Super Bowl Sunday

For the record, I am NOT working tomorrow.  I don’t care if somebody dies.  I’m. Not. Working.

I’ve worked the last 3 Super Bowl Sundays and they all sucked.

  • Super Bowl #1-I didn’t make enough money to cover gas, but at least we got to watch the game and snack on free appetizers.
  • Super Bowl #2-I didn’t make enough money to cover gas, someone shit on the men’s room floor & tracked it all through the dining room AFTER I already mopped.  No game.  No free appetizers.
  • Super Bowl #3-I didn’t make enough money to cover gas.  I stood around for 4 hours wishing lightning would strike me.  No game.  No free appetizers.

Again, I don’t care.  I’m. Not. Working.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 03:05:15

    Good call. I won’t work either. Solidarity, right? 🙂

    Reply

  2. skippymom
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 05:58:09

    I am glad you are staying home. Put your feet up, grab a yummy drink, some appetizers of your choice and laugh at all the great commercials. You deserve it!

    Hope you have a great day.:D

    Reply

  3. Pyewacketcat
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 06:28:10

    I don’t blame you, I live in Ft.Worth,and I can’t tell you the stupidity I have seen the last week since this has started….. so I imagine the people here are broke from buying the tickets,and crazy from the snow/ice storm we have had.
    I hope you have a wonderful day off, and enjoy the quiet,and keep your gas money. 🙂

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 08:10:27

    somebody shit on the floor? What is wrong with the people who come into your restaurant??? I hear more poo problems than I could ever imagine!

    Yep. Never in all my years of food service have I had to clean up this much shit.

    Reply

  5. Fuck My Table
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 09:36:06

    I have to work, and I know it’s going to suck. We might get the usual church crowd, but then we’re going to be fucking dead. Our bar is too tiny to accommodate more than 15 people comfortably (but there’s always about 40 in there of course) and no one picks Chili’s to go watch the SuperBowl. Our drinks are overpriced and there are only two TVs in there, one of which half the tables can’t even see.
    Everyone will be going to wing places or staying at fucking home and ordering pizza.

    The only two parts that will be busy at my place are the bar and to-go, and I’m not working either of them. Here’s to not making any fucking money. Woohoo.

    Reply

  6. foxpen
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 10:43:23

    Just so happens, the restaurant I work at called me off my morning + lunch shift today. Nobody wants to eat seafood when they can have chile at home.
    Time to sit back, relax, and snack on chips while burly men in marshmallow padding tackle each other for some pig skin!

    Reply

  7. Mom
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 10:58:07

    It’s a holiday, you all should get overtime if you have to work….our cows still want to eat today…what’s up with that…overtime for me…

    Reply

  8. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 14:54:57

    I don’t blame ya for not wanting to work…. enjoy your quiet time at home…. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Ahmnodt Heare
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 20:44:02

    The last time I worked on a Super Bowl Sunday was the Super Bowl between the Giants and Ravens. I worked at a Wal-Mart in Northeastern Pennsylvania (Which was more fans of new York teams than Pennsylvania teams). Add a blizzard to the mix and there were only two customers in the store while the Super Bowl was on. (And they both got in my way as I was bring merchandise to the sales floor.)

    Imagine that.

    Reply

  10. PurpleGirl
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 22:47:27

    I requested it off — and surprisingly got it — because I knew it wouldn’t be worth it. I knew Lapdog would copy the schedule over to next week and I’d be short a shift again, but whatever. Not worth sitting around for eight hours doing nothing!

    Reply

  11. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 01:06:09

    I hope you enjoyed the game! We tried to keep up with it on our phones, with that NFL app thingy. 🙂

    Woo!

    Happy day off!

    Reply

  12. wigsf
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 05:00:32

    By the looks of it, the years you worked it, you shouldn’t have worked it so yeah, stay home and read a book instead.

    Reply

  13. Jamie
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 21:37:21

    I called the restaurant and talked to Cora. I humored her for five minutes and was disappointed to know that no one shit on the bathroom floor 😦

    I don’t care who shits on the floor as long as I’m not there.

    Reply

  14. zmanowner
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 13:39:02

    You should get all the time off you want..maybe its time i talk to the boss and smacked them around like the guy in Goodfellas…just lemme at um……hope your day off was enjoyable…zman sends

    Reply

  15. Fuck My Table
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 22:57:41

    Hey! Where are you, Holly? You’d better be dead or not working, because if you’ve been holding out on us…!

    Just kidding. I’m itching for some posts to read over here and it’s been almost a week…throw me a bone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

