Taken Aback

Just when I think I’ve seen/heard it all, someone comes along and makes my jaw hit the floor.  Last night I had a couple for All You Can Eat Beef Ribs.  He was about my age and she was 27.  I know, because I carded her for the wine she ordered.  I couldn’t really decide if she was the guy’s daughter or his wife/girlfriend, but either way she needs to kick his ass to the curb.

First off, he asked if he could sample one of the ribs before he ordered them.  This isn’t Costco.  We don’t do free samples.  When I returned to the table with their drinks, I asked if they needed more time.  He said no and she said yes.  I sort of stood at the end of the table wondering what the hell to do when he said to her, “I said NO.  We don’t need more time.  Choose your damn side dishes NOW.”

Uh…WTF?!

He ordered, then told her if she didn’t order rightnow she wasn’t going to get anything to eat.  Again, WTF?!  She was 27 years old and he was treating her like a special needs 12 year old.  I figured she was going to gouge his eyes out so I stepped back from the table to keep the spatter off me when she smiled very sweetly at him and ordered her sides.

She power chugged her wine, so I offered to get her another when I brought the food out.  Then she asked for a third.  I was about 2 steps away from the table when I heard him bellow, “Hold up there!  How much is that shit anyway?”

“Three dollars a glass.”

“No.  You can’t have any more.”

“Please?  I want another glass.”

“I SAID NO!”

She smiled very sweetly at me and said she didn’t want the third glass.

Now, I’m not an expert on couple dynamics, but I’m willing to bet that dude is going to end up with an ax in his back someday soon.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 01:40:39

    If she’s smart she will. Then again, if she was smart, she wouldn’t be with him, right? Sometimes the smart doesn’t show up until right around the time you file for divorce.

    27? I give her 2 more years.

    If she doesn’t get rid of him like bad luggage by the time she’s 30, there’s no hope for her.

    Reply

  2. thelifeofjamie
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 07:51:41

    he sounds charming!

    I know I was charmed. I wanted to fight her in the parking lot for him.

    Reply

  3. Chunky Mama (Katie)
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 10:54:49

    What an asshole. That shit would’ve gotten him a boot upside the head at my house.

    I have no patience for that crap.

    By the way, I left you an award on my blog today at http://chunkandthegang.blogspot.com/
    You can choose to follow the award “rules”, or not, entirely up to you of course. I just wanted to send you some blog love because I’ve been following you since last summer and just started blogging myself.

    Well thank you!! I’ll check out your blog and add it to my reader.

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 11:05:20

    Unfortunately, some women lack self-esteem and will tolerate people like that for years and years and take their sorrow to the grave that their man digs for them.

    Wow! Very well put.

    Reply

  5. Mariyn
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 12:05:56

    Chunks Mom sent me and I’m glad she did.
    Linking to you 🙂

    Thank you! I’ll check out your blog, too!

    Reply

  6. MICHELE NYC
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 19:11:03

    i would have treated the 27 yr. old to the third glass, in hopes that she’d crack his skull open with it! miss you!

    Damn! I didn’t think of that. I could use a full out brawl in my section. Miss you too!!

    Reply

  7. Ahmnodt Heare
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 20:29:06

    If she is treated like that in public, I’d hate to think what she puts up with at home.

    Oh hell yeah. My abusive ex-husband was always nice in public since he didn’t want anyone to know what an asshole he really was. When they give up the appearance…oh my…

    Reply

  8. DarcKnyt
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 22:13:13

    I’ll thank you to keep your nose out of my marriage, thanks very much.

    (J/K)

    He’s a real charmer. And yeah, ax in the back in three… two… one…

    I’m sorry, I didn’t recognize you and Falcon. HAHA! I wish she had killed him with a rib bone right at the table.

    Reply

  9. workingtechmom
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 10:43:40

    I wish I could believe you were making this shit up.

    Tell me, did he tip you?

    Surprisingly, yes he did…almost 20%.

    Reply

  10. Fuck My Table
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 15:05:41

    What a cockbag. I might have strangled him right there at the table if he was my guy. Luckily my guy isn’t an asshole.

    I hate seeing shit like that because if you call him out on it, she’ll get punished for it at home and she’s not confident enough to just leave the bad relationship. Christ.

    I tend to run screaming from tables like that. Keep your fighting and control issues at home!

    Reply

  11. Shannon
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 09:19:07

    I sure as hell hope she does something to get away from that creep! I hate waiting on couples like that because I always want to be such a bitch to the abuser, but fear that doing so would make them be nastier.

    It’s a no-win situation and you just hope you don’t get dragged into their little pschyo drama.

    Reply

  12. hilary
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 15:54:36

    Ummm…. I think the coolest part of the story is that the wine is only $3.00 a glass……..

    Reply

  13. izziedarling
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 11:05:52

    I had to read this twice. What a dbag. If he comes back, can you slip and accidently stab him?

    I have a feeling she’s going to poison him before long.

    Reply

  14. Marty
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 08:15:10

    Just found your blog, like your style…She needs to bitch slap his ass for sure…What a loser!

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

  15. Hira Animfefte
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 10:31:04

    Ugh. I hate abusive relationships. I hope she finds the courage to get out. And how hard to be a server in such a situation. 😦

    It is awkward to say the least. The absolute worst situation is when the guy tells his woman how attractive you are while you’re standing at the table. Shit just goes downhill from there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

