Arlo

My son got a puppy in January.  He’s part border collie/heeler and Australian shepherd and pure adorable.  When he wants something he says, “Rooo”.

Baby Arlo

He’s about 4 months old now, but he’s still a midget compared to my dogs.  He has an enormous snout he needs to grow into and of course, I made fun of him the entire time I was in Laramie.

I'm just a baby.

The first night I was there, he jumped up on the bed with me and my dogs.  He’s quite proud of himself since he recently grew enough to get on the bed on his own.  He stood by my head and licked my face every two minutes or so…just enough time between licks for me to fall asleep and to wake up annoyed with dog slobber on my face. 

Rooo!

I elbow my dogs in the ribs when they annoy me, so after about the 4th slurp on my face I gave him the elbow jab.  There is a big difference between elbowing 60-90 pound dogs and elbowing a 15 pound dog.  He went flying off the bed and I heard him hit the wall and slide down.  Then I heard nothing. 

Great.  I’ve broken my son’s dog. 

I turned on the light and there he was in a pile on the floor, looking all pathetic and sad, but undamaged.  He’s a smart dog, though.  I never had to elbow him in the ribs again…unlike Halo who gets elbowed about 3,789,420 times every day.

Wow, I'm dumb.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. paulac7
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 13:53:48

    Awwwwwww………..Arlo is adorable!!

    I have an elderly Border Collie(one of my three ungrateful dogs), and that dog is too smart for her own good! If Arlo is anything like my Border–be prepared for an extremely varied symphony of sounds of the like that no dog should (or could) make.

    Glad Arlo isn’t broken–that would suck.

    >^.^<

    I have a heeler/collie, Otis, and he’s the smartest dog I’ve ever met. He never does anything bad (except for heeling), I only have to tell him something once (except to stop heeling), and he never leaves my side (except to heel). I wish my other 3 were as good. Any future replacement dogs will be the heeler/collie variety.

    Reply

  2. Fuck My Table
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:27:49

    Oh, he’s so CUTE! I’m going to come steal him. He’s freaking adorable. We almost got an Australian Shepherd but ended up going with the Schnauzer because hair is easier to deal with than fur. Especially long fur.

    I’m first in line for any Arlo stealing. 🙂

    I elbow my Schnauzer when he licks my face. I rarely get through to him though, because my husband (known as Alpha to our puppy) allows him to lick his face. I HATE IT. But because Alpha allows it, puppy thinks it’s okay. Elbowing 40 lbs of dog when he’s laying on top of you is hard, so as of late I’ve resorted to throwing him off the bed. Last night I threw him into the floor fan and he sat there glowering at me for a good 5 minutes before he decided to go sleep on Alpha’s side of the bed. Good choice, puddinghead.

    I’ve kicked Halo hard enough to send her flying off the bed, but she just comes back for more. I don’t know about that dog.

    Reply

  3. mrgee
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:34:26

    Arlo just about made me burst into “AWWEEE!” at my desk. He is damn precious. The b/f and I have a mutt that we believe to be mostly either part heeler or Australian Shepherd, and she’s honestly the sweetest dog I’ve ever owned (up there in smarts too). Like a damn shadow though, I’ve tripped over her more times than I can count!

    I “lose” Otis pretty often because he is always right behind me. When I turn to look for him, he turns with me so I make endless circles looking for my silly dog.

    Reply

  4. skippymom
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 15:41:40

    My dogs don’t even attempt the face lick – no way, no how. They KNOW…heehee They can lick my hands or whatever, but not da’ faces. 🙂

    Halo is my only face licker and I can’t get her to stop. One of these days…

    Poor Arlo, such a cutie to shoot off the bed like that [Grand] Momma – glad you didn’t kill the poor pup. [kidding] I had to chuckle because I have kicked my guys out of bed on more occasions than I can count.

    He still loved me so I guess it wasn’t all that bad.

    Reply

  5. Pyewacketcat
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 17:21:09

    I wish I had the stones to kick mine off the bed.
    They take over the bed, (50,80 & 140 lbs)and unmake it when I am at work… I have threatened to make them sleep in the living room with the baby gate,but it makes me sad to see them in there when they have to be at other times,like changing the bed. So,with them 3,and 3 big cats, I have a really crowded king size bed… all rescues,so I guess I am making up to them for what others did to them…I don’t tolerate the face wash much either. But they slip it in once in a while.
    Arlo sounds like he is an angel,glad he learned the first time! LOL

    Mine are bed sleepers. I make them keep me warm.

