of striking up a conversation through a stall door….

    Me neither. I won’t even ask a stranger to throw me a roll if mine’s empty.

    Reply

  10. zmanowner
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 16:13:00

    Cat

    Hey you are just callin like you see it. It totally freaks me out when i am taking a leak in a public bathroom and some douche stands right next to me when their are like 10 open urinals…and its always how about them yankees or bears or some freakin thing…i totally feel ya on THE GET OUT OF MY SPACE thing..but some folks got no home training…zman sends

    I could never be a guy with the open urinal thing. The cooks use the toilet in the stall because customers in the restroom freaks them out too.

    Reply

  11. Armond
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 06:36:43

    I fucking love how O.C.D you are >;)

    Oh…if you only knew…

    Reply

  12. Serenity
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 15:55:35

    Ugh, I don’t even like it when people I KNOW try to talk to me when I’m doing my business, let alone a stranger. There’s a lady I work with that always does that, AND she’s always on her phone in the stall. Grosses me out.

    Oh yuck! People who talk on the phone while doing their business have no manners at all. If I think I’m talking to someone who is in the restroom, I’ll hang up.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

  13. Onyx
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 17:12:57

    I did that once. Went out after work with my co-workers, and my fiance, we ordered some appies, and drinks upon drinks, and it was grand.

    But my god the waiter was cute, and I drank tequila quickly, and kept commenting that he was good looking, and sure enough, he was right behind me one of the times I blurted it out. Red in the face.

    Another shot of tequila fixed it though 🙂

    Ah…tequila. I don’t drink it cuz I either want to fight or fuck and either way, I lose all my friends.

    Reply

  14. workingtechmom
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 12:37:59

    Love the embarrassing moment. And no, I don’t think you will learn! 🙂

    As for the restroom incident…at work, sometimes people come to my desk and ask if I have 5 minutes. Once, I said yes, but I’ll be right back and the woman said “oh, if you’re going to the restroom, I’ll just come with you and we can keep talking”. No thanks.

    Ick. Why would she want to go to the restroom with you?! That’s just rude.

    Reply

  15. Aly
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 17:02:50

    Boundaries. Hmph. I worked at a bar/restaurant one time a few years ago (was there nearly 2 years, go me!) I had gone into the bathroom to “do business” So i am there, still doing #1, and i hear this obviously “ghetto” voice saying “Um, worker! Hey you worker(yes she used the word WORKER), i see your shoes and pants, i know you work here. Ya’ll are outta paper towels, you need to fix that..like now” And stood there waiting. I didn’t respond (Of course, i’m on the toilet!), and she proceeded to leave and complain to management. Luckily he thought it was amusing, but told her to finish her drinks and leave (as she was causing other troubles, but that was icing on the cake.) The nerve some people have *sighs*

    WTF?! I lose my mind on people like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

