While I Was Away…

Things changed.

  • Apparently, when you stay out all night drinking, pass out at the employee table for 20 minutes, scream “Fuck you” and slam the back door in the managers face when he tells you that you can’t go home you get fired.  Who knew?!  This is the kind of shit that’s been going on for months now with one server.  She showed up when she felt like it, passed out in the waitstation for most of her shift, constantly texted on her phone when she wasn’t passed out, had a disgustingly shitty attitude with anyone in authority, and was pretty damned rude with the customers.  She dragged morale down to the ‘who gives a shit’ level.  One bad apple…  Hey!  I hear Burger King is hiring.

See ya! Wouldn't want to be ya.

  • Darren must be a mind reader.  How else would he know I’d roll back into town dead broke and would need to work the next 6 days straight?  My schedule has been readjusted to cover the vacant shifts and now I have Sundays and Mondays off.  I’m not wild about having two days off in a row, but we’ll see how it goes.  Ash Wednesday is going to be a problem…
  • The restaurant is hiring the summer help.  I work with the first new person tonight.  I hope she was trained well.
  • We are no longer allowed to touch or even think about the crosswords.  That’s a bummer, but it’s getting busier so we haven’t had time to do them in a few weeks anyway.
  • “Smile or you’re fired” is the new slogan.

Yes, it is that ridiculous.

All in all, the changes are for the best.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wigsf
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 13:23:17

    Hint to help you smile: keep an electric toothbrush in your pants while your work. Keep it turned on too.

    Note to self: Stop by Wal-Mart on the way to work. 🙂

    Reply

  2. izziedarling
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 13:45:48

    I cannot believe that woman kept a job for more than one day – hidious. Glad she’s gone and glad you have a roomie. Things are looking up!

    She was nothing but a pain in the ass from the moment she was hired in the summer. There is no reason to keep someone like that when there are so many people looking for work.

    The roomie is a big plus sign.

    Reply

  3. workingtechmom
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 18:48:02

    “We are no longer allowed to touch or even think about the crosswords.”

    How will they know if you are thinking about the crosswords? I bet you can get away with it! 🙂

    Mind control…I know they do it.

    The warm house sounds heavenly. Enjoy.

    Reply

  4. Ahmnodt Heare
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 19:12:05

    I’ve had jobs where what she done wasn’t enough to get fired. Though people were fired from that very same job for doing crosswords. Go figure.

    Maybe they only liked dumb people?

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 20:33:44

    Steps in the right direction, eh? Well good for them. And more shifts is good for you… right?

    No kidding. They should have canned her ass months ago. I have more shifts this week, but then I go back to normal.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 23:34:22

    Yay, she’s finally gone! Took a while but in the end, it all worked out like it was supposed to. 🙂

    It took f.o.r.e.v.e.r. Really, if I never see her again it will be too soon.

    I see Mrs Boss is taking a more direct approach now. I suppose you could follow that saying, “Keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you’ve been up to,” in mind. Or do what WIGSF suggested. 😉

    I like WIGSF’s suggestion best.

    Reply

  7. Rachel
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 14:31:47

    ‘smile or you’re fired’–ha! I worked in a place that was that anal about appearances. I swear to G-d, every time I stopped smiling, even if it was because I was concentrating to split some checks at the computer, a manager would appear at my back to ask what was wrong with me. The obvious implication that nothing could be so wrong in my life as to merit my dropping the dopey smile while I was still on the clock.

    When I go out to eat, I don’t look around at the servers to see if they look happy. All I care about is that my server is reasonably pleasant and that I get my food. I’m tipping for service, not cheerleading. If I go somewhere and everyone is smiling, I figure they are on drugs.

    As for the firing, hell. I hate it when employees like that get consistent free passes while the managers ride people who are actually trying to do a good job. And then they are stunned when they finally push the nebulously defined limits so far that they actually get fired, as if they could never comprehend it happening to them. She should have been shown the door the first time she slept while on the clock…there is nothing frustrating as watching someone with huge behavioral problems act out on the job and wondering what it actually takes to get canned.

    It makes everyone else passive/aggressive about doing their job. I don’t care who you are, a coworker like that drags everyone else down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

