Crazy Weekend, Blue Hair & the Roommate

We were balls to the wall busy Friday and Saturday nights.  Friday night I was in Section 2, which means big tables and lots and lots of running to the kitchen.  I went home exhausted and sore.

We were busy when I got to work on Saturday and at about 6:15 the floodgates of Hell opened.  The escapees wanted barbeque. 

I had 3 large tables when Steph seated 4 more tables in my section.  I got drinks and orders for 2 of the new tables before the food came up for all 3 of my other tables.  I spent about 10 minutes running food for the tables and then I jogged to the back of my section to pick up my last two tables:  a 10 top and a 2 top. 

I noticed that someone (the SW?) got drinks for the two top and I could hear her having a flabbergasted conversation with them.  They were pissed off because I wasn’t rightthere to take their order and they were LEAVING!!  She was pretty dumbfounded because she knew we were all doing the best we could, and she also knew they had been waiting for less than 5 minutes.  She was kinda polite and said she hoped they came back, but later in the waitstation I heard her bitching to Anna about ridiculous people being impatient.  There might be hope for her yet.

She was a big help last night.  I was seriously weeded, as was everyone else, and she scrambled around and did the little things that keep servers from running screaming and bawling into the parking lot.  I believe in giving credit where credit is due, so hat’s off to the SW for keeping me (kind of) sane last night.

*****************

About two months ago I dyed the ends of my hair pink.  I had to reapply the pink every week to keep it from fading, but two weeks ago I wanted to change colour.  I decided on blue.  Pink & blue would probably make puke, so I let the pink almost fade out.  Today I did the blue.  My hands are blue.  My bathtub is blue.  My left arm is blue.  I’m afraid to look at my face.  There’s a big gob of blue on the Roommate’s bedroom carpet.  Hopefully, this washes out as quickly as the pink.

******************

Roommate update:  After one week, I’m giving him 2 big thumbs up.  He’s a huge help around the house (keeps the fire going, lets the dogs out if he gets home before I do, hauls wood in and trash out), he’s thoughtful (makes coffee, replaces the toilet paper BEFORE it runs out, leaves the toilet seat down), he’s tidy (he does dishes and laundry), and he’s a good companion (we have similar tastes in movies and I have someone to talk to at night).  I didn’t realize how straight out lonely I was. 

My house is pretty wild, what with the dogs and all, and he’s been a good sport about everything.  A few mornings ago, I overslept and the cat took a crap in the bathtub.  The Roommate cleaned it up, showered, drove to Cody to do errands, bought bathroom cleaner with bleach, came home & scrubbed the tub.  Why?  Because he knows I like a hot bath at night and he didn’t want me to relax in cat shit germs.  If the shoe was on the other foot, I would have made him get up and clean his cat’s shit out of the tub.  End of story. 

I have to say I’m pretty blessed.  All my girlfriends want to meet him and I’ve told them I will knife anyone who offers him a place to live.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hira Animfefte
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 12:53:54

    The SW was HELPFUL? Well, I’ll be. That’s about the last thing I expected to hear.

    It was the last thing I expected to say.

    Also: yay, roommate! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Pyewacketcat
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 15:15:27

    Does he have a brother that needs a roomie,my life is about like yours…LOL
    3 big dogs,and 3 big cats….

    I’m not sure, but you can’t have my roomie!

    Reply

  3. Lizzi
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 20:12:47

    He sounds like a fantastic roommate and great friend. Glad that’s working well for you. Good to hear SW isn’t being a total biznatch, hope it stays that way for ya and everyone else you work with 🙂

    This has been a good week…I hope the other shoe doesn’t drop either at work or at home.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 21:57:39

    Wow! Kudos to the SW! Like you said, there may be hope for her yet!

    I’m willing to give her a chance now.

