I Have a Roommate

I had a guy I know house sit for me while I was out of town and since he needs a place to live and I can use some help around the house, I asked him to stay on as a roommate.  This is a good thing because I’ve been pretty lonely since my son left in August.

Shhhh...

I left Laramie earlier than expected, and instead of calling to let him know I was going to be home 12 hours early I thought I’d go through the back door and be vewy, vewy quiet.  The only problem was, I had all 4 dogs with me.  We arrived home at around 7:30 am in a snowstorm and the dogs were a little wild after 6 hours in the van.  Two dogs ran off before I could get everyone in the back yard. 

Dilemma:  Do I go after the other two dogs or do I let two dogs in the house?  A dog in the house is worth two running helter skelter down the road.  If the hallway door is closed the dogs won’t wake the roommate.  If it isn’t, he’s going go get a rude awakening. 

I opened the back door and two dogs bolted down the hall.  Before I could get in the back door I heard, “WHAT THE FUCK?!”  Imagine being in a dead sleep and waking to two large dogs  jumping up and down on you while licking your face.  I’m surprised he didn’t move out then.

So far things are going well.  We work different shifts, so we don’t see each other that much, but he’s very polite, helpful, respectful and he keeps the fire going.  That means I come home to a warm house at night, which is about the greatest thing in the world.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 14:17:22

    maybe it will be a “friends with benefits” situation? nudge nudge, wink wink! I can safely say that if two dogs jumped on me, I would be pissed, but I don’t like dogs and would never move in a place that has them!

    HAHA! I don’t know about that. He’s certainly cute, but we’ve known each other for quite a few years and nothing has developed.

    Reply

  2. Chunky Mama
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 16:15:16

    So the rest of winter will suck less for you. This is good news! 🙂

    I’m loving it so far!

    Reply

  3. skippymom
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 17:17:53

    Fabulous! He sounds like a good fit. Poor guy tho’ with the doggie alarm clocks.
    Enjoy.

    So far things are great. I’m pretty easy to get along with, but I can be something of a shit. He’s very sensitive, so I have to be careful not to be a jackass in the morning.

    Reply

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 19:11:25

    Having someone to talk to….is never a bad thing. Enjoy your new roomie! 🙂

    I’m not a big talker, especially when I wake up, but it is nice to have someone around.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 19:38:43

    Nice for you to have some (human) company to pass the evenings with. 🙂

    It is! We watch movies and do hobbies. I’m kinda surprised at how much we have in common as far as movie tastes and humour.

    Reply

  6. MICHELE NYC
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 23:24:16

    WOW! SOMEONE IN YOUR SPACE! CAN’T WAIT TO MEET HIM! GIVE HIM “POOP PATROL” HAHA, MISS YOU!

    HAHAHA! It’s Rex.

    Reply

    • MICHELE NYC
      Mar 08, 2011 @ 17:44:33

      omg!! naughty girl!! ummmmm… why does he need a place to live????

      Apparently he had a falling out with Joel and he was living at the motel for $400/mo. I told him he could move in with me for much less. And yes, I’m naughty, but only if I’m drinking. 😉

      Reply

  7. savingmalachi
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 23:30:09

    hey how was laramie?

    It was good. My daughter is a burlesque dancer so I went down for her show. It was entertaining. I also got to catch up with some old friends and eat some great food. The best part is I came home relaxed and I don’t feel like knifing every one of my customers.

    Im hoping for a chance for a vacation soon seeing as how “spring break” falls on my 60 hour four day workweek. phooey.

    I find I need two breaks from this shit every year…mid-winter and end of summer. Otherwise I get a little cranky.

    thanks for the comment yeller!
    malachi the cocktail slinger

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 00:56:31

    Glad you’re home safe and sound and had a nice visit with your kids. 🙂

    Also glad you have a man around the place now. Don’t know why, but I always worry about single women living alone. Well yeah, I do know why.

    I don’t worry about my safety since I have the dogs and I live in a tiny, crime free town, but there’s a lot of things that need fixed in the house that I can’t do. It seems men are born knowing how to fix things.

    Bonus score on having a heated place to come home to! Extra bonus if he has coffee ready in the mornings. 😉

    He does! Again, I’m loving this arrangement.

    Reply

  9. Sparty Girl
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 15:38:30

    Oh, cool. I hope it keeps working out real well. Glad you had a nice vacation!

    We’re on day 3 and he brought me coffee in bed this morning. No, he didn’t push it in with a broomstick. 🙂

    Reply

    • Heif
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 19:36:47

      Broomstick, he really has known you for a long time!

      I think most guys over the age of 35 know not to mess with women in the morning. 🙂

      Reply

  10. Hira Animfefte
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 10:48:50

    So glad the roommate situation is working out for you! 🙂

    Things keep getting better. I think everyone needs a roommate like him.

    Something is intriguing me…the ‘u’s you put in words like ‘humor’ (humour) and so forth…Are you, by any chance, Canadian? It’s not important, really. I’m just curious.

    No, I’m American, lived in Wyoming almost all of my life. I read a lot of British suspense novels when I was a kid and the spelling stuck.

    Reply

    • Hira Animfefte
      Mar 12, 2011 @ 10:26:43

      Some British spelling has rubbed off on me too–stuff like ‘realise’ I spell with ‘s’ and not ‘z’.

      Thankfully, I didn’t pick those up too or I would probably be deported.

      British suspense novels–Agatha Christie, I presume? Sherlock Holmes? I do love Conan Doyle.

      I don’t even remember. It was just whatever I could find in our tiny library or at the book exchange. I was a very avid reader and there were never enough books.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