    Reply

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 17:37:07

    “I broke my sons dog”…..LMAO! Great line! 🙂

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 01:58:06

    Awww, look at the kyoot!

    I had a Border Collie several years ago. She was brilliant. 🙂 One of my favorite breeds.

    I love the heeler/collie mix. They are so smart, but they tend to get a little obsessive about things. Otis can hear the cats under the house so he spends most of his time staring at the floor with his x-ray vision.

    Reply

  8. Sherri
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 06:31:26

    Awwwww! What a cutie! Gotta love Halo, though. That dumb dog cracks me up.

    You don’t know the half of it. I’ve made videos of her being dumb, but they are too pathetic to post.

    Reply

  9. Heather
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 16:21:46

    We have a little (55 lbs) mutt we rescued last March when he was 7 weeks old, he’s just almost 13 months now. He also “Roooo”‘s when he wants something; and when he sees other dogs out on walks he makes the stupidest noises – the other dogs try to stay away from him cause he sounds so dumb. I’m glad other dogs out there “Rooo” too!

    I’ve never heard a dog “rooo” until Arlo. I can’t wait to hear his other noises.

    Reply

  10. Sparty Girl
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 16:24:45

    hahaha!! What a great post. Great comments, too. Those herding breeds are super-smart. Arlo is adorable. Congrats, Grandma!

    I want to steal him and give Halo to Quinn.

    Reply

  11. MICHELE NYC
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 22:24:08

    OMG!! he is sooo cute! for a minute there i thought CRAZY HOLLY took in another dog!! the mix of breeds will be a handful!! hope he can handle it! look forward to meeting him in the summer. i’ll bring lots of treats!

    I bought him some rawhides, now if he’d just stop peeing on the floor 😦 He knows what he’s supposed to do, but he just doesn’t have the control yet.

    Reply

  12. Hira Animfefte
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 10:14:11

    D’awwww…your son’s dog is SO CUTE! So is your dog. We need a picture of Otis the Smart Dog too. 🙂

    Have you read any Hyperbole and a Half? It sounds like you have Simple Dog and Helper Dog too.
    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/11/dogs-dont-understand-basic-concepts.html

    Simple Dog is introduced here:
    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/07/dog.html

    I will look into those. Is there one about Dumb Dogs?

    Reply

  13. Pancake Grrrl
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 12:05:49

    I don’t know how anyone can even be a server without having dogs! I would never make it – I need the love.

    Oh no lie! I come home and my dogs love me to death…granted, it’s probably the food I’ve slopped all over myself, but it feels like love to me.

    Reply

  14. zmanowner
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 15:41:49

    Cat

    I just love dogs, have a yorkie myself. But those pics are just precious. I know what you mean about the leave me alone jab…but our pets want their attention…..zman sends

    I’m all for attention, but not in the morning when I’m trying to sleep.

    Reply

  15. Ahmnodt Heare
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 09:54:42

    When my golden retriever annoys me, I fold my arms and stare him down. He knows to quit.

    I’ve tried that with Halo. She whines and smiles at me. Then she starts rooting me. Halo doesn’t know how to quit anything.

    Arlo is a cutie. I won’t have a small dog though because they tend to be too hyper.

    I think Arlo will be in the 60 pound range.

    Reply

  16. Hira Animfefte
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 12:57:44

    Holly, the second Hyperbole link I posted is all about how stupid her stupid dog is. She’s nicknamed it “Simple Dog.”

    The first link I posted is about moving with Simple Dog and the newer dog she acquired who is more like your collie/heeler mix, a smart dog. She calls it “Helper Dog” because it tries to help Simple Dog–and her.

    Both stories are completely hilarious and will sound familiar to all dog people.

    Reply

  17. Saffire
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 17:07:40

    What breed is Halo, she’s adorable ❤

    I don’t know. She likes to herd and pile her toys up, so I think there’s some collie in her, but there’s something else that makes her a dummy.

    My dog doesn't lick at all, but he'll sit infront of me and look all sad if he see's me eatting =)
    My dog is a rottweiler/labrador cross, an odd mix of guard dog and roll around in the grass at random dog o_O
    He also bounces around the yard and sleeps on his back with his hind legs pressed against the outside of the front door (it's a glass door).

    HAHAHA! That’s an interesting visual.

    Reply

  18. abbypecknyc
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 09:58:09

    Arlo needs to come live with me…Ms. Ruby Dog needs a little brother. He’ll love Manhattan.

    Sorry, I have first dibs on Arlo. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

