Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon

Tonight we were playing Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon, you know, where someone gives you the name of an actor or actress and you link them to Kevin Bacon in 6 people or less.  I had some challenges:

Liv Tyler:  The easy route was Thing You Do with Tom Hanks who was in Apollo 13 with Kevin Bacon.  (1)

I went the hard way:  Liv Tyler was in Jersey Girl with Ben Affleck who was in Good Will Hunting with Matt Damon who was in Ocean’s 11 with Julia Roberts who was in Flatliners with Kevin Bacon. (3)

Matthew McConaughey:  Fool’s Gold with Kate Hudson, who is the step-daughter of Kurt Russell, who was in Tombstone with Billy Bob Thornton, who was in Bandits with Cate Blanchett, who was in The Missing with Tommy Lee Jones who was in JFK with (whew) Kevin Bacon. (5)

Jim Carrey:  Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless mind with Mark Ruffalo who was in In the Cut with Kevin Bacon. (1)

Gerard Butler:  PS I Love You with Hilary Swank who was in Million Dollar Baby, directed by Clint Eastwood who also directed Mystic River starring Kevin Bacon. (2)

Robert Pattinson:  Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire with Alan Rickman who was in Robin Hood with Morgan Freeman who was in Se7en with Brad Pitt who was in Sleepers with Kevin Bacon. (3) 

Joan Cusack:  Sister of John Cusack who was in Con Air with Nicolas Cage, who was in The Family Man with Don Cheadle who was in Ocean’s 11 with Julia Roberts who was in Flatliners with Kevin Bacon. (4)

Miley Cyrus:  WTF??  Miley Cyrus is not an actress. 

Yes, she is.  She had a movie.

Well, so did The Spice Girls.  Are you going to tell me they are actresses…except:

The Spice Girls:  Spice World featured Alan Cumming who was in Spy Kids, directed by Robert Rodriguez who also directed George Clooney in From Dusk ’til Dawn who was in Ocean’s 11 with Julia Roberts who was in Flatliners with Kevin Bacon. (4)

I refused to even try Miley Cyrus.  No freaking way.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 01:38:35

    Oh my gosh! LOL You know way more about movies than I could ever dream of. I’m lucky if I can remember if I even saw something, let alone who was in it or anything else about it.

    I haven’t played it in a few years so I was a little rusty tonight. I also haven’t been watching as many movies as I used to so I don’t know a lot of the new actors.

    Tiny tidbit about ol’ Kev though. Years and years ago I used to watch a daytime soap and he was in it as a teen. Way before that dancing movie he did.

    I was thinking it was Guiding Light, but it was Search for Tomorrow. I don’t usually count TV appearances/roles in the game.

    Reply

    • DarcsFalcon
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 02:37:51

      Can’t speak for Search for Tomorrow, but I used to watch Guiding Light – that’s where I saw him. 🙂

      I did a quick IMDB search to see if I was right and I only saw Search for Tomorrow. Maybe I should have looked farther down on the list.

      Reply

    • Bunny
      Feb 26, 2011 @ 14:09:37

      No..he was definitely on Guiding Light when he was young. He played Phillip. It was the only soap my mom and I watched. He may have been on Search for Tomorrow too, but he was on Guiding Light without a doubt. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Brighid
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 04:31:10

    I couldn’t resist:

    Miley Cyrus was in The Last Song with Greg Kinnear who was in As Good As It Gets with Jack Nicholson who was in A Few Good Men with Kevin Bacon. I used to love this game!

    Well good for you! 🙂 I’m still going to argue that Miley Cyrus is not an actress.

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 06:21:57

    Miley should be easy, since Greg Kinnear was in her movie. He’s been in a lot of stuff.

    Sorry, I’m sticking to my guns. She’s not an actress.

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 07:53:14

    A Few Good Men and Sleepers have made that parlour game way too easy.
    For a challenge, go the music route. Use only musicians. It’s harder, but it can be done with most any major label musician.

    I don’t know enough about musician to play that game. I try to stay away from the obvious with Kevin Bacon. I was also given David Spade and I could have said: Adam Sandler in Grown Ups also starred in Anger Management with Jack Nicholson who was in A Few Good Men with Kevin Bacon. Instead I went with Adam Sandler in Grown Ups also starred in Click with Kate Beckinsale who was in Van Helsing with Hugh Jackman who was in Kate & Leopold with Meg Ryan who was in In the Cut with Kevin Bacon.

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 07:54:05

    And I’ll be damned if Miley Cyrus is considered a musician.

    No shit.

    Reply

  6. paulac7
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 14:58:40

    Never heard of this game–I *really* need to get out more…Now I have something to torment my co-workers with!! Thanks!

    >^.^<

    My coworkers hadn’t heard of it either, which is why I started showing off. Unfortunately, they hadn’t heard of half the old movies he’s been in. Young people these days.

    Reply

  7. DarcKnyt
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 20:31:30

    Wow, you did GREAT! I couldn’t have gotten any of these because I forgot Julia Roberts was in Flatliners (which as an AWESOME movie).

    I haven’t played in years so I was a little slow getting started, but once I got rolling, there was no stopping me.

    Reply

  8. Bob
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 06:10:49

    I think you are counting your degrees wrong. I think you need to add one to all your examples.

    Nope, the person you are connecting doesn’t count and neither does Kevin Bacon. For example…Julia Roberts to Kevin Bacon = 0 degrees since they were both in Flatliners together.

    Reply

  9. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 09:18:03

    I agree with ya….Myley is NOT an actress!….. She might think she is…but she’s not…..

    I think I’m an actress, but guess what?!

    Reply

  10. LS
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 13:28:49

    According to the Oracle of Bacon, my Bacon number is 4.

    Reply

  11. dbd27
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 18:55:00

    A shorter connection for Matthew McConaughey would be Failure to Launch with Sarah Jessica Parker and then SJP to Kevin Bacon in Footloose.

    Would you consider Miley Cyrus’s voice? Not even as a singer…she did the voice of Penny for the movie Bolt, which John Travolta also ‘starred’ and he is in Phenomenon with Kyra Sedgwick (Lemon Sky or The Woodsman with Kevin Bacon).

    Good job! I haven’t been keeping up with movies lately and I admit I’m a little rusty at the game.

    I might allow the voice in a cartoon, but no, she’s still not an actress.

    Reply

    • Hira Animfefte
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 23:50:51

      @yellowcat–Whoa. That is very impressive movie knowledge. Mad props! 🙂

      If you really want to add challenge, exclude Scientologists from your Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon game! 😉 No Tom Cruise, No John Travolta, etc. If that’s even possible.

      Well that’s just not fair. 🙂

      I just read an unofficial (but obsessively researched) bio of L. Ron Hubbard. Seriously wack stuff there, man.

      I remember a time when his book was on every shelf of every store. It freaked me out back then and I was just a kid.

      Reply

  12. Trackback: News Source » Blog Archive » Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon « Do You Do That at Home?

Leave a Reply

