I’m Sorry You Hate Your Kids…

…and can’t stand to spend one more minute with them that you absolutely have to, but when you come to the restaurant and you all want separate tickets, you WILL sit together.  This bullshit of all the adults on one side of the restaurant and all the kids on the other isn’t going to happen.  I don’t care how pissed off you get.  I don’t care if you sit with your kids and pout and cry (yes, one woman actually cried because we told her she had to sit with her kids).  I don’t care if you leave in a huff.  There is a sign at the front which reads, “Please wait to be seated.”  It is not a suggestion.  The hostess will seat your party together and you will like it.

I’ve said this a million times and I’m going to say it again:  I don’t come to where you work and tell you how to do your job, so why do you feel it is okay to come to where I work and tell me how to do mine?  Is it because I’m “just a waitress”.  I’m willing to wager I’m better educated and have a higher IQ.  For one thing, I can read a menu and I can follow directions.  When someone tells me, “Don’t sit at that table yet, I have to wipe it down,” I do what she asks.  I don’t sit down and tell her the table is dirty when she returns with a towel.  I also don’t feel like a complete idiot when she makes me get out of the booth so she can clean off the table.

Tonight was one gigantic clusterfuck of bossy, asinine parents and unruly children.  It makes me glad I had my tubes tied.  I read other servers’ blogs and I have yet to read a post about parents who think they can harass the staff, create utter panic and disorder, and fabricate complaints about their server when they couldn’t do whatever the fuck they wanted.  For some reason, this happens on a regular basis at the restaurant.  WTF?!  I ask you.  WTF?!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pyewacketcat
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 07:32:37

    Amazing ,isn’t it,that we have to have a license for everything BUT being a parent…. totally baffles me.
    WTF is right.

    These people would have their licenses revoked.

    Reply

  2. thelifeofjamie
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 10:35:31

    I only bring my kids to noisy restaurants and at 5 o’clock before the devil comes out to play- and we leave a large tip…no one should have to clean up after my kids just because. We do our best to make it as pleasant an experience as possible! (But i was a waitress for 5 years…)

    These were middle school/high school age kids. The issue isn’t with the kids as much as the way the parents want to manage everything. “We are going to sit at Table 5 and we have 1 kid at that table over there and two kids at that table over there. All the families need separate tickets.”

    What happens is either one server spends all her time running all over the damned restaurant taking orders and delivering food or one server takes the kids and one takes the adults. The server who takes the adults is the only one who gets tipped. Either way it’s bullshit.

    Reply

  3. NayNay
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 13:14:17

    I just can’t even imagine taking my daughter out to a restaurant and making her sit at a separate table. WTF, indeed.

    These were teams of kids with their parents. Hockey teams. We all know how bad I hate hockey parents. The parents all wanted to sit together (why, I don’t know. My son played hockey long enough I know the parents all hate each other) but away from the kids who wanted to sit together. Oh…and they all didn’t arrive at the same time, but they wanted to hold tables for the rest of their friends who were coming “sometime” and were pissed off when they were told they couldn’t hold tables. I hate hockey parents.

    Reply

  4. A
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 14:19:59

    I once had a party that arrived separately and stayed for three hours rotating out people (as in here are 8 of us we eat and six of us leave then seven more of us show up so the last four leave…etc…etc) seriously sucked.

    Thankfully, I’ve never had that happen.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 18:40:24

    Last night I was at a restaurant for dinner. A chain restaurant, sat in the bar section because somebody I was dining with HAD TO watch the hockey game. I was sitting in the middle of three booths. Both the booth behind my back and the booth I was facing had rambuncious children. One of my dining partners was a pregnant woman. Her and her husband already have one child. Basically, they got a baby sitter for the night to have dinner with me. It was all I could not to say “Children suck!” At one point a beer coaster came flying into the booth, hit the pregnant woman in the head and landed right next to the dessert. A woman from the offending table stood up and stand “I’m sorry.” She didn’t sound too apologetic.

