Summer Help

Darren hired the first of the summer help while I was in Laramie.  She called today and quit with no notice.  Yep, that’s right, she lasted less than two weeks.

I don’t understand people.  Why would you take the time to apply for a job, accept the job, and go through the training only to quit the job before you get your first paycheck?

Darren got backed into a corner on this one and had to hire another server rightnow.  The next new hire is another one of his “friends” and I can’t wait to see how this works out.  Too bad y’all can’t hear the heavy sarcasm.  I know how this is going to work out.

Arg.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 04:13:53

    Eww, good luck with the friend. Yep, we all know how this is going to work out. Hopefully some of the competent college kids will be back soon and you can snag a couple. [I say competent with all the hope I can muster.]

    I feel like poking my eyes out everytime I think about it.

    Reply

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 11:00:25

    I hate to admit it, but my own daughter is like that. She is about to turn 21 and I would bet that out of the 6-7 jobs she has had, she has just up and quit at least 5 of them with no notice whatsoever. We did not raise her that way, we have always told her that you have to give 2 weeks notice…but it falls on deaf ears. I think young people today just don’t give a rip about much of anything anymore…

    It’s peer pressure and “good” advice from “friends”. The new help was in her late 20s to early 30s, which was why she was hired…

    Reply

  3. wigsf
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 11:09:56

    “friend” eh?

    As someone who doesn’t actually have to deal with that, I find it hilarious. You probably would too, but you actually have to deal with it.

    All of Darren’s “friends” think they can show up for work when they please and do as little as they please because he’s their friend, and therefore won’t fire them. Meanwhile, as the alpha female, I get to listen to the other servers bitch (rightfully) because some dummy is getting special treatment. This “friend” has slept with most of the current servers’ boyfriends, so this is a catfight waiting to happen. On second thought, maybe I do find this hilarious.

    Reply

  4. paulac7
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 11:48:41

    I hear you–it’s that time of the year in my restaurant, too–It just bugs the shit out of me when my ‘spidey sense’ kicks in and I just KNOW that the person I have been assigned (forced) to train will waste my time, ask too many redundant questions, text non-stop, and then fall off the face of the earth. (quit with no notice).

    I feel your pain.

    One time I told a new hire that I wasn’t even going to take the time to learn her name until she worked for a month. Later she told me no one had ever made her feel that unimportant. We ended up being pretty good friends, and she stuck around long enough to learn how frustrating it is to train someone only to have them ditch out.

    Training a server is a pain in the ass. 1. You have to tip them out so you make less money. 2. They slow you down so you can’t take as many tables, which means you make less money. 3. The tables you do have don’t get top notch service because you are busy holding someone’s hand so you make less money.

    Some of the other servers get off on the power trip of training people and they fight to be a trainer. It took me two trainees to learn I was making less money with more headache, and now I don’t train anyone for anything.

    Reply

  5. Rachel
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 22:34:14

    Oh, god. I HATE hiring sprees. It just means fighting for hours and tables with the sudden bulk of 5 or so more servers than the restaurant actually needed to hire, followed by hectic shifts where 70-90% of the new ‘staff’ eventually pull a no call, no show. And, yeah–I also don’t understand how someone could go through the effort of memorizing the menu…and then not show up to work. I hate memorizing menus!

    I’m fortunate that my hours don’t get cut for the new people, but yeah, suddenly there are too many servers on the floor and just as suddenly, there aren’t enough. I’m too lazy to quit a job after I’ve put all the work into getting one.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 22:52:28

    At least she’s gone before creating her own unique headaches. Ugh. People seem so much more flighty to me these days!

    I think so too and age doesn’t seem to be a factor.

    I hope the new hire works out. Experience says otherwise, but we can always hope for the best. Maybe Darren needs some new friends. 😉

    Don’t we all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