    Glad the roommate is working out well. 🙂 We all need someone to do the taking care of the household things – AKA wife. 😉 Sometimes I think I could really use one too! LOL

    I’ve wanted a wife for a long time now 🙂

    Reply

  5. paulac7
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 02:29:35

    Sounds like the SW might be getting a clue about what it’s *really* like to work in foodservice. She might turn into a keeper–you never know…………..

    I have a feeling she’s going to get her eyes opened to a lot of stuff. Not everyone is like she is (polite, mindful of her children, honest, tidy) and this is going to be a rude awakening for her. She might see why we don’t smile all the time.

    Your roommate sounds awesome–my hubby is afraid of any bodily secretions that my 3 dogs or cat might make, so I’m permanently on ‘clean up detail’ if a mess happens to occur. Yay me.

    He’s been a ranch hand so he’s used to animal messes…but not in the bathtub.

    The blue hair sounds neat–but my Corporate workplace would shit a litter of lizards if I came in with funky colored hair–so I rebel by refusing to wear a hat, and instead I wear a bandana tied around my head like Dane Cook in “Waiting”……….

    The majority of the servers all have at least one facial piercing and they don’t complain about it. There are battles to fight and those to let go. I’m a good employee even though I look weird.

    I wish I worked with servers that are worthy–the three that are worth a shit I would bend over backwards for (I’m a prep cook), but the other 20 or so of them that think the world owes them a favor can kiss my redneck ass……

    Most of the winter servers are good, but when the summer help starts rolling in I want to shoot myself. There are some lazy assed bitches out there.

    Sorry to hog up all your comment space with my ranting and raving–just had a really LOOOOONG weekend.

    Rant away 🙂

    I wish you could teleport to PA and work at my restaurant for about two months, and make the whiners cry, and shape up, or get the hell out–I just frighten the living shit out of them…but then that has it’s advantages, too!

    I’d do it!

    Thanks again for writing this blog–you just have such a way with words…..

    Why, thank you!

    Reply

  6. wigsf
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 04:44:57

    I’ve told them I will knife anyone who offers him a place to live.

    Aaawww, ain’t that sweet.

    I can be sweet. Once in a while.

    Reply

  7. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 17:30:00

    That roomy is a keeper! I bet on those nights when you are totally wiped out from work, it is nice to come home and find that he has taken care of the house and some various chores for you. 🙂 I am nearing Sundance and will be pedaling out of your state in the next day or so. Sorry my route did let me come through the Cody/Meeteteetttessseerttteeeee area. 🙂

    I had one other male roommate back when I was 19/20. His brothers kicked him out and that should have been my first clue. He decided I was his mother/girlfriend and when I told him to move out after one month, he stole all my stuff. Yay for me.

    I’m sad I won’t see you on this trip. Maybe you can pedal back across the US and include me in your second trip. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 09:45:45

    What a happy post!! Glad things are going so well.

    Sounds like your roommate could run a boot camp for husbands. I know I’d sign mine up.

    I think he could, not that many husbands would listen.

    Reply

  9. Pancake Grrrl
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 09:58:54

    Are you sure I can’t have your roomate? My boyfriend said if he’s gay, I can keep him…

    HAHAHA! He’s not gay and no, you can’t have him.

    Most of the roomates I’ve had would have showered with the cat shit IN THE TUB. Just squirt some shampoo on it. It’ll dissolve eventually.

    Holy hell. I’ve known people like that, never lived with them, thankfully. I think my house is a mess and then I go visit other people. I’m always amazed at the level of filth people can live in.

    Reply

  10. theblonde
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 19:00:42

    Oh, I’m so jealous! I used to put blue, pink, etc etc. in my hair but my job isn’t too crazy about it.

    I’m happy that the owners don’t say much about the little things as long as they are tasteful.

    Also, doesn’t it make you feel so warm and fuzzy when the hostess actually helps out with drinks and refills? It seems like an easy task, but those 30 seconds you save can really help you get out of the weeds.

    Sometimes the only difference between a good night and bad one are drink refills.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