    Kids in a bar. One of my pet peeves. You should be able to go places where they aren’t allowed.

    Reply

  6. An Educated Server
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 20:29:35

    This is a prime example of why I can’t wait to be a parent. I want to be able to walk into a restaurant with my well-behaved children and show people how it’s done! 🙂

    But, seriously, how could the parents not see how difficult it would be to have the kids sit in a totally different section? Even if you hate your kids, halt the drama long enough to eat, and then resume it once your done eating, paying, and tipping. And then, don’t come back. Ever!

    People don’t give a shit about the work load they put on servers. Our job is to wait on inconsiderate people.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 22:01:27

    I can’t get my head around people not wanting to sit with their children. You raised them! If you don’t like them that’s on YOU!

    I love being with my kids. Heh, I’d better, we have a 24/7 thing going on here what with the homeschool too. 🙂

    I’ve seen parents let their kids run wild in some places around here. I say wild – wild animals aren’t as obnoxious as some kids I’ve seen. No offense to wildness intended.

    I think that’s what they want…they can sit with their adult friends, drink, visit and let the kids do whatever they want. Someone else will clean up the mess and babysit the kids. The problem is, I’m not a babysitter and there is a place where kids can run wild: McDonalds.

    Reply

  8. Rachel
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 23:41:21

    You had a grown woman actually cry because she had to sit by her own kids? I don’t care if it would get me fired, I probably would have laughed my behind off if that happened to me!

    By that point I was so frustrated with everyone I could only stare at her.

    I had one guy take his BABY in a stroller into the bar…and left the kid there for four hours.

    That’s child abuse as far as I’m concerned.

    Reply

  9. theblonde
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 19:26:51

    Oh, what I wouldn’t give to show those who look down on me a piece of my mind! I may be ‘serving’ you, but nine times out of ten I’ve had twice as much school, three times as more common sense, and countless times more manners.
    Maybe if I ever leave the diner!

    No lie. I choose to be a server because I like it. Chances are, those who look down on me like their jobs less than I do.

    Reply

  10. savingmalachi
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 22:33:16

    Wow….You know what’s sad? I’m barely old enough to drink and I have already caught myself saying many a time in this industry: “When I was a kid”….to people my age! It astounds me what children too old to be my own child but younger than me can get away with in public?

    One time I was taking orders from an 8 top squeezed into a corner at a round table. Going around and getting orders, I noticed the older woman at the table correcting her surly teenager for making out with his girlfriend. He said “SHUT UP!” to her, then resumed his makeout session. Turning from taking the next person’s order I looked at him and said “You don’t talk to your momma like that in front of me…” glared for a moment, and then went back to taking an order. His mother loved me after that and the kid looked very small all of a sudden….which for a kid the size of a medium sized whale is actually quite possible…

    I’ve learned to stay out of family disputes at the table. I laugh about them in the waitstation and all my coworkers have to do a fly by, but I never voice my opinion. I’m not saying shitty kids don’t get punished, though. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Armond
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 07:13:39

    *sigh* all i can say is i know what your talking about…

    And that’s sad…

    Reply

  12. Hira Animfefte
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 22:38:43

    I’ve encountered this in retail too. Back when I used to work for [Large Retail Bookstore Chain that just filed Chapter 11], parents would routinely let their kids run wild in the children’s section. Every night, we booksellers would have to put a largish stack of books and toys in the Damaged pile since parents simply do not watch their kids and do not say, “Hey! Stop tearing up that book!” I still wince whenever I see a pop-up book, just out of force of habit…those were the most frequently torn and broken.

    We used to hang out at Hastings (books, movies, videos) back when I was in college. I can’t tell you how many times I screamed at kids running wild in the kid’s section (which was damned close to the self help/erotica section). Parents piss me off.

    BTW, yellowcat, I just added a non-widow blogroll, and you’re on it! 🙂

    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

